Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 29, 2014

more

March 29, 2014

I had a life-changing experience on my trip to Ecuador through Tandana. I participated in a course that traveled abroad spring break to teach English in primary schools in Otavalo with my class. My experience was filled with cultural excursions, native interactions, and full immersion in the beautiful country. The Tandana staff was extremely personable and welcoming and I had an amazing time on my spring break alternative trip.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 12, 2014

more

March 12, 2014

A wonderful trip with awesome guides and lovely people. We were given excellent previews of the languages and what to expect in each village. Safe and culturally educational. We were able to travel to views that no average tourist would ever see. We were able to help several villages with needed reforestation efforts. We had good quality time teaching school children in beautiful highland Ecuador.
Our meals and accommodations were super.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps give the group a few moments when enroute to stop and take in the views. We were tightly scheduled and I find myself wishing I had more moments to breathe and appreciate where I was-- even though I know our purpose was to help and work. We did not get much time at our inn to just decompress for a few minutes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

A few years ago I had an internship with Tandana for 9 months. Prior to that experience and after I have worked with 6 other NGO's in Latin America and the Caribbean but I would have to say Tandana does the best job of achieving its goal-- to create and nurture real and responsible relationships among people of different cultures. I typically like to spend a decent amount of time in any foreign place I visit because I feel you get more out of the experience if you really get to know a place rather than pass through on a quick visit. Somehow this doesn't seem to hold true with Tandana as they are able to provide volunteers with an incredible, authentic experience in no more than a week. I've never seen anything like it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Working with The Tandana Foundation has given me an even deeper appreciation for the country of Ecuador. People's lives get changed for the better and the results are amazing. Not only the local villagers lives change but the volunteers and coordinators that are responsible for the work being done always leave with a profound experience and a different outlook on life. May The Tandana Foundation continue to grow and prosper in Ecuador and Mali!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not change anything

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I can't say enough about the great work that Tandana does. I have volunteered twice on medical volunteer vacations in Ecuador, and would do so again if the opportunity arises. The volunteer teams that I was a part of included both medical and non-medical volunteers, and as a non-medically trained volunteer myself I was able to participate as a team member and contribute to the project in important ways, and Tandana always takes great care of its volunteers. Seeing people in rural Andean communities receive medical treatment was a deeply rewarding experience, as was the opportunity to immerse myself in Ecuadorean culture. Tandana has roots in the communities where it works, which includes its founder as well as various past and present interns who join in on the projects, and as a result it has strong relationship with the people of the community. I would very much like to participate in another volunteer project in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Tandana works with people on such a level that both the volunteers and community members are left with a good understanding of how human compassion spans all people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

I have read the privilege of doing Public Relations volunteer work for The Tandana Foundation for four years now. I can't say enough about how enjoyable has been. Tandana's Executive Director and staff are completely committed to the Foundation's mission. Their sense of commitment is very contagious and has spread to all the volunteers including myself. Tandana's staff is also extremely appreciative of all the work the volunteers perform. Even if I am only completing a small task for them, they always so grateful for my work. They really make them feel as if I am truly making a difference. The appreciation also makes me feel valued, which is something I think that is lacking in a lot of the for-profit and nonprofit world today. I have often said that I started volunteering for Tandana because it provided me with an opportunity to use my public relations skills, however, I will stay working with Tandana for life because of the people who are in charge.

In my wall as Public Relations Specialist I frequently interview people who have traveled with Tandana on their Volunteer Vacations or group service projects. All the volunteers come back from their experience with Tandana truly inspired. It is also worth noting that many of the people volunteer with Tandana more than once. Tandana creates wonderful relationships between the volunteers and the people they help

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is absolutely nothing I would change about Tandana.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I was blessed with first hand experience in observing and participating in the work Tandana has done in Mali (prior to outbreak of civil war). In short, this organization seeks to involve everyday folks of interacting cultures in providing the lesson of "how to fish" in a sustainable manner, rather than "checkbook charity" providing fish for a day. What pride the residents in Mali displayed accomplishing great things on their own!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 20, 2013

more

February 20, 2013

Our group of Master Gardeners from the state of Ohio teamed up with Tandana in Otavalo, Ecuador. We spent 7 days - worked on a tree farm/nursery(vivero) , planted trees with local school children(at their school); harvested tree seedlings @10,000 ft. above sea level in the highlands & transplanted saplings.
Tandana offered many interesting side trips, so we additionally were immersed in the culture of Ecuador.
The tandana team members were well-prepared, thorough & very kind. The Tandana philosophy of cross cultural/mutual respect was exemplified by them all - and we were the beneficiaries-how wonderful!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 19, 2013

more

February 19, 2013

A truly rewarding experience, traveling to Ecuador, working in the tree nursery, planting trees with the school children from the town of Quichinche and all the other wonderful activities we were able to accomplish during the week. It was the perfect blend of working and sight-seeing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers