Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.945955
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
March 29, 2013

more

March 29, 2013

My first encounter with TACA was in 2006 at a TACA Medical Breakthroughs Conference for parents. I am an attorney and was a vendor at the conference. Parents at that conference asked questions directly to nationally recognized physicians specializing in the care of children with Autism. This direct access was almost unheard of in 2006. I watched amazed as all the speakers were surrounded by parents with questions as they tried to exit the conference. For many parents, for the first time, they were getting information about how to care for their child in real time from doctors and other professionals who had answers. As a result, TACA immediately impressed me as a non-profit that was different: TACA wasn't about feel-good walks or distributing pamphlets to raise community awareness: TACA provided then and continues to provide today REAL HELP NOW for families who have a child with Autism through one-on-one parent mentors, medical and legal conferences, resource guides and nine other critical programs. It was my pleasure in 2012 to be asked to join the TACA Board of Directors to help guide this outstanding and much-needed organization that continues to give real help to an ever-growing number of families who have a child with Autism.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a pediatrician and have been helping families with autism negotiate the confusing world of treatment options for over 10 years now. I am privileged to work in the same area where TACA first got its start, and was at one of the very first physician information meetings. Since that time, I have referred hundreds of families to TACA. There's nothing like an experienced TACA mentor parent to help guide a newly-diagnosed family through the maze of therapies and local school services. I can concentrate on the medical side of autism therapy, and put my patients in the very capable hands of TACA to guide them through everything else. From marriage counseling to legal information, from dietary and nutrional advice to playdates and coffee-talk gatherings, from social events and carnivals to medical conferences, TACA offers hands-on support through local chapters nationwide. TACA is, without exception, the most effective support group for families with autism and I will continue to work closely with them and refers all my patients to them for years to come.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 28, 2013

more

March 28, 2013

I cannot put into words what a blessing TACA has been to our family. Like many families affected by autism, when our son was diagnosed we were devastated and overwhelmed. We felt incredibly alone and had little to no guidance on what, if anything, we could do to help him. Thank God we found TACA, as it provided us with a lifeline of hope. With the knowledge and support of others who were walking similar journeys, we were able to seek financial support, and find resources and therapies that would help put our son on the path to recovery. As a volunteer for TACA, I can only hope our family can help other struggling families as much as TACA has helped us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 26, 2012

more

December 26, 2012

My son was diagnosed with autism in 2008 at age 2. After the diagnosis, my husband and I felt completely overwhelmed and alone. It wasn't until a TACA mom spotted us at a birthday party and asked if our child had a diagnosis. She lead us to our first TACA coffee talk. From that moment on, we were not alone. We had support, we had guidance and we had a plan. At the first meeting, I was giving a magnificent Journey Guide which I still rely on to this day. It was filled with information on all things about treating autism. And even better, I have a community of families who have been through the same things we are going through. I have monthly Coffee Talks and meetings, as well as a nationwide community through TACA's yahoo groups. Whenever I have a questions, I just e-mail it to the group and by the end of the day, I have an answer from someone who has the answer. Without TACA, my child simply wouldn't have made the gains he has. He has gone from a non-verbal, uncommunicative toddler without eye contact and with serious behavior issues to an incredibly verbal, smart, funny and loving boy who amazes us every day. TACA guided us to the best traditional therapies and providers for us, the GFCFSF diet (which was the first step in his recovery) to other biomedical treatments. We were lucky to receive one of TACA's scholarships to see a MAPS/DAN! doctor. Now we have a traditional and biomedical protocol that is actually healing our son. Thanks to TACA and doctor advice, we started B12 shots for our son on January 1, 2012 (almost a year ago). At that point he had simple 5 word sentences and limited eye contact. The morning after the first shot when we came into his bedroom, he looked us straight in the eye and said, "Good morning Mommy and Daddy. I'm playing with my Harry Potter legos. Would you like to join me? It's lots of fun!" We were speechless. And we are grateful. And now I am a TACA mentor. I want to share this information that only families with Autism have acquired. Thank you TACA! TACA is the best thing that has happened to us since Autism!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 22, 2012

more

December 22, 2012

I found TACA in 2007, while desperately looking for answers on how to help my then 4 year old. I have learned all I have and my son has come as far as he has because of TACA and their volunteers. I joined TACA as a volunteer parent mentor because I want others to get from TACA what I did and continue to do. My son, who is now 8 years old, no longer meets the criteria for autism. He is completely age appropriate socially and in all areas of speech. He would not be there without the support and information I learned from the many angels I met at and through TACA.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 21, 2012

more

December 21, 2012

Having a child diagnosed with autism is an overwhelming thing. I know; it happened to me in 1998. Suddenly I needed to know about diets, therapies, special education law and more. It was more than overwhelming. For years when I could not leave the house and get to meetings because my child with autism was so sick, I used the TACA website as a valued source of up to date information on autism and the available treatments. Information truly is power, and it is key to helping parents make the best decisions possible for their child's treatment. In 2008 I began volunteering for TACA as a Chapter Coordinator in Illinois. TACA educates, empowers and supports families through a variety of programs, including monthly meetings that include educational speakers, informal coffee talks where parents can help and support each other on a regular basis, and a parent mentor program that matches new parent up with a seasoned, experienced parent who can help them navigate the autism journey. Every new family that attends a TACA event receives a free 300+ page book called "The Autism Journey Guide." It includes everything I wish someone had told me when my son was diagnosed. It's a fantastic resource. The TACA website is absolutely loaded with information and includes live chat so that parents can get help in the moment they need it. I love TACA. I believe in what we do. My time is precious. I would not volunteer my time for any other autism organization. TACA helps the families of children with autism in real and very meaningful ways every day. I am proud to volunteer for TACA. I know we make a difference in the lives of families of children with autism. And being an autism mom, there is no cause closer to my heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 21, 2012

more

December 21, 2012

I joined TACA couple of months ago as a volunteer. It feels wonderful to be in the community of parents who are on the same journey, to feel support and to share the experience. TACA is great!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

Our family's Journey started out in '10 of July when oyr DS was 3 and dx w/ASD. He already had sensory problems, GI, and seizures. There was a Poop presentation was in either 08/10 or 09/10. Either date lol..I went to it. I was amazed on all the Issues my DS had as the other moms had said the same. After that we say the DAN Doc and my son was treated shortly after. It took over 2 yrs to finally see results from the GFCFSF diet and Biomeds. YAAAA!!! DS is know in Mainstream w/an Aide. The other surprise was our other DS who is youngest is also dx w/ASD but DS is nonverbal :(. DS who is 4 now was having severe Acid reflex, etreme picker eater and loose direahrea. We took him to Dr. Usman's office this yr. He is falling off his Acid reflux medicine for now. No loose stool. Eating all the food of course GFCFSF Not picky eater..pain free...starting to imitate. YA....It has been a complete life changer to our family.We take our boys to community/and family functions to which we couldn;t before due to them having pain issues along with behaviors as well. I am also a mentor and trying to help families in our journey just like TACA has done for us.xxoxox

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

I remember the first time I was able to attend a TACA meeting. We had been on our journey for a few years already, and it was amazing to be surrounded by other parents who shared my passion for healing and supporting our kids. Raising a child with autism can be so isolating, and TACA helps us connect and stay positive and focused on helping our kids. Being involved with TACA (both as a parent of a child with autism and as a volunteer) has helped my family immeasurably. No other organization focuses on helping families RIGHT NOW the way TACA does. I also really appreciate that TACA isn't focused on just one issue -at TACA, the most important issue in autism is the one that you and your family is struggling with today. It might be IEP and school district challenges. It might be medical concerns (I joke that at TACA meetings we inevitably end up talking about poop and food), it might be conservatoriships or special needs trusts, but the wealth of info on the website and in the Journey Guide is powerful and easy to access. Because of the army of awesome volunteers, TACA reaches many families who otherwise might have no other resource for information and social interaction (TACA picnics and family events are THE BEST!). It's also iportant to note that TACA is fiscally responsible stretching every dollar to help as many families as possible. I'm so grateful to TACA for all they have done for my family, and I'm humbled and proud to be a part of the organization as a volunteer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

In this age of uncertainty in autism, while some are searching for a cause, and even more are scrambling to re-train the symptoms, it is priceless to have an organization that so bravely and unabashedly shows us how to actually repair our brain-injured children, all the while helping us appreciate them for the little wonders they are. It is why I have donated both money and time to the organization that is HELPING families affected by autism navigate through ALL the situations they are struggling with, whether it be financial, emotional or physical. TACA treats the whole child, heals the complete family and enlightens the entire the world. Thank you TACA!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer for a family event or mentor a family who needs support Volunteer