Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.923085
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 12, 2012

more

April 12, 2012

This is a great organization to volunteer for. They do a wide variety of organized events (e.g., seagrass plantings, coastal cleanups, oyster habitat building, sea scallop counting, etc.) that has a direct impact on the water quality of Tampa Bay. They also have a wonderful connection to schools, involvement of students in their programs, and summer school marine science activities. Their well managed, have a great staff, and have good visibility in the community. I'm a personal member and the company I work for is a Corporate member.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

My friends and I have volunteered with Tampa Bay Watch over the last few years. We have built oyster domes, helped with Evening for the Bay and with an Easter event for kids. They have many areas to volunteer, with a wide variety of interests. They're website is very informative and easy to use. Volunteering with this organization is an awesome way of paying it forward for the true Floridian who enjoys the beaches, seafood and other activites that the Florida lifestyle offers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping kids understand the importance of not littering and to clean up their area when fishing so that fish lines & nets are left behind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Introduced me to how erosion affects our ecosystem. Gives me an opportunity to work outside and do something that has a positive affect on our environment.

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Tampa Bay Watch is a superb organization with outstanding leadership volunteer support. As people who live on Tampa Bay and regularly enjoy fishing and water sports, my family and I have all benefited from their programs. I have personally participated in a number of activities including planting salt marsh grasses in areas being reclaimed, building eco-friendly oyster domes and manufacturing and installing oyster shell bundles to prevent shoreline erosion and to provide structure to re-establish shoreline oyster beds. These activities are always well planned and enthusiasticly executed due to the organization's dedicated staff. Educational and outreach activities have contributed to increases in water quality and grass beds in Tampa Bay as well as educational opportunities for regional schools.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

better water quality and larger grass beds in Tampa Bay

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Can't think of anything

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Not sure the skills were transferable, but they were definitely new and enjoyable

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Very good.

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Tampa Bay Watch is one of the best organizations in the nation for habitat restoration, conservation and education . The hands on approach is one of the best ways to engage the public and make a difference for the marine ecosytem. The staff, board of directors and volunteers are all dedicated to TBW mission.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Tampa Bay Watch is the leading organization restoring habitat in Tampa Bay and it's estuary. It coordinates with other local, regional and national organizations to accomplish it's mission: "Tampa Bay Watch, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit stewardship program dedicated exclusively to the protection and restoration of the marine and wetland environments of the Tampa Bay estuary through scientific and educational programs." Many volunteer oppprtunities are scheduled that only last 4-5 hours, making it very convenient to participate. Educational programs for children are scheduled all year and include Summer Camps, as well. Community education is constant process, through emails and media coverage.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I have volunteered for many non profits over the past 40 plus years and with a degree in forestry have always aligned myself with groups who genuinely care about the environment on all levels. Tampa Bay Watch is one of those special organizations who definitely walk the walk as well talk the talk. Their zeal and energy and commitment are outstanding, so much so that my wife and I are supporters and members and volunteers and we live over a thousand miles away. We are that impressed with their staff and mission. We have helped out with one project in particular - the oyster dome building - which has numerous positive benefits to the water quality and erosion control of the region. Art Hoffman

Videos

Oyster Dome Building at Tampa Bay Watch

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I volunteer for Tampa Bay Watch to build oyster bars and protect the mangrove islands and other areas. This is just one of the many projects and efforts TBW does to help restore Tampa Bay to it's previous habitat. The effort of the group is amazing considering the very tiny staff, but the volunteer programs they sponsor and support gets the job done. We have done so much but there is so much more to do. They are a great group of folks!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing first hand the growth of the oysters from our projects. I have told others about this work to try and recruit more help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get them to extend the hours of the volunteer projects so we can accomplish even more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

I would like longer hours for the volunteer days.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes. The volunteer days get me to areas around Tampa Bay I have never been to before, they fit in with my desire/need to help our environment and I get to meet other people with the same desires I have to help.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Great! I always leave feeling I have done something good for our environment and had fun doing it.

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I started volunteering with Tampa Bay Watch about two years ago. I have found the projects very interesting and helpful. I get to be in the great outdoors, whether standing by a lagoon or water inlet shoreline, or even get to ride in one of their boats on the Tampa Bay waters. It feels great to be giving back to the community while helping the world be a better place any way I can. The best part of Tampa Bay Watch is the wonderful people there. They are very generous, genuine, and helpful. They really care about the work they do, but, most importantly, care about the people that work on the projects, especially the volunteers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

Tampa Bay Watch is a great volunteer opportunity that provides very positive impacts to our waterways, animals and volunteers. They offer a range of "hands on" opportunities for volunteers to directly/positively impact our water environment. These activities offer teaching opportunities for our youth and "hands on - on-site" coastal waterways activities for our youth and all age level adults. (I am 65 years old and still am very active in their on-site projects.) Tampa Bay Watch always includes an educatio0nal componet to their volunteer opportunities - and typically they provide the volunteers to see the benefits of previous volunteer projects. Ron Heimburger - heimburger@mindspring.com - 813-677-9361

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 11, 2012

more

April 11, 2012

I have been a member of Tampa Bay Watch for some 20+ years now. Due to econimic stress, it is the only donation outside of church that I make on a regular basis. My reasoning - TBW does more to improve the environment (of Tampa Bay) than any other organization I personally know of. The fruits of their well rounded efforts have been realized through hands on projects, education and public awarerness programs. They have left no stones unturned in the restoration of the bay which has produced a marked increase in bay water quality (run-off & pollution control), habitat replenishment (mangrove and seagrass beds), reintroduction specie (scallops and oyster domes) to name a few. It is my view that TBW has physically done more to improve the 'overall' health of Tampa Bay than all the other organizations & government agencies that have attempted improvement through lobby, legislation and journalism. My hat is off to TBW, their voluteer staff and their workers for their unfailing stewardship of the bay waters. BRAVO Tampa Bay Watch!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers