Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.738465
Write A Review
October 8, 2014

more

October 8, 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Tamarack Artisan Foundation & its staff! As a new participant in their Rural to Urban Markets program, I have witnessed their determination to help West Virginia artisans flourish. They provide access to an incredible network of support, from accounting to professional photography. With their financial assistance, I now have an opportunity to enter the wholesale market with a new level of professionalism, well-prepared to grow my small business.

(I believe in the organization so I became a member of the Tamarack Artisan Foundation, too!)
October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Tamarack Artisan Foundation is one of the finest organizations I have ever worked with as a volunteer! They develop some of our nation's superb artisans. Every dollar counts that the organization manages...bringing amazing results from donor gifts. Their leadership are top professionals...Sally Barton and her team have moved the foundation into major new endeavors focused on assisting WV artisans to be economically viable. Giving to the Tamarack Artisan Foundation assures the donor that their gift WILL make a difference in the career of an artisan! Michael R. Estep
July 31, 2014

more

July 31, 2014

"Angels Along the River" is my first and only book. Tamarack is the place that sells the most. That an unpublished person can get that kind of support and exposure is both outstanding and heartening.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have an automated system so they know when my book is out of stock and contact me for more. As it is, I have friends call and say, "I tried to get your book at Tamarack and it was sold out." Who knows for how long? How many sales they and I lost? So, I just bother them with, "Need any more books." calls.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 17, 2014

more

July 17, 2014

I am truly impressed by the comprehensive professionalism of the Tamarack Foundation and its staff. I know of a number of people that have benefited greatly from their work. The Tamarack Foundation is making a real difference in this state.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

This Foundation and its professional staff endeavor to promote Artisans of West Virginia, giving them support of skills, venues to create sales, and commaradie of like artists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More exposure to other markets beyond our borders; bring in professional workshops within our state (very lacking).

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

Tamarack Foundation helps West Virginia artists in so many ways, including one-on-one technical and marketing counseling, workshops, and direct aid to artists in need. Over a period of many years, they have helped me promote and improve my own small creative shop. This foundation is in it for the long haul, doing good work that benefits West Virginia artists throughout their careers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

Tamarack Foundation Inc provides well conceived opportunities for West Virginia artists to grow artistically and professionally. As artists and financial professionals they understand the artist's frustration of balancing time in the studio with time at the business desk. The programs they offer clearly help us be more efficient and productive. I am thankful for the classes I have attended.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are working to travel the state with current meetings and it is appreciated. Thank you for understanding we just can't take time away from our studios and galleries for whole days of travel and meetings. Keep up the good work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

July 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 8, 2013

The Tamarack Foundation has been monumental with my goals to better myself as an artist. I am a West Virginia jewelry artist who turned to them for support and mentoring. They have helped me hone m... more

July 15, 2014

The Tamarack Foundation helped hone my skills as an artist and introduced me to the world of wholesale. All I can say is they have opened doors for my craft to be seen and for buyers to purchase it. They put me on the map. I wouldn't be where I am today with the help and support of the Tamarack Foundation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 8, 2013

The Tamarack Foundation has been monumental with my goals to better myself as an artist. I am a West Virginia jewelry artist who turned to them for support and mentoring. They have helped me hone my skills by taking me and 2 others to one of the best wholesale shows in the country and paying the all the fees. I would never have been able to participate without this grant. But the best thing is how they taught me the skills to be a wonderful business woman. The mentoring is priceless. We learned from the 3 artists they took last year. Most serious artists have the skills to sell their product in the world. The hard part is obtaining the audience that will respect and potentially buy the product you made. They taught me and brought me to a place where that happened. I have also participated in business summits they have held at Tamarack. They have been instrumental in my development of being a successful artist. I really couldn't have done it without them. This knowledge I have learned will be shared with three new artists for next year's wholesale show in Philadelphia. They have challenged me to be a better artist and I love them for that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

The Tamarack Foundation provided me with support and recognition as a Fellow in 2013. This honor validated the research and artistic direction I am pursuing with traditional fiber crafts. A small organization with a large network, the programs developed for marketing and business have benefitted hundreds who are contributing to the economy of West Virginia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

After being encouraged to join The Tamarack Foundation's WV to Urban Markets program, I've been able to leave a full time job and dedicate my time to work that I LOVE!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their funding, so that they could benefit more artists and the state of West Virginia.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers