Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.956525
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

Emancipation Network has given me the opportunity to work with the survivors directly which helped me in better understanding of the social issues. Emancipation Network helps in emancipating women fro... more

August 30, 2014

I have been associated with Made By Survivors for the last 4 years. What pleases me about this organisation is that they have a clear vision and goal and are working to achieve that. The teams both in India and in USA are extremely sorted, hard working and organised. They think BIG and they make sure that they are no less than that. MBS has shown considerable growth in the last four years and I've witnessed an incredible progress in the women working in the jewellery project. Having worked with them, I have been extremely fortunate to meet such genuine people.
October 19, 2012

Emancipation Network has given me the opportunity to work with the survivors directly which helped me in better understanding of the social issues. Emancipation Network helps in emancipating women from their world of slavery and trauma and empower them to lead a better life. The Jewelry Program in which the girls are trained to become professional trainers, not only teach them the art of metal smithing but also gets the best out of each of them. They are very talented, creative, determined, passionate and each one of them is a leader. This transformation wouldn't have been possible without the intervention of Emancipation Network. They have changed their lives and changed their way of looking at life. Emancipation Network has a high potential in bringing about a change in the way women are looked at in the society. These women have been able to support their family, they are respected and recognized by everyone in their family. Emancipation Network is a tool to reach out to people and to all those victims of sex trafficking who accept their disrespected lives as their 'fate', that there are people who are working to give them back their right and a mean to live a respected life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

My relationship began several years ago with Ten Charities and Made By Survivors when I began purchasing their beautifully handcrafted jewelry for my wellness center. Their product has always been a favorite with my customers. From this professional relationship, I grew in awareness of the epidemic that is human trafficking & how every purchase and person is affected on some level. I have always been impressed by the mission of MBS. They not only shelter these survivors but economically empower them through teaching them a trade.

Last year we were approached to fundraise for Made By Survivors and my husband, myself and my niece Jess Hoertel jumped at the opportunity to financially help such a worthy, reputable charity. We initially thought we would host one fundraiser and that would be that, however, after more education around human slavery we decided to dedicate ourselves to working with organizations such as Ten Charities/MadeBy Survivors to empower them financially so that they can continue doing the wonderful work to help eradicate human slavery.

Since our first meeting with Sarah Symons we have had nothing but a positive experience collaborating with her and the team at Made By Survivors. The organizational skills needed to partner with not only our charity but several in India has been inspiring and a great learning tool for us. Every time we have asked for reports & updates regarding donations made, we have gotten them immediately which only speaks to their transparency and professionalism.

I feel so excited about our partnership with Made By Survivors.

Beth Tiger
CEO & Co-Founder of Durga Tree International

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to make a very large donation so that they could expand and serve more survivors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Back in February of last year I was fortunate to visit Kolkata and one of the jewelry centers run by Made by Survivors. It was such a joy and pleasure to see these talented young women at work. They are artist and the expression of their art and the love for what they do shows through in the quality of the products they make. They shared their drawings and concepts as well as walked us through the process of jewelry making. The passion that they have for what they do was so clear in all that they shared. The organization is such an inspiration and is doing such great things for India, Kolkata and giving hope to these young women. My visit was life changing for me and how I approach all aspects of my life. Looking forward to my next visit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their organization to open up more center and to be able to help more young women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I am the owner of a small Fair Trade Shop in Newport, KY called "It's only Fair!" We have been selling Made by Survivor products for about 3 years. Several years ago, my daughter & I traveled to India to visit some of the projects that we are partnered with there. It was my first visit to India, but hopefully not my last!
We spent 2 days with Made by Survivors' staff in Kolkata, visiting several of their homes & the Jewelry Center. Our time there was amazing, as was the staff we were privileged to spend time with. I was so impressed with the work they are doing, and the difference that they are making in the lives of so many girls & young women! I just received a shipment of their beautiful jewelry & felt bags from Nepal this week, our store will continue to carry their products!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly can think of nothing that I would change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I am so impressed with the work this group has taken on. I have learned through Sarah and the folks at Made By Survivors the extent of human trafficking in the world today. I will be sharing their vision with 25 fellow women who will be inspired to join the battle to support these women and children worldwide. My goal is to help spread the word and prevent the travesty of human trafficking throughout the world

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I had the extreme pleasure to visit the Jewelry Center and Destiny this year. The women amazed me with there work ethics and there pride. They work so well as a team and support ea... more

October 20, 2013

This organization is amazing. I had the pleasure of going to India and meeting with the women and children and the staff. The women are so proud of what they have accomplished and they were a pleasure to work with. They taught us how they make the jewelry and showed us some of their sketches of the their designs that they did themselves. They are so smart and very talented I would not have missed it for the world. The children at the centers are so loving and playful. The centers are well kept and the girls showed us around their rooms. We had lunch with the staff and you could see and feel the pride they have in the women and children. Made by Survivors has made such a difference in the lives of so many just showing love and encouragement to women and children who have been through so much. And the founder Sarah Symons should be commended for her determination and sacrifices she has made to make this dream of hers come true, she is truly an
amazing women that founded an amazing Non profit THE BEST!


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i CAN'T THINK OF A THING i WOULD CHANGE.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I had the extreme pleasure to visit the Jewelry Center and Destiny this year. The women amazed me with there work ethics and there pride. They work so well as a team and support each other. They are so talented with their work and they do it so well. While there the ladies trained us on the some of the work they do and it was amazing to actually see the jewelry in the end. They told us they have their own savings and talked about starting their own businesses some day. The atmosphere at the center was filled with a lot of love and pride. They made us feel so welcome. The day my girlfriend and I left to come back to the states we didn't want to leave, we wanted to spend more time there. I have so many of the products they make and I've shown them to other people and they want the web site and are amazed at what they see these ladies make. The staff of this non profit are very dedicated to helping these women and children make a better life for themselves. I was actually in awe of the work they do.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 11, 2013

I was fortunate enough to hear Sarah speak about The Emancipation Network, still in its infancy, when she and her family lived on Cape Cod. I sold Made By Survivor items at craft fairs and events, wa... more

October 20, 2013

After hearing Sarah Symons speak at a local event, describing how she gave up her comfortable life to become a modern day abolitionist, I just had to be a part of her wonderful organization. I was fortunate enough to travel to India with T.E.N. Charities, visiting their facilities and partner shelters, and meeting some wonderful people that work for, and are served by T.E.N. Charities. That was almost 4 years ago now, and my family (still) proudly sponsors a child that has survived the horrors of human trafficking so that she can attend school. Though I am not an active member of the organization, I am thrilled to be able to support them by purchasing beautiful handmade items, such as jewelry, and spreading the word of their amazing work any way that I can.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 11, 2013

I was fortunate enough to hear Sarah speak about The Emancipation Network, still in its infancy, when she and her family lived on Cape Cod. I sold Made By Survivor items at craft fairs and events, was able to join other volunteers on a trip to India in the winter of 2010, seeing first hand what TEN/MBS was accomplishing with children and young women that had been rescued from human trafficking and slavery, and am able to sponsor a child to attend school that lives in one of the partner shelters. I can't say enough about Sarah, John and all of the dedicated employees and volunteers of this organization....they are amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I have known about out T.E.N and Made By Survivors for approximately one year. I recently had the honor to meet Sarah Symons and to learn in detail about what she is doing to help to rescue and to protect the victims of human trafficking. I have also read Sarah's book "this is no ordinary joy" and learned how Sarah became involved in helping people. Sarah is what my vision of a humanitarian is! As a woman with a humanitarian spirit, I have been seeking ways to be useful, using my skills to contribute to a cause for about 6 years. I believe that I have finally found the group that I would like to help and to work with. Not only will I donate monthly to help support T.E.N and Made By Survivors, but I also hope to be able to go to help in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes to the organization but I would love to see more people involved to help support T.E.N/Made By Survivors

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I have followed the progress of Made by Survivors for several years. I have purchased several pieces of jewelry that I cherish for their beautiful artistry but more so for what they represent. The workmanship and passion that created these pieces is emblematic of a belief in forging a new future for the artisans who make them. Women breaking away from a horrible life and finding empowerment , safety, and a possibility of hope in a new life.I remember a few years ago hearing of one of the shelters or studios being bombed. I am so moved by the comittment of the teachers who work with these women and will continue to give my support to this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

This charity impowers the those who have suffered. It gives them back a sense of contributing a part of them back into the world by making such beautiful items. I cherish each piece I have knowing I to have helped someone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers