Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.957145
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I heard about T.E.N Charities through my cousins fiance in Maryland. I am an artist and donated some auction items. Helped with the silent auction..Great time.!.. Then I found out there was a store on Cape Cod that sold survivor made items and could not believe the creativeness and quality..! The owner of the store I found out moved to Florida....Her name is Sarah...
Very proud to help a worthwhile charity that teaches skills that one keeps forever...I like how some of the survivors come back to help teach their skills to the new children in the schools.
There is a solid foundation here that gets results. Very powerful program Indeed.!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure if there is a Loan program to help survivors with business start up money....But it might help.!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I love this group of people! Every day they are working to bring freedom to so many people who have never known it. They deal with people's pain and the unbelievable cruelty people inflict on one another. The survivors get to be in a safe place where they can learn and grow. I am so inspired by these survivors and those who work with them to give them a chance to earn a living wage and support themselves and their families, and work through the pain they have known to find hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage them to set up centers for survivors in the United States as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

A very dedicated lot of people in this organization - hats off!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring in more local marketing...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2013

more

July 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to serve with Made By Survivors on a volunteer trip to India. I wanted to see first hand how support gets to the children and young women. I can't say enough about all the good that Made By Survivors is doing for victims of slavery and trafficking. Through education, restoration, and empowerment, they are changing so many lives. It is evident that every possible penny is going straight to the survivors and to the shelter homes where they live and are supported. Sarah and John have truly created a sustainable and meaningful solution to help survivors thrive through the rest of their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

I first read about TEN in Family Circle magazine in 2008. Next I checked out them out in Guidestar.org. From then until now, I have been impressed with what I've learned -- that they are the "real deal" --- real people with hearts for victims of trafficking doing real work that makes a real difference.

This nonprofit has motivated me to get involved in anti-trafficking efforts with their "can-do" attitude. They are an inspiration!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

I am the Founder of UK charity "Freedom Matters" (www.freedommatters.org.uk) which like Made By Survivors works with trafficking survivors in south Asia, in our case in Nepal. We are conducting very similar work as we provide training and employment to survivors, empowering them and reducing the risk of their being re-trafficked. MBS has a silver jewelry workshop in Calcutta while we are following in MBS's wake with setting up one in Kathmandu. Sarah and John have been wonderful during this start up phase, readily sharing their experience with us and encouraging the initiative through placing several substantial orders. They have shown excellent due diligence by visiting our workshop personally where they gave their advice and suggestions for improvement to local staff and volunteers. Through MBS our workshop is sells to the U.S. market. Sarah and John are worth their weight in gold (not silver) and MBS so thoroughly deserves this Award.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

I checked out this charity, and I know that the founders have dedicated their lives and fortunes to helping survivors of human rights abuses to make new and productive lives for themselves. They have beautiful products too. The cards made of handmade paper are gorgeous. The jewelry glows with personal attention to detail and pride. And giving these items to others is like giving two gifts; the item itself, and the knowledge that someone who really needs a lift is getting one.

Want to know more? Try reading "This is No Ordinary Joy: How the Courage of Survivors Transformed My Life" by founder Sarah Symons. Want to know what motivated her to start this? Watch "The Day My God Died" (it's on-line).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2012

more

October 27, 2012

I met the founder, Sarah Symmonds, when the organization was in its infancy, over a decade ago. It was lots of fun to have parties and sell the items made by survivors of modern slavery, helping them in their struggle to survive after rescue from brothels or other miserable situations into which they had been forced as children. The items are really great so it's a win, win situation for the women who make the products and the people who buy them. To expedite that is really fun. Now Madebysurvivors sells only over the internet and I have organized students at the school in which I work, to buy a load of stuff (either the parents association or I cover the cost initially) and resell the items to students, teachers and parent before the winter gift giving holidays (xmas, hanukah, etc) We are educating the students about the harsh realities for girls who are the same age as they are, but whose lives are so much more difficult. They are happy to help and spread the word. I feel confident about the organization because I have met the principles in it and have watched it grow, so I know all the efforts go right to real people in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Made By Survivors happened to me by sheer luck. And i would like to thank the founders of this organization to have had the belief in me thus having given me an opportunty to be a part of the Made by Survivors (MBS) Kolkata - team. MBS has been a life changing experience for me as it has taught me how with determination and optimisim, one can fight against all odds and stand upright. Catering to hundreds of girls and women who have been subjected to sex-trafficking, ecomnic dispute or abondonment, MBS gives them ample opportunties to re-live a normal independent life, to re-establish their own lost identities, to re-create a sense of self-confidence and self-respect.Life always gives you a second chnace and that's exactly where MBS comes forward lending a helping hand to the women / girls by inviting them to join different income generating projects.The Jewelery Program is one such projects that runs in Kolkata, Jalpaiguri and Boisar (near Mumbai). The women/ girls get proper training in jewelery making from trainers who come from US. They even have different workshops hosted by different volunteers .The program has not only given then financial indepedence but has boosted them with faith and confidence and has helped them to let go their tragic past. They have discovered their hidden talents which not only get noticed but highly acknowledged. There are even women in the program who are now the primary/ only bread earner of their family and they enjoy a sense of satisfaction and victory against the hurdles they had faced so far.MBS is the solution to combat slavery and emancipate women. And most importantly the way MBS functions is unqiue. Each and every member of this organization works with the girls with care, love, affection and sincerity and that's the binding factor between the girls and MBS. I feel proud to be a part of this organization that has been helping and supporting women, girls and children to have a better future, a secured life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have peripherally been connected to Made By Survivors since 2009. This amazing organization has been consistent in its support and sponsorship of women and children who are survivors--survivors of greater tragedies than I have ever known yet are pillars of bravery and strength with smiles that still light up rooms. MBS creates economic opportunities for a mother to have a better way of life for herself and her family, thus breaking the cycle of oppression and poverty. I recently visited the jewelry center in Kolkata and was amazed by the quality of the products. Skilled teachers have trained women in the art of jewelry-making, but these women then make it their own by creating new and intricately designed pieces. Whether it is volunteering, donating, or buying products, support this organization! They are truly making a difference in this world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers