Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.948725
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

Human trafficking is one of the most challenging ongoing social justice issues. TEN works in a very hands on and pragmatic way in focusing on both victims and those at risk and helping them move beyond trafficking issues and helping them build job skills and economic opportunity.
September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I am so full of gratitude for Sarah and John's having had the selfless idea to begin this charity, and for making it as robust and reliable as they have done. I discovered Made by Survivors a few years ago when I was looking for a small nonprofit that would allow me to get involved in some meaningful way in the life of one specific project. I couldn't have found anyone more receptive than Sarah Symons. She has brought such incredible joy into the lives of my entire family by allowing us to contribute in a way that has enabled us to link directly with the recipients of our donation. To call is a donation feels inappropriate. I feel as though we are receiving back so much more than we give, both in terms of the deep ties we have built to this organization and the personal lives of the family with whom we are so lovingly connected now in Nepal.
I have every faith and confidence in the organization, in the way in which it handles both its administrative and financial affairs, and the outstanding way in which it presents itself within the nonprofit sphere. Heart is at the heart of everything they do and it shows. Couldn't be more devoted to them.
September 26, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to serve with Made By Survivors on a volunteer trip to India. I wanted to see first hand how support gets to the children and young women. I can't say enough about all the good t... more

September 26, 2014

I had the great honor to accompany a small group of volunteers with Made By Survivors to India and witness first hand the powerful difference that Made By Survivors/T.E.N. Charities is making in the lives of women and children - those who have been rescued from trafficking and those at risk of being trafficked. I have visited shelter homes where monies donated by T.E.N. Charities have added entire wings and buildings, I have watched in awe as the young women in their jewelry program have grown into confident artisans and entrepreneurs, and I have experienced the appreciation, joy and the love that not just the girls in the program, but the program directors and other charity partners have shared with the volunteers and with Sarah Symons. Another reason I believe T.E.N. Charities stands out as a great nonprofit is Sarah's due diligence with who T.E.N. Charities partners with and supports. Apple of Gods Eye in Nepal, Women's Interlink Foundation, Rescue Foundation and Destiny House in India are all samples of charity partners that are doing amazing work, changing lives for the better. And finally, I am impressed by the quality of goods that are offered through T.E.N. Charities and love that I can purchase a gift that makes a direct difference in the life another.
July 14, 2013

I had the opportunity to serve with Made By Survivors on a volunteer trip to India. I wanted to see first hand how support gets to the children and young women. I can't say enough about all the good that Made By Survivors is doing for victims of slavery and trafficking. Through education, restoration, and empowerment, they are changing so many lives. It is evident that every possible penny is going straight to the survivors and to the shelter homes where they live and are supported. Sarah and John have truly created a sustainable and meaningful solution to help survivors thrive through the rest of their lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2014

more

September 26, 2014

I am glad to be a part of Made by Survivors. In my career I never saw a non-profit like this. Their plans for women survivors are really incredible which include building women power, self-dependent, self-confidence, and most important thing is support. I must say if anyone listen MBS plans for women development they can’t stop them self to join MBS. I feel proud to be a part of it and gathering great experiences from here. Thank you MBS!!!!
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

I am so happy to support an organization truly devoted to serving enslaved woman with the courage to fight for a better life. MBS supports women from start to finish. It's not just an advisory/education type organization...they are completely changing lives of enslaved women who have incredible strength and hope. This is a beautiful, much needed NPO.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

I became involved with Made By Survivors as a graduate student worker assisting MBS with a myriad of projects. Having previously worked on human trafficking issues and programs, I was inspired by Sarah's story and the focus on how they wanted the organization to grow and how they wanted the world to see the women MBS works with. Many organizations focus on an emotional connection, ie. showing the suffering and describing the tragic backgrounds of the women, as an attempt to raise funds and support the NGO. However, MBS focuses on the survival aspect of the women. It does not use pity as fundraising mechanism. They focus on helping the women restart their lives through psychosocial attention, training, and job creation. They use private sector approaches, such as selling jewelry, to generate revenue rather than purely asking for donations. I became so motivated and inspired by MBS that I joined MBS as a Board Member in mid-2014. It is an honor to be associated with such a motivated group that doesn't see the beneficiaries as victims, but rather survivors, and looks to support their activities not merely through hand-outs, but through activities that directly benefit the population the serve. Keep up the amazing work!
September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 4, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I remember being so excited when I found out that part of the money I was raising for a yoga inspired organization, Off the Mat, Into the World, was going to a non-profit in India, who's founder lived 30 minutes away from me. Sarah and I immediately became friends and are still close friends today. She is a genuine person with a huge heart and has been a friend, mentor and supporter ever since I met her. This organization that her and John created is amazing. They have touched and transformed so many lives. I have seen the eyes of the young girls that this organization empowers and I can tell you, firsthand, that there work is necessary, accepted and sustainable. I truly believe that Sarah and John are angels. Not only have they affected many young girls lives around the globe, they are my daily reminder to keep believing and keep dreaming. Forever grateful.
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

I have had the great pleasure of working alongside T.E.N. for a good few years now and they've been wonderful. John and Sarah have taken time out to visit my charity's silver jewellery workshop for trafficking survivors in Kathmandu, offering their huge expertise, grants, orders and provided a sales outlet to the USA. They couldn't have done much more and we'd have been rather lost without their inputs.
August 31, 2014

more

August 31, 2014

We are The Apple of God's Eyes in Nepal, we have been working sheltering many Nepalese kids who were trafficked to India. We have 5 shelter homes and one school in Kathmandu, also we have been more than 1.300 scholarships all over Nepal for prevention against human trafficking. Ten Charities has been our partner since long ago. They've been faithful and very participative towards what was proposed. They have been sending financial support and giving sponsorship for many of our kids so we can keep them studying and dreaming about better future.
August 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

Emancipation Network has given me the opportunity to work with the survivors directly which helped me in better understanding of the social issues. Emancipation Network helps in emancipating women fro... more

August 30, 2014

I have been associated with Made By Survivors for the last 4 years. What pleases me about this organisation is that they have a clear vision and goal and are working to achieve that. The teams both in India and in USA are extremely sorted, hard working and organised. They think BIG and they make sure that they are no less than that. MBS has shown considerable growth in the last four years and I've witnessed an incredible progress in the women working in the jewellery project. Having worked with them, I have been extremely fortunate to meet such genuine people.
October 19, 2012

Emancipation Network has given me the opportunity to work with the survivors directly which helped me in better understanding of the social issues. Emancipation Network helps in emancipating women from their world of slavery and trauma and empower them to lead a better life. The Jewelry Program in which the girls are trained to become professional trainers, not only teach them the art of metal smithing but also gets the best out of each of them. They are very talented, creative, determined, passionate and each one of them is a leader. This transformation wouldn't have been possible without the intervention of Emancipation Network. They have changed their lives and changed their way of looking at life. Emancipation Network has a high potential in bringing about a change in the way women are looked at in the society. These women have been able to support their family, they are respected and recognized by everyone in their family. Emancipation Network is a tool to reach out to people and to all those victims of sex trafficking who accept their disrespected lives as their 'fate', that there are people who are working to give them back their right and a mean to live a respected life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers