Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
1234.95
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

A non-profit with a clear mission and a dedicated staff. Every visit reveals something new in the gardens or along the trail. Specially respect their conservation efforts with animals!
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

A great piece of paradise right in our own backyard! The scenic landscape and the beautifully sculpted gardens are perfect for photographers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
February 20, 2014

One of my favorite places in NWI! Wonderful spot to visit all year round.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 20, 2014

more

February 20, 2014

An excellent effort to help preserve the natural landscape of the region among increased development. The arboretum is a great place to bring your dog, as it holds a very pet-friendly reputation. A variety of educational opportunities including; informative hikes, classes, and demonstrations are offered throughout the year. Also, it is home to a very noteworthy & photogenic oak tree. All in all a great place to get back in touch with nature.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love the trails at Taltree. It's nice to have somewhere to take a nature walk with my family. They seem to be doing a great job at adding kid-friendly activities and areas. Also, the model trail really surprised me with how detailed and big it was.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

First of all, Taltree is magnificent. If you haven't gone, you should go.

Second of all, the review component of this website exists for people who want to review a nonprofit, not an individual person. Whomever is writing some of these reviews as personal attacks to the CEO should not be
so naive. People are protected by libel and defamation laws against attacks made in this manner. If you have not verified the facts about the claims you are making, (newspaper opinions are not considered facts), you could be sued for libel. You have better read up. Having submitted a review online, it is considered a "published" writing. The law reads:

"a defendant who publishes a false and defamatory communication about a private individual is liable to the individual if the defendant acts with actual malice (applying the standard under New York Times v. Sullivan) or acts negligently in failing to ascertain whether a statement was false or defamatory."

Read up and grow up. Those that break the law cannot hide behind a user name.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I personally love this place. The first time I was there was for a friends wedding and it was absolutely beautiful! So i returned with my dogs to explore the rest and love the railway garden! A must see if you are a nature lover!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a bit surprised by the reviews on here. It seems some people are judging this wonderful, serene place based on information they have read about one person. I don't think it is fair to judge Taltree, as an organization, based on this. My family and I have been enjoying the Arboretum for a couple of years now. I have attended weddings, classes and several of their concerts. We all have grown very fond of the grounds, the staff and the volunteers. It is amazing that something that feels so secluded, is so close to home. My son and husband love the railway garden, while my daughter and I enjoy walking our dogs on the trails. It has been very exciting watching the Arboretum grow, and we look forward to finding something new every time we go!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Turn over in staffing is usally the way a business will take steps in a process to make it a better place. Where else can you feel closer to nature in northwest Indiana? I love Taltree and will recommend it to everyone!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I recently discovered Taltree, and have found a place that I can escape to from the busy world. Having green space in NW Indiana is very important to my family and me, and having been an Indiana resident for several years now, it is nice to see local organizations striving to conserve the land around them. I lead hikes on occasion and cannot wait until spring when the wildflowers come back. If you get a chance, go hike the Bluebird Trail and stop at the Savanna Wetland. There are two swans there. If you do not have much time, the train garden is a must see. You will feel like a kid again :).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help maintain the arboretum grounds, assist with an event and more. Volunteer