Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
64 Reviews
1234.953125
Write A Review
December 10, 2013

more

December 10, 2013

I am impressed with Lisa Ackerman, director of TACA and with the volunteers I met at the head office. They are focused and well organized. It's all about helping parents on the ground, on a day to day basis. I attended one of their conferences and spoke to parents there who were so grateful for the support they are getting. It's really amazing how much they are doing on a small budget.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Excellent, responsive, caring and professionally run organization. Provides fantastic support to members.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a pediatrician and have been helping families with autism negotiate the confusing world of treatment options for over 10 years now. I am privileged to work in the same area where TACA first got its start, and was at one of the very first physician information meetings. Since that time, I have referred hundreds of families to TACA. There's nothing like an experienced TACA mentor parent to help guide a newly-diagnosed family through the maze of therapies and local school services. I can concentrate on the medical side of autism therapy, and put my patients in the very capable hands of TACA to guide them through everything else. From marriage counseling to legal information, from dietary and nutrional advice to playdates and coffee-talk gatherings, from social events and carnivals to medical conferences, TACA offers hands-on support through local chapters nationwide. TACA is, without exception, the most effective support group for families with autism and I will continue to work closely with them and refers all my patients to them for years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

As a scientist, clinician and author of book for parents and the general public called THE AUTISM REVOLUTION: Whole Body Strategies for Making Life All It Can Be (Harvard Health Publications/Random House) that explains the science behind practical, low-risk intervention strategies, I have thought long and hard about how best to address autism under the present circumstances, and it is my considered opinion that TACA cuts to the heart of the matter by offering parent-to-parent mentoring that can help parents find and actually implement thoughtful approaches for their own children. Autism has been called an enigma, a puzzle, a tragedy, a catastrophe and more. There is no broad consensus on its causes or cures. Yet many practical things can be done with knowledge we have right now. I hope the day comes soon when these approaches become part of a more concerted public health program to optimize the health and function of at risk and vulnerable children now. TACA is a model for making real, practical progress in the trenches in complicated chronic and neurodevelopmental conditions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer for a family event or mentor a family who needs support Volunteer