Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.945215
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I ordered 2 necklaces and was contacted promptly after my order was placed to let me know they were on back order and to find out if I wanted to cancel, substitute, or keep my order. I chose to keep it and was very impressed to find the order arrived only 3 weeks after the order was placed. Awesome product. Amazing caus. And I tell people every day about what an awesome organization Made By Survivors is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! Keep doing what you do! Woman to woman, we are stronger than we know!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

Ten Charities, of Made by Survivors, is for sure the best non profit I've been involved with. The founder, Sarah Symons, has taken on a gargantuan problem (slavery) and worked tirelessly, with strength and compassion for seven years to offer hope for a new life to survivors. I know it hasn't always been easy. There were sacrifices, disappointments, setbacks.
But because of persistence, passion, and an excellent business plan, TEN is now flourishing. Everyone seems to want to help. We partner with dozens of organizations around the world, we've virtually saved the lives of thousands of girls, and we've helped raise awareness of the reality of what traffickng really means.
I'm so proud to be a part of this organization! Sarah's new book, No Ordinary Joy, sums up the essence of TEN: To bring joy where there was despair, to bring a future where there was none, to bring love where there was fear. And this joy belongs to all of us--volunteers, donors, board members, and of course the survivors.
And PS. This is the only non profit I know of where 100$ of the money we make selling their products goes right back to the survivors!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not really a change .... I would just wish that everyone knew about the beautiful work we do. Would love to see Ten Charities as much a household name as United Way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I only heard about T.E.N. Charities a few months ago, but in that time the people involved and aided by it have earned such a huge place in my heart -- and I've never even met any of them yet! The work T.E.N. does is invaluable, as it is a grassroots effort and recognizes that the best way to help this issue is not to simply throw money at it, but to use the funds to help empower survivors to become self-sufficient. It is one of the only charities that I would (and have) recommended whole-heartedly to family and friends. I fully trust that the money I donate goes directly to the people who need it, and I can't wait until I get to go overseas and visit these beautiful people someday!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I heard about T.E.N Charities through my cousins fiance in Maryland. I am an artist and donated some auction items. Helped with the silent auction..Great time.!.. Then I found out there was a store on Cape Cod that sold survivor made items and could not believe the creativeness and quality..! The owner of the store I found out moved to Florida....Her name is Sarah...
Very proud to help a worthwhile charity that teaches skills that one keeps forever...I like how some of the survivors come back to help teach their skills to the new children in the schools.
There is a solid foundation here that gets results. Very powerful program Indeed.!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure if there is a Loan program to help survivors with business start up money....But it might help.!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

I love this group of people! Every day they are working to bring freedom to so many people who have never known it. They deal with people's pain and the unbelievable cruelty people inflict on one another. The survivors get to be in a safe place where they can learn and grow. I am so inspired by these survivors and those who work with them to give them a chance to earn a living wage and support themselves and their families, and work through the pain they have known to find hope.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage them to set up centers for survivors in the United States as well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

A very dedicated lot of people in this organization - hats off!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring in more local marketing...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2013

more

July 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to serve with Made By Survivors on a volunteer trip to India. I wanted to see first hand how support gets to the children and young women. I can't say enough about all the good that Made By Survivors is doing for victims of slavery and trafficking. Through education, restoration, and empowerment, they are changing so many lives. It is evident that every possible penny is going straight to the survivors and to the shelter homes where they live and are supported. Sarah and John have truly created a sustainable and meaningful solution to help survivors thrive through the rest of their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

I first read about TEN in Family Circle magazine in 2008. Next I checked out them out in Guidestar.org. From then until now, I have been impressed with what I've learned -- that they are the "real deal" --- real people with hearts for victims of trafficking doing real work that makes a real difference.

This nonprofit has motivated me to get involved in anti-trafficking efforts with their "can-do" attitude. They are an inspiration!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

I am the Founder of UK charity "Freedom Matters" (www.freedommatters.org.uk) which like Made By Survivors works with trafficking survivors in south Asia, in our case in Nepal. We are conducting very similar work as we provide training and employment to survivors, empowering them and reducing the risk of their being re-trafficked. MBS has a silver jewelry workshop in Calcutta while we are following in MBS's wake with setting up one in Kathmandu. Sarah and John have been wonderful during this start up phase, readily sharing their experience with us and encouraging the initiative through placing several substantial orders. They have shown excellent due diligence by visiting our workshop personally where they gave their advice and suggestions for improvement to local staff and volunteers. Through MBS our workshop is sells to the U.S. market. Sarah and John are worth their weight in gold (not silver) and MBS so thoroughly deserves this Award.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2013

more

July 10, 2013

I checked out this charity, and I know that the founders have dedicated their lives and fortunes to helping survivors of human rights abuses to make new and productive lives for themselves. They have beautiful products too. The cards made of handmade paper are gorgeous. The jewelry glows with personal attention to detail and pride. And giving these items to others is like giving two gifts; the item itself, and the knowledge that someone who really needs a lift is getting one.

Want to know more? Try reading "This is No Ordinary Joy: How the Courage of Survivors Transformed My Life" by founder Sarah Symons. Want to know what motivated her to start this? Watch "The Day My God Died" (it's on-line).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers