Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.948725
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to serve with Made By Survivors on a volunteer trip to India. I wanted to see first hand how support gets to the children and young women. I can't say enough about all the good t... more

September 26, 2014

I had the great honor to accompany a small group of volunteers with Made By Survivors to India and witness first hand the powerful difference that Made By Survivors/T.E.N. Charities is making in the lives of women and children - those who have been rescued from trafficking and those at risk of being trafficked. I have visited shelter homes where monies donated by T.E.N. Charities have added entire wings and buildings, I have watched in awe as the young women in their jewelry program have grown into confident artisans and entrepreneurs, and I have experienced the appreciation, joy and the love that not just the girls in the program, but the program directors and other charity partners have shared with the volunteers and with Sarah Symons. Another reason I believe T.E.N. Charities stands out as a great nonprofit is Sarah's due diligence with who T.E.N. Charities partners with and supports. Apple of Gods Eye in Nepal, Women's Interlink Foundation, Rescue Foundation and Destiny House in India are all samples of charity partners that are doing amazing work, changing lives for the better. And finally, I am impressed by the quality of goods that are offered through T.E.N. Charities and love that I can purchase a gift that makes a direct difference in the life another.
July 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to serve with Made By Survivors on a volunteer trip to India. I wanted to see first hand how support gets to the children and young women. I can't say enough about all the good that Made By Survivors is doing for victims of slavery and trafficking. Through education, restoration, and empowerment, they are changing so many lives. It is evident that every possible penny is going straight to the survivors and to the shelter homes where they live and are supported. Sarah and John have truly created a sustainable and meaningful solution to help survivors thrive through the rest of their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I am glad to be a part of Made by Survivors. In my career I never saw a non-profit like this. Their plans for women survivors are really incredible which include building women power, self-dependent, self-confidence, and most important thing is support. I must say if anyone listen MBS plans for women development they can’t stop them self to join MBS. I feel proud to be a part of it and gathering great experiences from here. Thank you MBS!!!!
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Back in February of last year I was fortunate to visit Kolkata and one of the jewelry centers run by Made by Survivors. It was such a joy and pleasure to see these talented young women at work. They are artist and the expression of their art and the love for what they do shows through in the quality of the products they make. They shared their drawings and concepts as well as walked us through the process of jewelry making. The passion that they have for what they do was so clear in all that they shared. The organization is such an inspiration and is doing such great things for India, Kolkata and giving hope to these young women. My visit was life changing for me and how I approach all aspects of my life. Looking forward to my next visit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their organization to open up more center and to be able to help more young women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I had the extreme pleasure to visit the Jewelry Center and Destiny this year. The women amazed me with there work ethics and there pride. They work so well as a team and support ea... more

October 20, 2013

This organization is amazing. I had the pleasure of going to India and meeting with the women and children and the staff. The women are so proud of what they have accomplished and they were a pleasure to work with. They taught us how they make the jewelry and showed us some of their sketches of the their designs that they did themselves. They are so smart and very talented I would not have missed it for the world. The children at the centers are so loving and playful. The centers are well kept and the girls showed us around their rooms. We had lunch with the staff and you could see and feel the pride they have in the women and children. Made by Survivors has made such a difference in the lives of so many just showing love and encouragement to women and children who have been through so much. And the founder Sarah Symons should be commended for her determination and sacrifices she has made to make this dream of hers come true, she is truly an
amazing women that founded an amazing Non profit THE BEST!


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i CAN'T THINK OF A THING i WOULD CHANGE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I had the extreme pleasure to visit the Jewelry Center and Destiny this year. The women amazed me with there work ethics and there pride. They work so well as a team and support each other. They are so talented with their work and they do it so well. While there the ladies trained us on the some of the work they do and it was amazing to actually see the jewelry in the end. They told us they have their own savings and talked about starting their own businesses some day. The atmosphere at the center was filled with a lot of love and pride. They made us feel so welcome. The day my girlfriend and I left to come back to the states we didn't want to leave, we wanted to spend more time there. I have so many of the products they make and I've shown them to other people and they want the web site and are amazed at what they see these ladies make. The staff of this non profit are very dedicated to helping these women and children make a better life for themselves. I was actually in awe of the work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

I first read about TEN in Family Circle magazine in 2008. Next I checked out them out in Guidestar.org. From then until now, I have been impressed with what I've learned -- that they are the "real deal" --- real people with hearts for victims of trafficking doing real work that makes a real difference.

This nonprofit has motivated me to get involved in anti-trafficking efforts with their "can-do" attitude. They are an inspiration!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2013

I was fortunate enough to hear Sarah speak about The Emancipation Network, still in its infancy, when she and her family lived on Cape Cod. I sold Made By Survivor items at craft fairs and events, wa... more

October 20, 2013

After hearing Sarah Symons speak at a local event, describing how she gave up her comfortable life to become a modern day abolitionist, I just had to be a part of her wonderful organization. I was fortunate enough to travel to India with T.E.N. Charities, visiting their facilities and partner shelters, and meeting some wonderful people that work for, and are served by T.E.N. Charities. That was almost 4 years ago now, and my family (still) proudly sponsors a child that has survived the horrors of human trafficking so that she can attend school. Though I am not an active member of the organization, I am thrilled to be able to support them by purchasing beautiful handmade items, such as jewelry, and spreading the word of their amazing work any way that I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 11, 2013

I was fortunate enough to hear Sarah speak about The Emancipation Network, still in its infancy, when she and her family lived on Cape Cod. I sold Made By Survivor items at craft fairs and events, was able to join other volunteers on a trip to India in the winter of 2010, seeing first hand what TEN/MBS was accomplishing with children and young women that had been rescued from human trafficking and slavery, and am able to sponsor a child to attend school that lives in one of the partner shelters. I can't say enough about Sarah, John and all of the dedicated employees and volunteers of this organization....they are amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I met the founder, Sarah Symmonds, when the organization was in its infancy, over a decade ago. It was lots of fun to have parties and sell the items made by survivors of modern slavery, helping them in their struggle to survive after rescue from brothels or other miserable situations into which they had been forced as children. The items are really great so it's a win, win situation for the women who make the products and the people who buy them. To expedite that is really fun. Now Madebysurvivors sells only over the internet and I have organized students at the school in which I work, to buy a load of stuff (either the parents association or I cover the cost initially) and resell the items to students, teachers and parent before the winter gift giving holidays (xmas, hanukah, etc) We are educating the students about the harsh realities for girls who are the same age as they are, but whose lives are so much more difficult. They are happy to help and spread the word. I feel confident about the organization because I have met the principles in it and have watched it grow, so I know all the efforts go right to real people in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Made By Survivors happened to me by sheer luck. And i would like to thank the founders of this organization to have had the belief in me thus having given me an opportunty to be a part of the Made by Survivors (MBS) Kolkata - team. MBS has been a life changing experience for me as it has taught me how with determination and optimisim, one can fight against all odds and stand upright. Catering to hundreds of girls and women who have been subjected to sex-trafficking, ecomnic dispute or abondonment, MBS gives them ample opportunties to re-live a normal independent life, to re-establish their own lost identities, to re-create a sense of self-confidence and self-respect.Life always gives you a second chnace and that's exactly where MBS comes forward lending a helping hand to the women / girls by inviting them to join different income generating projects.The Jewelery Program is one such projects that runs in Kolkata, Jalpaiguri and Boisar (near Mumbai). The women/ girls get proper training in jewelery making from trainers who come from US. They even have different workshops hosted by different volunteers .The program has not only given then financial indepedence but has boosted them with faith and confidence and has helped them to let go their tragic past. They have discovered their hidden talents which not only get noticed but highly acknowledged. There are even women in the program who are now the primary/ only bread earner of their family and they enjoy a sense of satisfaction and victory against the hurdles they had faced so far.MBS is the solution to combat slavery and emancipate women. And most importantly the way MBS functions is unqiue. Each and every member of this organization works with the girls with care, love, affection and sincerity and that's the binding factor between the girls and MBS. I feel proud to be a part of this organization that has been helping and supporting women, girls and children to have a better future, a secured life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

Made by Survivors has a program that takes womyn from ugly, dark, horrible places and provides a safe place for them to heal, grow, and feel worthy. Working with Made by Survivors has touched my heart to see how you can forgive and move on to making a difference in this world. I love the jewelry that is made and the energy that is emitting from this community. Keep up the wonderful work!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

What a wonderful and life changing opportunity I experienced volunteering with TEN/Made By Survivors. I have gone two years running to Kolkata to see the girls, be touched by their beautiful, open hearts. To be able to receive the gift of bearing witness to the path their lives are on... one of empowerment, education, training, hope, and happiness. They are loved and supported and are such an inspiration. Their ability to emerge from such devastating life experience and with support, are turning their life around where they will be in a position to support themselves with real skills. The future depends on the education of women. The empowerment of women. Support. I am so grateful to have been able to be touched by this amazing group of people, both staff, and the girls themselves. What an inspiration. I hope to be able to return each year to keep supporting this amazing program. Thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers