Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.864085
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

What a wonderful place to be able to bring your kids to volunteer, and show them what it means to help an animal, and themselves, and teaches them leadership skills at the same time. Swan center also provided us with training before we were able to volunteer with the animals. It can be a wonderful family volunteer experience, that my children enjoy going to. Not to mention, the beautiful surroundings!!
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

Swan mountain is an organization that is truly selfless with staff, volunteers, and supporters giving of themselves time after time for the education of others and the good of the animals.
October 25, 2014

more

October 25, 2014

When a person finds the reason GOD created them and embraces it fully, you have something of rare and powerful beauty. The Longhills were designed to rescue these majestic beauties. I'm so thankful for people like them, and hope thier important work continues for all time. True inspiration!
October 24, 2014

more


4 previous reviews - show all
October 13, 2013

Swan Center Outreach is a safe and loving place where horses and humans heal one another through interactive programs. A place where miracles happen!!! more

October 24, 2014

Over 25 years ago, my relationship with the Swan Center Outreach began as a volunteer. Now, I am very proud to say, I serve as a board member. I am very humbled to be a part of an extrordinary non-profit, that not only saves horses and other farm animals, but humans alike!

As a result of
the horsemanship training I received, I developed greater depths of confidence, awareness and compassion. I am ever so grateful!

Respect, loving care and service are equally matched with regard to the humane treatment of animals and humans alike!! I encourage others to support this one-of-a-kind non-profit organization.
October 13, 2013

Swan Center Outreach is a safe and loving place where horses and humans heal one another through interactive programs. A place where miracles happen!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing at all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My first introduction to the Swan Center Outreach happened in 1989. It was a very tumultuous time in my life. The Swan Center Outreach serves as a sanctuary and rehabilitation haven for abused and neglected horses/animals. By better understanding the nature of horses and witnessing the kind of loving care they experience at the Swan Center, I have come to know myself. The 40 horses that reside at the Center have been my teachers, healers and friends. It seemed that I was the one who would be caring for them, but it was they who taught me how to be more aware of my behavior, kinder, compassionate, patient and sensitive. At times of great sadness, they mended my heart. When I needed an ear, they always listened. They instilled confidence when I was unsure. In essence, they have helped me become a better "human."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Improving my relationships with people and animals. Have a better understanding of how we all interact with one another in either a positive or negative way. And how being around horses assisted me in changing and or improving my behavior.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

Through a friend.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Continue to properly care for the animals.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Continue to educate and strengthen individual and family values through the interaction of animals.

January 19, 2012

My first introduction to the Swan Center Outreach happened in 1987. It was a very tumultuous time in my life. The Swan Center Outreach serves as a sanctuary and rehabilitation haven for abused and neglected horses/animals. By better understanding the nature of horses and witnessing the kind of loving care they experience at the Swan Center, I have come to know myself. The 40 horses that reside at the Center have been my teachers, healers and friends. It seemed that I was the one who would be caring for them, but it was they who taught me how to be more aware of my behavior, kinder, compassionate, patient and sensitive. At times of great sadness, they mended my heart. When I needed an ear, they always listened. They instilled confidence when I was unsure. In essence, they have helped me become a better "human."

Videos

The Swan Center Outreach

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 28, 2011

My whole life transformed over 25 years ago. I was taught by horses of the Swan Center how to be a "better human being." A most incredible organization of love, care and healing for both horses and humans alike!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In all my personal relationships with animals and people, including myself!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a thing!!!!!!!!!

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

In trying to decide where to donate, I look for many things. One that is most important is the selflessness of the people involved. They do what they can with what they have to make something work. Swan Center takes an idea, makes it work and then they continue to make it better.
Not only
does this benefit the animals and the people that are there for the programs but for the volunteers as well. It is a place where people of all ages can learn how to be a volunteer. My grand kids love it and will become good philanthropists as a result.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

We engaged the Swan Center Outreach to conduct a leadership day for our Talent Management team on a beautiful summer day in the Rockies. The soul of the property, the animals, and the staff met us upon arrival and stayed with us throughout the day. We have taken lessons from that day and incorporated them into our Programs that we offer to our leadership teams across the company. We thank the Swan Center for everything they do for the animals, our community, and the environment.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

The Swan Center tries to do great things for animals and children, but the people behind it are frauds. The monastery they ran in GA also served as a sanctuary for abused and neglected animals, but the methods they used to build and maintain the property were coercive and manipulative. There is something twisted about people who lie about their spiritual "abilities" and use the same psychological techniques commonly used by cults to cultivate authority and serve their own selfish purposes. The operation of the Center may reach the verge of financial ruin, but I assure you the lifestyle of the Longhills won't be threatened.

Educate yourself before you contribute to people like them.

http://www.culteducation.com/faq.html

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In response to John's comment: I'm not Joyce. Other people are onto the truth about the Swan Center. How many couples and families remained intact after you all were done "teaching" them? How many lives were disrupted by your authoritarian methods, or the New Age/right wing dogma you presented as the most enlightened spiritual path? I hope you and Rose are honest with yourselves about the damage you caused, for your own sakes. The shattered lives you left in your wake are better off without you.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

I have been volunteering at the Swan Center for over two years now and the feeling I get when I am out there is just amazing. The ranch is beautiful with all these wonderful animals who teach me every day to be a better person. Learning leadership skills to all is very rewarding and watching young kids handling a large horse with confidence is just an incredible thing to watch. I just can't imagine my life without the Swan center I love being there!
October 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 28, 2012

I have seen and been physically part of the programs that put horses and children from all backgrounds however painful their past may have been, together. When you see the magic that happens, the heal... more

October 24, 2014

Wow! Hard to believe, twenty-five years ago I was mucking the stalls of rescued horses and volunteering my help with their life changing programs. Now I'm a Board Member of Swan Center Outreach and my love and admiration for this organization for all it accomplishes for individuals and the community it serves, continues to grow. One visit is all it takes for anyone to fall in love with this very special organization.
June 28, 2012

I have seen and been physically part of the programs that put horses and children from all backgrounds however painful their past may have been, together. When you see the magic that happens, the healing, the joy of these encounters it is "felt" in your heart as much as it is observed. I have seen the look in a child's eyes mixed with a big grin on their face when they have broken through a fear, because of the loving partnership with a horse, and realized that I had witnessed their whole life changing for the better. This happens every single day at Swan Center's camps and classes. Words really cannot explain because there simply are not words to do so. The only words that describe Swan Center Outreach programs are; Love in Action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2012

Although I am presently a Board Member, I began as one of the many volunteers for the Swan Center Outreach and was fortunate enough for ten years to be active in programs with the children and horses . That's when the magic happens, that's when horses who had been starved, beaten and abandoned, then rehabilitated with love, care and kindness, meet with children who had suffered through many of the same abuses.Everyone involved, or who have taken part in the Swan Center's programs may eventually leave the area but they are forever changed individuals. Children are taught how very special they are and leave with that gift firmly planted in their hearts to last their lifetime. The programs at the Swan Center are educational, stressing the connection between humans and all animals. They are fun and filled with love for all who participate. It is a gift to be a part of this facility and to see the miracles that happen between children, adults and horses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Swan Center has made a huge difference in my life. The leadership makes every volunteer feel appreciated for every thing they do. I started volunteering with my 8 year old son to expose him to some of the work Swan Center does with kids and horses. I found we both got a lot more out of our experience than I ever expected. It has been a true blessing. The volunteer program training is amazing, teaching leadership and communication skills that we can use in our lives every day. This is an amazing place with still more potential.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers