Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
74 Reviews
1234.945955
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I am so happy to support an organization truly devoted to serving enslaved woman with the courage to fight for a better life. MBS supports women from start to finish. It's not just an advisory/education type organization...they are completely changing lives of enslaved women who have incredible strength and hope. This is a beautiful, much needed NPO.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

I became involved with Made By Survivors as a graduate student worker assisting MBS with a myriad of projects. Having previously worked on human trafficking issues and programs, I was inspired by Sarah's story and the focus on how they wanted the organization to grow and how they wanted the world to see the women MBS works with. Many organizations focus on an emotional connection, ie. showing the suffering and describing the tragic backgrounds of the women, as an attempt to raise funds and support the NGO. However, MBS focuses on the survival aspect of the women. It does not use pity as fundraising mechanism. They focus on helping the women restart their lives through psychosocial attention, training, and job creation. They use private sector approaches, such as selling jewelry, to generate revenue rather than purely asking for donations. I became so motivated and inspired by MBS that I joined MBS as a Board Member in mid-2014. It is an honor to be associated with such a motivated group that doesn't see the beneficiaries as victims, but rather survivors, and looks to support their activities not merely through hand-outs, but through activities that directly benefit the population the serve. Keep up the amazing work!
September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I remember being so excited when I found out that part of the money I was raising for a yoga inspired organization, Off the Mat, Into the World, was going to a non-profit in India, who's founder lived 30 minutes away from me. Sarah and I immediately became friends and are still close friends today. She is a genuine person with a huge heart and has been a friend, mentor and supporter ever since I met her. This organization that her and John created is amazing. They have touched and transformed so many lives. I have seen the eyes of the young girls that this organization empowers and I can tell you, firsthand, that there work is necessary, accepted and sustainable. I truly believe that Sarah and John are angels. Not only have they affected many young girls lives around the globe, they are my daily reminder to keep believing and keep dreaming. Forever grateful.
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

I have had the great pleasure of working alongside T.E.N. for a good few years now and they've been wonderful. John and Sarah have taken time out to visit my charity's silver jewellery workshop for trafficking survivors in Kathmandu, offering their huge expertise, grants, orders and provided a sales outlet to the USA. They couldn't have done much more and we'd have been rather lost without their inputs.
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

We are The Apple of God's Eyes in Nepal, we have been working sheltering many Nepalese kids who were trafficked to India. We have 5 shelter homes and one school in Kathmandu, also we have been more than 1.300 scholarships all over Nepal for prevention against human trafficking. Ten Charities has been our partner since long ago. They've been faithful and very participative towards what was proposed. They have been sending financial support and giving sponsorship for many of our kids so we can keep them studying and dreaming about better future.
August 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

Emancipation Network has given me the opportunity to work with the survivors directly which helped me in better understanding of the social issues. Emancipation Network helps in emancipating women fro... more

August 30, 2014

I have been associated with Made By Survivors for the last 4 years. What pleases me about this organisation is that they have a clear vision and goal and are working to achieve that. The teams both in India and in USA are extremely sorted, hard working and organised. They think BIG and they make sure that they are no less than that. MBS has shown considerable growth in the last four years and I've witnessed an incredible progress in the women working in the jewellery project. Having worked with them, I have been extremely fortunate to meet such genuine people.
October 19, 2012

Emancipation Network has given me the opportunity to work with the survivors directly which helped me in better understanding of the social issues. Emancipation Network helps in emancipating women from their world of slavery and trauma and empower them to lead a better life. The Jewelry Program in which the girls are trained to become professional trainers, not only teach them the art of metal smithing but also gets the best out of each of them. They are very talented, creative, determined, passionate and each one of them is a leader. This transformation wouldn't have been possible without the intervention of Emancipation Network. They have changed their lives and changed their way of looking at life. Emancipation Network has a high potential in bringing about a change in the way women are looked at in the society. These women have been able to support their family, they are respected and recognized by everyone in their family. Emancipation Network is a tool to reach out to people and to all those victims of sex trafficking who accept their disrespected lives as their 'fate', that there are people who are working to give them back their right and a mean to live a respected life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2014

more

August 30, 2014

My relationship began several years ago with Ten Charities and Made By Survivors when I began purchasing their beautifully handcrafted jewelry for my wellness center. Their product has always been a favorite with my customers. From this professional relationship, I grew in awareness of the epidemic that is human trafficking & how every purchase and person is affected on some level. I have always been impressed by the mission of MBS. They not only shelter these survivors but economically empower them through teaching them a trade.

Last year we were approached to fundraise for Made By Survivors and my husband, myself and my niece Jess Hoertel jumped at the opportunity to financially help such a worthy, reputable charity. We initially thought we would host one fundraiser and that would be that, however, after more education around human slavery we decided to dedicate ourselves to working with organizations such as Ten Charities/MadeBy Survivors to empower them financially so that they can continue doing the wonderful work to help eradicate human slavery.

Since our first meeting with Sarah Symons we have had nothing but a positive experience collaborating with her and the team at Made By Survivors. The organizational skills needed to partner with not only our charity but several in India has been inspiring and a great learning tool for us. Every time we have asked for reports & updates regarding donations made, we have gotten them immediately which only speaks to their transparency and professionalism.

I feel so excited about our partnership with Made By Survivors.

Beth Tiger
CEO & Co-Founder of Durga Tree International

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to make a very large donation so that they could expand and serve more survivors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Back in February of last year I was fortunate to visit Kolkata and one of the jewelry centers run by Made by Survivors. It was such a joy and pleasure to see these talented young women at work. They are artist and the expression of their art and the love for what they do shows through in the quality of the products they make. They shared their drawings and concepts as well as walked us through the process of jewelry making. The passion that they have for what they do was so clear in all that they shared. The organization is such an inspiration and is doing such great things for India, Kolkata and giving hope to these young women. My visit was life changing for me and how I approach all aspects of my life. Looking forward to my next visit.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their organization to open up more center and to be able to help more young women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I am the owner of a small Fair Trade Shop in Newport, KY called "It's only Fair!" We have been selling Made by Survivor products for about 3 years. Several years ago, my daughter & I traveled to India to visit some of the projects that we are partnered with there. It was my first visit to India, but hopefully not my last!
We spent 2 days with Made by Survivors' staff in Kolkata, visiting several of their homes & the Jewelry Center. Our time there was amazing, as was the staff we were privileged to spend time with. I was so impressed with the work they are doing, and the difference that they are making in the lives of so many girls & young women! I just received a shipment of their beautiful jewelry & felt bags from Nepal this week, our store will continue to carry their products!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly can think of nothing that I would change.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

I am so impressed with the work this group has taken on. I have learned through Sarah and the folks at Made By Survivors the extent of human trafficking in the world today. I will be sharing their vision with 25 fellow women who will be inspired to join the battle to support these women and children worldwide. My goal is to help spread the word and prevent the travesty of human trafficking throughout the world

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers