Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.970155
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I am the owner of a small Fair Trade Shop in Newport, KY called "It's only Fair!" We have been selling Made by Survivor products for about 3 years. Several years ago, my daughter & I traveled to India to visit some of the projects that we are partnered with there. It was my first visit to India, but hopefully not my last!
We spent 2 days with Made by Survivors' staff in Kolkata, visiting several of their homes & the Jewelry Center. Our time there was amazing, as was the staff we were privileged to spend time with. I was so impressed with the work they are doing, and the difference that they are making in the lives of so many girls & young women! I just received a shipment of their beautiful jewelry & felt bags from Nepal this week, our store will continue to carry their products!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly can think of nothing that I would change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

I am the Founder of UK charity "Freedom Matters" (www.freedommatters.org.uk) which like Made By Survivors works with trafficking survivors in south Asia, in our case in Nepal. We are conducting very similar work as we provide training and employment to survivors, empowering them and reducing the risk of their being re-trafficked. MBS has a silver jewelry workshop in Calcutta while we are following in MBS's wake with setting up one in Kathmandu. Sarah and John have been wonderful during this start up phase, readily sharing their experience with us and encouraging the initiative through placing several substantial orders. They have shown excellent due diligence by visiting our workshop personally where they gave their advice and suggestions for improvement to local staff and volunteers. Through MBS our workshop is sells to the U.S. market. Sarah and John are worth their weight in gold (not silver) and MBS so thoroughly deserves this Award.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I work in the same field as the Emancipation Network, Made by Survivors. I have visited their Jewelry Project several times in Kolkata and each time was extremely impressed by what I saw. The last time I was there one of the girls said she was now earning more than her husband through the program. That is simply amazing. I also saw them take a girl in and create a job for her, even though their wasn't really one, just to make sure she had a decent wage. I can't say enough good things about how they operate their programs. The girls success speak for it. Support them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 10, 2011

more

March 10, 2011

I have been following Emancipation Network/Made By Survivors for years. Their passion and dedication to meeting the needs of human trafficking survivors is remarkable and far reaching. In addition to providing education and employment skills to survivors, they also work to prevent human trafficking by reaching vulnerable people through their programs and partnerships in multiple countries. The Emancipation Network is effective and works hand in hand with many other organizations in the fight to end slavery.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

motivating me to use my talents and skills to find ways to prevent human trafficking and work to restore survivors of human trafficking.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase their online presence and social marketing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

Made By Survivors is able to use their resources and skills to impact the issue of human trafficking in many countries and with many nationalities.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers