Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.923085
Write A Review
April 19, 2012

more

April 19, 2012

I had the privilege to volunteer for Tampa Bay Watch for quite some time in their main facility, as well as at several outreach events and cleanups. They are a great group of people who are passionate about saving the estuaries of Tampa Bay and making sure they are alive for future generations to enjoy! Peter Clark and his staff accepted me into their group as though I was one of their own and I hope to be able to return to volunteering with them soon. Their work is important and the waters, esturaries, and beaches of Tampa Bay are a better place because of them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 16, 2012

more

April 16, 2012

Moving from IL to Saint Petersburg FL just over two years ago, I became aware of Tampa Baywatch (TBW) quickly. TBW is active and visible, with strong leadership and a talented small staff. They stick to their mission, which I admire, and are very efficient in the use of organizational resources. I soon volunteered in several different capacities--a bay clean-up, pulling salt grass from a nursery bed for transplant in the bay, and staffing an education table at a local park/preserve during a special weekend event there. TBW is an impressive non-profit! I am glad to offer support.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2012

more

April 15, 2012

Tampa Bay Watch is a family like non-profit organization that has oppurtunities for people and families of all walks of life to participate. Whatever your phisical limits are there is a job for everyone. The great part of these projects is being able to see them grow (like a communtiy garden) year after year and know that you were one of the people that helped "plant the seed."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

April 13, 2012

more

April 13, 2012

We went with a group of ESOL students from Pinellas County Schools, and planted native plants along the shoreline. Tampa Bay Watch is an amazing organization, and the kids had a great time outdoors in a nature and also learned alot. They returned and made these beautiful displays depicting the day, to show off at a fair. It was one of the best field trips they had, in this day and age where kids don't get out of school much. So spending the day out learning about the environment, as well as actively participating in making the environment better, was just the perfect thing for them. I know they'll always remember that, and I know they'll forever look at nature as something to preserve and protect and appreciate. Thank you to Tampa Bay Watch for all the good work they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

I have volunteered with the Tampa Bay Watch group for over two years. They have done so much to help the waters of Tampa Bay and they are so grateful toward each volunteer. Tampa Bay Watch is very active and has many opportunities available over the year to help the waterways of Tampa. The oyster bags and domes that are made help clean the water and restore the plant life. They also host an annual scallop search to review the quality of the aquatic life. I don't want to imagine how bad the water would be if Tampa Bay Watch did not exist. I am very grateful they are so dedicated in the recovery of our local waterways it has been a blessing helping them reach their goals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The scallop seach. While the results didn't equal what they were looking for- it was a great team feeling snorkling with everyone, writing our results, and enjoying lunch together afterwards.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any. They are great!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I can't think of any. Every experience has been what I expected. Very friendly and a great experience.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Feeling like I am actually helping improve the environment and clean the water in the Tampa Bay area.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great- it's a very rewarding feeling seeing all the volunteers and knowing they are all donating thier time to help the waterways. All the employees are very grateful and educational.

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

My name is Gayle Hyde and I am from Jackson, Michigan. Anytime that I am able to visit my sister and brother -in-law Glory and Chuck Moore I always ask if Tampy Bay Watch has anything going on that I can help with. It is such a joy to see how involved and concerned people are reagrding the gulf, oceans, rivers you name it. What an experience every time I have been involved it has been. I have built oyster domes several times and seems like I learn something new about them each time. I wear my sunvisor and T-shirt proudly in Michigan and have even been asked what the Tampy Bay Watch it all about, so I give them a brief run down. Can't wait until I will be able to help out again with whatever it is that needs to be done. Being an avid scubadiver I can see the good that the Tampa Bay Watch has done and I appreciate each and everyone. THANK YOU!!!!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

I spent 7 months working for Tampa Bay Watch as an education intern and in that time I was fortunate enough to see how well the Tampa Bay Watch team works together, and how passionate they are about their jobs. As an intern I not only taught, but I also learned a great amount about salt marsh ecology, plankton, mollusks, oysters and more. I enjoyed every minute of working for TBW and still rave about my experiences there. If any organization deserves a reward or to be recognized in any way TBW is it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

This is a great organization to volunteer for. They do a wide variety of organized events (e.g., seagrass plantings, coastal cleanups, oyster habitat building, sea scallop counting, etc.) that has a direct impact on the water quality of Tampa Bay. They also have a wonderful connection to schools, involvement of students in their programs, and summer school marine science activities. Their well managed, have a great staff, and have good visibility in the community. I'm a personal member and the company I work for is a Corporate member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

My friends and I have volunteered with Tampa Bay Watch over the last few years. We have built oyster domes, helped with Evening for the Bay and with an Easter event for kids. They have many areas to volunteer, with a wide variety of interests. They're website is very informative and easy to use. Volunteering with this organization is an awesome way of paying it forward for the true Floridian who enjoys the beaches, seafood and other activites that the Florida lifestyle offers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping kids understand the importance of not littering and to clean up their area when fishing so that fish lines & nets are left behind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Introduced me to how erosion affects our ecosystem. Gives me an opportunity to work outside and do something that has a positive affect on our environment.

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Tampa Bay Watch is a superb organization with outstanding leadership volunteer support. As people who live on Tampa Bay and regularly enjoy fishing and water sports, my family and I have all benefited from their programs. I have personally participated in a number of activities including planting salt marsh grasses in areas being reclaimed, building eco-friendly oyster domes and manufacturing and installing oyster shell bundles to prevent shoreline erosion and to provide structure to re-establish shoreline oyster beds. These activities are always well planned and enthusiasticly executed due to the organization's dedicated staff. Educational and outreach activities have contributed to increases in water quality and grass beds in Tampa Bay as well as educational opportunities for regional schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

better water quality and larger grass beds in Tampa Bay

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Can't think of anything

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Not sure the skills were transferable, but they were definitely new and enjoyable

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Very good.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers