Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.945955
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
October 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I had the extreme pleasure to visit the Jewelry Center and Destiny this year. The women amazed me with there work ethics and there pride. They work so well as a team and support ea... more

October 20, 2013

This organization is amazing. I had the pleasure of going to India and meeting with the women and children and the staff. The women are so proud of what they have accomplished and they were a pleasure to work with. They taught us how they make the jewelry and showed us some of their sketches of the their designs that they did themselves. They are so smart and very talented I would not have missed it for the world. The children at the centers are so loving and playful. The centers are well kept and the girls showed us around their rooms. We had lunch with the staff and you could see and feel the pride they have in the women and children. Made by Survivors has made such a difference in the lives of so many just showing love and encouragement to women and children who have been through so much. And the founder Sarah Symons should be commended for her determination and sacrifices she has made to make this dream of hers come true, she is truly an
amazing women that founded an amazing Non profit THE BEST!


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i CAN'T THINK OF A THING i WOULD CHANGE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I had the extreme pleasure to visit the Jewelry Center and Destiny this year. The women amazed me with there work ethics and there pride. They work so well as a team and support each other. They are so talented with their work and they do it so well. While there the ladies trained us on the some of the work they do and it was amazing to actually see the jewelry in the end. They told us they have their own savings and talked about starting their own businesses some day. The atmosphere at the center was filled with a lot of love and pride. They made us feel so welcome. The day my girlfriend and I left to come back to the states we didn't want to leave, we wanted to spend more time there. I have so many of the products they make and I've shown them to other people and they want the web site and are amazed at what they see these ladies make. The staff of this non profit are very dedicated to helping these women and children make a better life for themselves. I was actually in awe of the work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2013

I was fortunate enough to hear Sarah speak about The Emancipation Network, still in its infancy, when she and her family lived on Cape Cod. I sold Made By Survivor items at craft fairs and events, wa... more

October 20, 2013

After hearing Sarah Symons speak at a local event, describing how she gave up her comfortable life to become a modern day abolitionist, I just had to be a part of her wonderful organization. I was fortunate enough to travel to India with T.E.N. Charities, visiting their facilities and partner shelters, and meeting some wonderful people that work for, and are served by T.E.N. Charities. That was almost 4 years ago now, and my family (still) proudly sponsors a child that has survived the horrors of human trafficking so that she can attend school. Though I am not an active member of the organization, I am thrilled to be able to support them by purchasing beautiful handmade items, such as jewelry, and spreading the word of their amazing work any way that I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 11, 2013

I was fortunate enough to hear Sarah speak about The Emancipation Network, still in its infancy, when she and her family lived on Cape Cod. I sold Made By Survivor items at craft fairs and events, was able to join other volunteers on a trip to India in the winter of 2010, seeing first hand what TEN/MBS was accomplishing with children and young women that had been rescued from human trafficking and slavery, and am able to sponsor a child to attend school that lives in one of the partner shelters. I can't say enough about Sarah, John and all of the dedicated employees and volunteers of this organization....they are amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I have known about out T.E.N and Made By Survivors for approximately one year. I recently had the honor to meet Sarah Symons and to learn in detail about what she is doing to help to rescue and to protect the victims of human trafficking. I have also read Sarah's book "this is no ordinary joy" and learned how Sarah became involved in helping people. Sarah is what my vision of a humanitarian is! As a woman with a humanitarian spirit, I have been seeking ways to be useful, using my skills to contribute to a cause for about 6 years. I believe that I have finally found the group that I would like to help and to work with. Not only will I donate monthly to help support T.E.N and Made By Survivors, but I also hope to be able to go to help in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes to the organization but I would love to see more people involved to help support T.E.N/Made By Survivors

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I have followed the progress of Made by Survivors for several years. I have purchased several pieces of jewelry that I cherish for their beautiful artistry but more so for what they represent. The workmanship and passion that created these pieces is emblematic of a belief in forging a new future for the artisans who make them. Women breaking away from a horrible life and finding empowerment , safety, and a possibility of hope in a new life.I remember a few years ago hearing of one of the shelters or studios being bombed. I am so moved by the comittment of the teachers who work with these women and will continue to give my support to this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

This charity impowers the those who have suffered. It gives them back a sense of contributing a part of them back into the world by making such beautiful items. I cherish each piece I have knowing I to have helped someone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I've purchased such lovely jewelry from Made by Survivors. It makes me feel so, unbelievably, good to support these young women. I was an abused woman myself, but I have had all the advantages of a 1st world country. I can't imagine being taken from my family and forced into servitude in my grade school years ... but these women were and now I can help them take care of themselves by purchasing their beautiful jewelry and sharing "Made by Survivors" on Facebook.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

(More money to help more girls!!!!!)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I have the utmost respect and admiration for Sarah Symons, whom I recently met, and the work she does with Made By Survivors and T.E.N. Charities. The number of young abused and exploited women who are helped by this non-profit society is astounding. Best of all, their work is done with Heart.
Sheila Sayer

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its scope!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I love Made By Survivors and T.E.N. Charities. It is such a great cause, and the girls produce such amazing work. Keep it up.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See it grow bigger.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I think the world is a better place because of the vision and work of Sarah Symons and T.E.N. Charities. I have not only contributed to T.E.N, but I am continually buying jewelry and other items from the charity's Made by Survivors program. (My daughters and daughters-in-law know they can count on some quality jewelry by Made by Survivors each Christmas!) It is wonderful to know that the money from my contributions and purchases is helping to free women from human trafficking and slavery and helping them learn a trade so they can support themselves. It tugs at my heartstrings. I wish more people knew about this charity.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything I would change.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

My daughter in law is very involved with Made by Survivors. She introduced me to the plight of these young girls and the wonderful workmanship they do. I am a proud recipient just recently of a beautiful necklace and Sarah Sympns book... This is no ordinary joy.... What a wonderful book. A real eye opener. Last Christmas I purchased three necklaces for gifts and I'm ready to order earrings and necklaces for my family and friends. My gift to my daughter in law Debra Rouse will be a check made out to "Made by Survivors". I am so very proud of her and every one who works so very hard for these girls. I'm also so very proud and in awe of how strong these young women are.

Gail Rouse Stewart

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find time to become involved.....

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers