Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
105 Reviews
1234.828575
Write A Review
October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Volunteering at the Swan Center Outreach opened up a life perspective that was elusive to me. The amazing connection between the rescued horses and us humans is something I wish I'd been able to experience years ago. I've learned to "think like a horse" and have come to understand what an enormous amount of volunteer time has to be in place to keep up with Swan's commitment to the community. To see firsthand what an impact the horses (and llamas, sheep, goats and Eyore the donkey) have on individuals who benefit from the Center leaves me with the feeling that there is good in this world.
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 31, 2013

I have been involved with Swan Center Outreach for over 25 years. I can only share that it has truly changed my life. To see the look on the little children's faces when they interact with our preciou... more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Swan Center Outreach is the most amazing place on the planet! The staff and volunteers are the best I've seen. I have personally witnessed the transformation of many children and adults as well as many of the beautiful animals that come to our facility. I sincerely believe that each person that has served at Swan Center Outreach has been given the greatest gift that is possible to receive. The loving animals and the gentle way that they serve the children and the hurt people is a blessing to behold. Thank you Swan Center Outreach, volunteers, staff, donors and sweet, sweet animals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with Swan Center Outreach for over 25 years. I can only share that it has truly changed my life. To see the look on the little children's faces when they interact with our precious animals is priceless. Learning about myself through the animals has been an amazing experience. The animals have such a way of reflecting what we have going on and they are an incredible mirror for us to learn about ourselves. I wish everyone could have the gift of coming to Swan Center Outreach!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place to be able to bring your kids to volunteer, and show them what it means to help an animal, and themselves, and teaches them leadership skills at the same time. Swan center also provided us with training before we were able to volunteer with the animals. It can be a wonderful family volunteer experience, that my children enjoy going to. Not to mention, the beautiful surroundings!!
October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Swan mountain is an organization that is truly selfless with staff, volunteers, and supporters giving of themselves time after time for the education of others and the good of the animals.
October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When a person finds the reason GOD created them and embraces it fully, you have something of rare and powerful beauty. The Longhills were designed to rescue these majestic beauties. I'm so thankful for people like them, and hope thier important work continues for all time. True inspiration!
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

In trying to decide where to donate, I look for many things. One that is most important is the selflessness of the people involved. They do what they can with what they have to make something work. Swan Center takes an idea, makes it work and then they continue to make it better.
Not only
does this benefit the animals and the people that are there for the programs but for the volunteers as well. It is a place where people of all ages can learn how to be a volunteer. My grand kids love it and will become good philanthropists as a result.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We engaged the Swan Center Outreach to conduct a leadership day for our Talent Management team on a beautiful summer day in the Rockies. The soul of the property, the animals, and the staff met us upon arrival and stayed with us throughout the day. We have taken lessons from that day and incorporated them into our Programs that we offer to our leadership teams across the company. We thank the Swan Center for everything they do for the animals, our community, and the environment.
October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The Swan Center tries to do great things for animals and children, but the people behind it are frauds. The monastery they ran in GA also served as a sanctuary for abused and neglected animals, but the methods they used to build and maintain the property were coercive and manipulative. There is something twisted about people who lie about their spiritual "abilities" and use the same psychological techniques commonly used by cults to cultivate authority and serve their own selfish purposes. The operation of the Center may reach the verge of financial ruin, but I assure you the lifestyle of the Longhills won't be threatened.

Educate yourself before you contribute to people like them.

http://www.culteducation.com/faq.html

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

In response to John's comment: I'm not Joyce. Other people are onto the truth about the Swan Center. How many couples and families remained intact after you all were done "teaching" them? How many lives were disrupted by your authoritarian methods, or the New Age/right wing dogma you presented as the most enlightened spiritual path? I hope you and Rose are honest with yourselves about the damage you caused, for your own sakes. The shattered lives you left in your wake are better off without you.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at the Swan Center for over two years now and the feeling I get when I am out there is just amazing. The ranch is beautiful with all these wonderful animals who teach me every day to be a better person. Learning leadership skills to all is very rewarding and watching young kids handling a large horse with confidence is just an incredible thing to watch. I just can't imagine my life without the Swan center I love being there!
October 24, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 28, 2012

I have seen and been physically part of the programs that put horses and children from all backgrounds however painful their past may have been, together. When you see the magic that happens, the heal... more

October 24, 2014

Wow! Hard to believe, twenty-five years ago I was mucking the stalls of rescued horses and volunteering my help with their life changing programs. Now I'm a Board Member of Swan Center Outreach and my love and admiration for this organization for all it accomplishes for individuals and the community it serves, continues to grow. One visit is all it takes for anyone to fall in love with this very special organization.
June 28, 2012

I have seen and been physically part of the programs that put horses and children from all backgrounds however painful their past may have been, together. When you see the magic that happens, the healing, the joy of these encounters it is "felt" in your heart as much as it is observed. I have seen the look in a child's eyes mixed with a big grin on their face when they have broken through a fear, because of the loving partnership with a horse, and realized that I had witnessed their whole life changing for the better. This happens every single day at Swan Center's camps and classes. Words really cannot explain because there simply are not words to do so. The only words that describe Swan Center Outreach programs are; Love in Action.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2012

Although I am presently a Board Member, I began as one of the many volunteers for the Swan Center Outreach and was fortunate enough for ten years to be active in programs with the children and horses . That's when the magic happens, that's when horses who had been starved, beaten and abandoned, then rehabilitated with love, care and kindness, meet with children who had suffered through many of the same abuses.Everyone involved, or who have taken part in the Swan Center's programs may eventually leave the area but they are forever changed individuals. Children are taught how very special they are and leave with that gift firmly planted in their hearts to last their lifetime. The programs at the Swan Center are educational, stressing the connection between humans and all animals. They are fun and filled with love for all who participate. It is a gift to be a part of this facility and to see the miracles that happen between children, adults and horses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers