Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.948725
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

Human trafficking is one of the most challenging ongoing social justice issues. TEN works in a very hands on and pragmatic way in focusing on both victims and those at risk and helping them move beyond trafficking issues and helping them build job skills and economic opportunity.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

I became involved with Made By Survivors as a graduate student worker assisting MBS with a myriad of projects. Having previously worked on human trafficking issues and programs, I was inspired by Sarah's story and the focus on how they wanted the organization to grow and how they wanted the world to see the women MBS works with. Many organizations focus on an emotional connection, ie. showing the suffering and describing the tragic backgrounds of the women, as an attempt to raise funds and support the NGO. However, MBS focuses on the survival aspect of the women. It does not use pity as fundraising mechanism. They focus on helping the women restart their lives through psychosocial attention, training, and job creation. They use private sector approaches, such as selling jewelry, to generate revenue rather than purely asking for donations. I became so motivated and inspired by MBS that I joined MBS as a Board Member in mid-2014. It is an honor to be associated with such a motivated group that doesn't see the beneficiaries as victims, but rather survivors, and looks to support their activities not merely through hand-outs, but through activities that directly benefit the population the serve. Keep up the amazing work!
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

We are The Apple of God's Eyes in Nepal, we have been working sheltering many Nepalese kids who were trafficked to India. We have 5 shelter homes and one school in Kathmandu, also we have been more than 1.300 scholarships all over Nepal for prevention against human trafficking. Ten Charities has been our partner since long ago. They've been faithful and very participative towards what was proposed. They have been sending financial support and giving sponsorship for many of our kids so we can keep them studying and dreaming about better future.
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

Ten Charities, of Made by Survivors, is for sure the best non profit I've been involved with. The founder, Sarah Symons, has taken on a gargantuan problem (slavery) and worked tirelessly, with strength and compassion for seven years to offer hope for a new life to survivors. I know it hasn't always been easy. There were sacrifices, disappointments, setbacks.
But because of persistence, passion, and an excellent business plan, TEN is now flourishing. Everyone seems to want to help. We partner with dozens of organizations around the world, we've virtually saved the lives of thousands of girls, and we've helped raise awareness of the reality of what traffickng really means.
I'm so proud to be a part of this organization! Sarah's new book, No Ordinary Joy, sums up the essence of TEN: To bring joy where there was despair, to bring a future where there was none, to bring love where there was fear. And this joy belongs to all of us--volunteers, donors, board members, and of course the survivors.
And PS. This is the only non profit I know of where 100$ of the money we make selling their products goes right back to the survivors!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not really a change .... I would just wish that everyone knew about the beautiful work we do. Would love to see Ten Charities as much a household name as United Way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

This organization works directly with other organizations who are effective at working with people on the ground and making an immediate and real positive difference in the lives of survivors. The team is lean and makes tremendous positive impact with the limited resources they have available.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

The founders of Made By Survivors have gone all in to help these young women build new lives. Beyond the money raised from the store, donations are used to build shelters, schools and training programs. The heart and care that goes into this organization is amazing. The survivors are proud of their creations, as well they should be. Great products for a great cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

When I am working for/with Made By Survivors, I feel it is the best time I spend on this earth--aside from raising my own daughter. The founders and staff are all completely committed, as Sarah says, they all go "all in," living their commitment to ending slavery. Working with survivors has been one of the greatest gifts of my life--I have learned so much about resilience, strength, and grace. I will fight the scourge of sex slavery and exploitation until my dying day, but it's so much better having such an amazing group of people to do it with, through an organization that is so very solid, ethical, and visionary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2010

more

May 11, 2010

I am one of the founders of this organization, so I know firsthand how we change the lives of the survivors. You can see our work yourself by visiting our programs - read all about our recent volunteer trip here: http://www.madebysurvivors.com/teamindia2010

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In the lives of the survivors we work with

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Help many thousands of survivors of slavery and human trafficking rebuild their lives.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers