Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.945955
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I was referred to TACA in 2009 right after my son got diagnosed with autism, he was not even three. If I had not found TACA my son would not have the services and therapies that he needs and I would be living an isolated life unable to access the community. I have learned so much about what services are in CA, IEP's, legal, bio-med, health, advocacy etc. I now volunteer my time at TACA to help families navigate this road we are all on together. Families affected by autism helping other families. Once you find TACA you are NEVER alone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish more people would donate to TACA so we can help more families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I love TACA! The services they offer to families are amazing. I received a camp scholarship that I was unable to use for my son, and they just held it for me until the next year. TACA is available to families 24/7 and the parent advice/information is unsurpassed. TACA has helped so many families!

More feedback...

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Getting connected with TACA was one of the biggest turning points in our journey through Autism. They provide so much detailed and useful information to families in a format that is not overwehlming. Their parent mentor program is also amazing. With TACA our family felt like they had gained a bigger family and were assured that we were not alone in this thing called Autism.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The diet and treatment were key to my daughter's recovery - TACA's website had all the information I could ask for to guide us along our journey. I printed out packets of information from the website and carried it with me everywhere I went. We are forever grateful !!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more people know about TACA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Our family has been living with and treating autism for 10 years. We found TACA after being on the journey for 2 1/2 years and it was a significant turning point for our son and our entire family. The information shared by the Parent Mentor Program with training as well as being served by the program was instrumental in getting where we are today. The Chapters Program took us from being a family helped by TACA to being a family helping other families through TACA. Attending TACA Events, Coffee Talks and TACA Meetings is something we look forward to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

somehow help them reach more families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

How will TACA use your donation? Your donation may help fund a medical scholarship for a needy family with a child with ASD, or pay to print or ship more of their AMAZING journey guide books which are GIVEN to families brand new to the world of autism. Your donation may be used to train TACA's cadre of parent-mentors and update the INCREDIBLE website (www.tacanow.org) with the latest information about navigating food reactions, medical treatment, public school assistance, or insurance benefits. Your donation may support one of the TACA REAL HELP NOW conferences held at major cities each year in the US, where cutting-edge medical and legal specialists speak in an open forum to parents, providing LIFE-CHANGING practical information for them to change the outcome of their child's condition now.

How do I know? Because I've been there. My daughter was diagnosed with Aspergers at 7 in late 2010. My wife and I immediately read all the books in our library's ASD section, but none offered any practical advice or real hope. Local ASD support-group meetings were depressing and speakers used educational lingo that made my head spin. A friend mentioned TACA and TACA immediately became a springboard that launched us in a positive direction.

The best part is the amazing community that TACA provides to all who are affected by ASD. The backbone of TACA is the understanding that REAL Medical HELP is available to all children on the spectrum within communities across the globe. Local moms and dads who have navigated the medical, educational, legal, and insurance fields mentor other local moms and dads new to autism. Sometimes, we just need someone to talk to. Someone who gets it. Lucky for us, TACA is there, and TACA definitely gets it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the budget 100 times greater and provide them free advertising on national TV! This organization makes a greater impact on ASD than any other charity on the face of the planet. Period.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

When our son was diagnosed with autism, we knew nothing about it, and the only resource we could find was the internet. We found TACA's website to be an incredible support tool, both in inspiring us when we were overwhelmed and depressed; and in providing us basic guidelines on dietary improvements, therapies, school inclusion techniques. TACA gave us hope and a plan, and we have seen such a difference in our child over the past few years. Now I mentor other parents for TACA to share our families' experiences.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing. Not only does TACA have a heart for families, but they do an incredible job with very limited resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 13, 2012

In June of 2004, our youngest child was diagnosed with autism. The neurologist told us to go home and learn to live with this, because this was the rest of our lives. My husband and I looked at each... more

September 17, 2013

When our family walked into autism 9.5 years ago Talk About Curing Autism Now was the only organization out there offering HELP and HOPE. As we have continued on this journey they continue. Our child is not recovered but he is a completely different child and keeps getting better and better thanks to the time, research and devotion that TACA does for it members.

I also love that my wife is able to volunteer and give back through TACA, it is important that new parents always have this support and resources.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012

In June of 2004, our youngest child was diagnosed with autism. The neurologist told us to go home and learn to live with this, because this was the rest of our lives. My husband and I looked at each other and were in shock that we were supposed to learn to live with a child who never had a firm stool, was not potty trained, felt no pain, and was locked in his world. Fortunately the internet and a few yahoo groups later we found Talk About Curing Autism now. It changed our lives and that of our child. TACA taught us every skill we needed to help get Austin the services he needed from the school district, from regional center and even from our doctors. While we do not have a recovered kid we a completely different child. He is now potty trained, feels pain in a normal way, and is part of our world. The world of autism is a lonely isolated place, but once you find TACA you are never alone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 26, 2012

more

December 26, 2012

My son was diagnosed with autism in 2008 at age 2. After the diagnosis, my husband and I felt completely overwhelmed and alone. It wasn't until a TACA mom spotted us at a birthday party and asked if our child had a diagnosis. She lead us to our first TACA coffee talk. From that moment on, we were not alone. We had support, we had guidance and we had a plan. At the first meeting, I was giving a magnificent Journey Guide which I still rely on to this day. It was filled with information on all things about treating autism. And even better, I have a community of families who have been through the same things we are going through. I have monthly Coffee Talks and meetings, as well as a nationwide community through TACA's yahoo groups. Whenever I have a questions, I just e-mail it to the group and by the end of the day, I have an answer from someone who has the answer. Without TACA, my child simply wouldn't have made the gains he has. He has gone from a non-verbal, uncommunicative toddler without eye contact and with serious behavior issues to an incredibly verbal, smart, funny and loving boy who amazes us every day. TACA guided us to the best traditional therapies and providers for us, the GFCFSF diet (which was the first step in his recovery) to other biomedical treatments. We were lucky to receive one of TACA's scholarships to see a MAPS/DAN! doctor. Now we have a traditional and biomedical protocol that is actually healing our son. Thanks to TACA and doctor advice, we started B12 shots for our son on January 1, 2012 (almost a year ago). At that point he had simple 5 word sentences and limited eye contact. The morning after the first shot when we came into his bedroom, he looked us straight in the eye and said, "Good morning Mommy and Daddy. I'm playing with my Harry Potter legos. Would you like to join me? It's lots of fun!" We were speechless. And we are grateful. And now I am a TACA mentor. I want to share this information that only families with Autism have acquired. Thank you TACA! TACA is the best thing that has happened to us since Autism!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

I remember the first time I was able to attend a TACA meeting. We had been on our journey for a few years already, and it was amazing to be surrounded by other parents who shared my passion for healing and supporting our kids. Raising a child with autism can be so isolating, and TACA helps us connect and stay positive and focused on helping our kids. Being involved with TACA (both as a parent of a child with autism and as a volunteer) has helped my family immeasurably. No other organization focuses on helping families RIGHT NOW the way TACA does. I also really appreciate that TACA isn't focused on just one issue -at TACA, the most important issue in autism is the one that you and your family is struggling with today. It might be IEP and school district challenges. It might be medical concerns (I joke that at TACA meetings we inevitably end up talking about poop and food), it might be conservatoriships or special needs trusts, but the wealth of info on the website and in the Journey Guide is powerful and easy to access. Because of the army of awesome volunteers, TACA reaches many families who otherwise might have no other resource for information and social interaction (TACA picnics and family events are THE BEST!). It's also iportant to note that TACA is fiscally responsible stretching every dollar to help as many families as possible. I'm so grateful to TACA for all they have done for my family, and I'm humbled and proud to be a part of the organization as a volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer for a family event or mentor a family who needs support Volunteer