Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.948725
Write A Review
October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

What a wonderful and life changing opportunity I experienced volunteering with TEN/Made By Survivors. I have gone two years running to Kolkata to see the girls, be touched by their beautiful, open hearts. To be able to receive the gift of bearing witness to the path their lives are on... one of empowerment, education, training, hope, and happiness. They are loved and supported and are such an inspiration. Their ability to emerge from such devastating life experience and with support, are turning their life around where they will be in a position to support themselves with real skills. The future depends on the education of women. The empowerment of women. Support. I am so grateful to have been able to be touched by this amazing group of people, both staff, and the girls themselves. What an inspiration. I hope to be able to return each year to keep supporting this amazing program. Thank you!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

Working with TEN was a truly life changing experience. Being able to visit the survivors and hear first hand how much the organization has helped them get there lives back and gain independence that they never had the opportunity to have can not be put into words ! The work that TEN and made by survivors does to help survivors of human trafficking cannot be compared to. I cannot wait to go back :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

I had the pleasure of volunteering in India with this organization. The girls are amazing and the program is allowing them to become strong independent women that are able to give back to their society! What is better than that?! Getting these girls out of the sex trade and giving them tools to be strong independent women is amazing. Being such a small part of this process by volunteering has made a strong impact on my life, and has made me an advocate in bring awareness to this global problem.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

I have seen first hand how TEN changes lives through job creation, education and empowerment. I have been blessed to know and work with the amazing staff and I can honestly say I have never met a more dedicated, selfless and inspirational group of people. I highly recommend supporting them in any way possible!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

When I am working for/with Made By Survivors, I feel it is the best time I spend on this earth--aside from raising my own daughter. The founders and staff are all completely committed, as Sarah says, they all go "all in," living their commitment to ending slavery. Working with survivors has been one of the greatest gifts of my life--I have learned so much about resilience, strength, and grace. I will fight the scourge of sex slavery and exploitation until my dying day, but it's so much better having such an amazing group of people to do it with, through an organization that is so very solid, ethical, and visionary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I have been volunteering for Made By Survivors since March and in that time have come in contact with many NGOs. Im so proud to be associated with this one. It is at all times a professionally run business with amazing talented and organised staff at every level. The team work is one of its strengths and really creates a wonderful working environment and a fabulous role model for the young women in the jewellery program. All of these girls have had a tough past but you wouldn't know it when you sit with them everyday and hear their laughter and stories. They love working and have a real sense of pride in what they do and in themselves. What I love about MBS is that it is providing a real future for the women- providing training an education in a loving and supportive environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

Made By Survivors allowed me to go to their jewelry programs in India and changed my life. The visit, the staff, and the women that I met were amazing. Every person involved gave 100% to make the trip and the experience the most education, life changing, and fun. The difference they make in the world in unmeasurable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I work in the same field as the Emancipation Network, Made by Survivors. I have visited their Jewelry Project several times in Kolkata and each time was extremely impressed by what I saw. The last time I was there one of the girls said she was now earning more than her husband through the program. That is simply amazing. I also saw them take a girl in and create a job for her, even though their wasn't really one, just to make sure she had a decent wage. I can't say enough good things about how they operate their programs. The girls success speak for it. Support them!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

Made by Survivors allowed to me visit their two jewelry centres in India last year to conduct my graduate research, and to complete an informal evaluation of the program for internal purposes. The staff devoted a considerable amount of time to helping me with translations and transportation, and the founders even paid for one of my flights between centres. The Indian Made by Survivors staff team was phenomenal! They were very welcoming, and always treated my input and contributions as valuable. From my own observations and the in-depth interviews that I completed with all jewelry program participants it was obvious that the girls loved the staff and loved the jewelry program. It was two of the most unbelievably inspiring months of my life. I am very, very grateful to Made By Survivors, and believe that they are a model NGO in the respect and consideration they show both the young women they work with and students such as myself.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I first experienced the work Made By Survivors does when I participated in one of their yearly volunteer trips to Kolkata, India. I was impressed to see how well respected they were among the NGO community in Kolkata and how much of an impact their programs had on the lives of the girls they were helping. I saw a lot of love and compassion from the group towards the girls and I saw the girls respond in a way that told me they yearned for this kind of connection and rarely got it from others. it was great to see how the girls trusted the Made By Survivors staff and how they always wanted to be around them. MBS's dedication to helping the girls attain independence (both physically and financially) is something severely lacking with many NGOs that usually just help in one area and not all. MBS's approach is to help the girls during the entire recovery process and beyond. Once they are in the girls' lives they are there until they are no longer needed. I would highly recommend this group to anyone interested in volunteering or wanting to help the cause. They are the real deal.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers