Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I would like to thank Leanne Mitchell and TFFF for all her hard work and dedication. When I first heard about Leanne and TFFF I was very apprehensive about contacting her. Because I didn't know what would happen to all these cats. Would they be put to sleep? I didn't know. All I knew was that was not good. But when I met Leanne and she explained how the trap and release program worked I was so happy and grateful . I couldn't believe it ! Leanne loaned me a trap and carrier then showed me how to set the trap, all I had to do was take them in to be spayed or neutered . The best thing was I was able to bring all the cats back and release them into the same area. Now I have a healthy and happy colony. No more fighting or unwanted kittens. I really like that TFFF has a NO KILL policy, that was very important to me. Again Thank you Leanne and TFFF I appreciate everything you have done for all the cats in Taos county. Keep up all the good work! Pat Iko

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 9, 2012

My love for cats-any type-began when I learned from my Great-Grandmother to "love her best friends"! Ever since I came to live in Taos-many years ago-I was amazed at the huge number of feral cats.Most of them at one time had a home-or were loved pets.Somehow they were either lost -abandoned or just thrown away! Sooner or later they became a colony-needed help with food or shelter.I have always tried to help with that on my own.As time went on I learned about the "Trap,Neuter &Release Program" by TFFF. The more I learned the more I realized the humane possibility of reducing the number of feral cats,which will benefit all cats by having more food and shelter to share-and perhaps find appropriate homes for them-such as farms or barns. The most important thing for me is the fact that TFFF does not kill any animal-I shall always help, donate and assist TFFF in every way I can. We help the Kitty's -and they in turn help us-by taking care of critters that are detrimental to our homes many times. No question or arguments-only appreciation comes from the animals!I shall always support and assist TFFF-the best organization I have ever known! JEAN

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 4, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
August 4, 2011

Leanne Mitchell and TFFF are a wonderful solution to the inflated population of Feral Felines in the Taos, NM area. Human Hav-a-Heart traps capture them, they are neutered by a Vet, and returned to the property from which they came. For my part, I provide them food, water and shelter under my shed. Meanwhile, I have a team of excellent rodent hunters and the joy of seeing scruffy, thin cats turn into sleek, healthy animals.

I admire Leanne's dedication and I am thankful I connected with TFFF.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Taos, New Mexico.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their funding.

July 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
July 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Having volunteered at numerous shelters in my life, I can say without reservation, that TFFF is by far, the most stellar of them all. As an all-volunteer, no-kill shelter (and the only one in New Mexico dedicated to feral cats) Taos Feral Feline Friends is not only humane, but also very cost-efficient. The founder, Leanne Mitchell, houses on average, over 70 cats at any given time, and operates on a budget garnered from fundraising donations and grants. None of it goes to waste, and none of it feeds into any sort of paycheck. Whether the cats are feral, stray, tame, abandoned, sick, healthy, lame or newborn, Leanne is excellent in taking care of all their individual needs. She also offers a free trap, neuter and release program for the county.

Having taken a tour of the shelter, (and adopted two awesome cats from Leanne) I can only give my highest regards to TFFF. Leanne works really hard (think 15 hour work days) to make this shelter operate so well, and if you are considering adopting a cat, you must go with her- She will be sure to give you an accurate personal/medical history of the cat you choose.

I'm also really impressed with how Leanne manages to balance all aspects of the shelter. From decreasing the feral population in Taos, to providing care for sick animals that will never be adopted, to picking out the perfect cat for you to take home, she just does it all. Over the past 7 years, Leanne has established herself, and her organization, as an integral part of the community. It really shows in the positive community response, and the strong board leadership.

More than anything, there is so much care for the animals at TFFF. To adopt or donate to this organization is something you can do totally guilt-free. You can be sure that your future cat and/or donation is in good paws.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

having two loving cats whose only faults are dirtying the kitchen floor with their paws right after I've mopped... and trying to eat the herbs/flowers on the top of the bookshelf.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it a larger budget

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers