Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.945955
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Getting connected with TACA was one of the biggest turning points in our journey through Autism. They provide so much detailed and useful information to families in a format that is not overwehlming. Their parent mentor program is also amazing. With TACA our family felt like they had gained a bigger family and were assured that we were not alone in this thing called Autism.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

The diet and treatment were key to my daughter's recovery - TACA's website had all the information I could ask for to guide us along our journey. I printed out packets of information from the website and carried it with me everywhere I went. We are forever grateful !!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more people know about TACA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

TACA is an incredible asset to families living with autism in Hawaii! Hawaii is one of the most isolated spots on the planet. TACA connects us with the cutting edge physicians treating autism in the country. These physicians are featured in blogs and webinars. But sometimes TACA actually gets them to visit and provide a live lecture. And through TACA's influence, a few of them end up getting medical licenses in Hawaii so they can help our families even more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

GIVE THEM MORE MONEY so they could hire full time staff in all chapter locations. TACA does an amazing job providing services on a shoestring through an amazing network of volunteer leaders. However, there is so much more they could do with additional staffing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Our family has been living with and treating autism for 10 years. We found TACA after being on the journey for 2 1/2 years and it was a significant turning point for our son and our entire family. The information shared by the Parent Mentor Program with training as well as being served by the program was instrumental in getting where we are today. The Chapters Program took us from being a family helped by TACA to being a family helping other families through TACA. Attending TACA Events, Coffee Talks and TACA Meetings is something we look forward to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

somehow help them reach more families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

How will TACA use your donation? Your donation may help fund a medical scholarship for a needy family with a child with ASD, or pay to print or ship more of their AMAZING journey guide books which are GIVEN to families brand new to the world of autism. Your donation may be used to train TACA's cadre of parent-mentors and update the INCREDIBLE website (www.tacanow.org) with the latest information about navigating food reactions, medical treatment, public school assistance, or insurance benefits. Your donation may support one of the TACA REAL HELP NOW conferences held at major cities each year in the US, where cutting-edge medical and legal specialists speak in an open forum to parents, providing LIFE-CHANGING practical information for them to change the outcome of their child's condition now.

How do I know? Because I've been there. My daughter was diagnosed with Aspergers at 7 in late 2010. My wife and I immediately read all the books in our library's ASD section, but none offered any practical advice or real hope. Local ASD support-group meetings were depressing and speakers used educational lingo that made my head spin. A friend mentioned TACA and TACA immediately became a springboard that launched us in a positive direction.

The best part is the amazing community that TACA provides to all who are affected by ASD. The backbone of TACA is the understanding that REAL Medical HELP is available to all children on the spectrum within communities across the globe. Local moms and dads who have navigated the medical, educational, legal, and insurance fields mentor other local moms and dads new to autism. Sometimes, we just need someone to talk to. Someone who gets it. Lucky for us, TACA is there, and TACA definitely gets it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the budget 100 times greater and provide them free advertising on national TV! This organization makes a greater impact on ASD than any other charity on the face of the planet. Period.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

TACA is a wonderful organization giving hope to families with autism. I am honored to be a mentor for them. When I first started recovering my son from autism 5 years ago I was told to get the TACA Journey Guide by a friend, and it was the best advice I ever got. He has made huge gains in the last 5 years and I thank TACA for helping me get started!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

When our son was diagnosed with autism, we knew nothing about it, and the only resource we could find was the internet. We found TACA's website to be an incredible support tool, both in inspiring us when we were overwhelmed and depressed; and in providing us basic guidelines on dietary improvements, therapies, school inclusion techniques. TACA gave us hope and a plan, and we have seen such a difference in our child over the past few years. Now I mentor other parents for TACA to share our families' experiences.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing. Not only does TACA have a heart for families, but they do an incredible job with very limited resources.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

When my son was diagnosed at 2 1/2 we were devasted and trying to cope as well as we could as there were 2 other girls in our family that were 6 and 8 at the time and they needed us to. We needed emotional, medical, nutritional help and more and TACA helped us with all of that. I am now proudly a TACA mentor and do my best to help guide new families on this journey the way my mentor did 6 years ago. Thanks TACA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 13, 2012

In June of 2004, our youngest child was diagnosed with autism. The neurologist told us to go home and learn to live with this, because this was the rest of our lives. My husband and I looked at each... more

September 17, 2013

When our family walked into autism 9.5 years ago Talk About Curing Autism Now was the only organization out there offering HELP and HOPE. As we have continued on this journey they continue. Our child is not recovered but he is a completely different child and keeps getting better and better thanks to the time, research and devotion that TACA does for it members.

I also love that my wife is able to volunteer and give back through TACA, it is important that new parents always have this support and resources.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2012

In June of 2004, our youngest child was diagnosed with autism. The neurologist told us to go home and learn to live with this, because this was the rest of our lives. My husband and I looked at each other and were in shock that we were supposed to learn to live with a child who never had a firm stool, was not potty trained, felt no pain, and was locked in his world. Fortunately the internet and a few yahoo groups later we found Talk About Curing Autism now. It changed our lives and that of our child. TACA taught us every skill we needed to help get Austin the services he needed from the school district, from regional center and even from our doctors. While we do not have a recovered kid we a completely different child. He is now potty trained, feels pain in a normal way, and is part of our world. The world of autism is a lonely isolated place, but once you find TACA you are never alone!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 2, 2013

more

April 2, 2013

I've had the privilege of serving on the TACA Board for more than 4 years now. After my son was diagnosed with Autism 11 years ago, TACA was the one place I could find straight forward information and resources. As a marketing executive, I've been involved with many different charities and TACA continues to amaze me on what they are able to do with limited resources. Given some additional support, this could be one of the most impactful non-profits of our times.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Volunteer for a family event or mentor a family who needs support Volunteer