Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
48 Reviews
1234.979175
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

Sustainable Harvest is a remarkable organization at a break-out stage in its evolution. After spending its first 12-14 years refining its mission and developing a proven process, it has been transformed into an even more effective and capable organization by creating an efficient executive team and small staff to support its dynamic founder. The work that SHI does in Central America is fantastic and the impact on program participants is profound. With a strong core organization and focus on good governance, SHI is well positioned to grow the impact of its outstanding program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to focus on refining the program delivery and measurement of results.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 9, 2014

more

July 9, 2014

I have been a board member of SHI for two years and am very impressed with the knowledge, dedication and spirit of cooperation of both the board and staff. SHI works to lift families out of poverty in four Central American countries by providing field trainers who promote sustainable farming methods instead of traditional slash and burn. Results to date have shown improved nutrition and added income which pays for school fees and other needs. Benefits to the planet include improving the farm soil, preventing erosion, planting trees and improving biodiversity. During my visit to Belize I saw the results first hand and got to meet the dedicated and enthusiastic field trainers. It is important to me that SHI uses residents of the country as field trainers rather than US experts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

figure out how to make our successful methods known to a wider audience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 8, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
September 10, 2013

SHI has been helping farmers in Central America for over 10 years. They have had a tremendous success rate in changing the lives of farmers and their crops and land. I traveled to Belize with them on... more

July 8, 2014

My husband and I went to Belize a few years back and volunteered alongside the Agricultural agents who work directly with the farmers and their familys. We met some of the most wonderful and appreciative people who benefit from all the work that SHi does with them and for them. AS a long time donor, it was great to directly meet the people who our money is going to help. SHI knows what it is doing, and spends my money well. They can see and measure their work to prove it works. Their goal is to continue to help more farmers and hopefully grow to help farmers in other Central American countries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

With more money, expand to help farmers in other countries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

SHI has been helping farmers in Central America for over 10 years. They have had a tremendous success rate in changing the lives of farmers and their crops and land. I traveled to Belize with them on a trip where we met the families that were working with SHI and who had experienced improvement in their annual income and changed the way they farm. I volunteered by helping to plant trees, built a solar latrine and a stove for a Maya family that previously had no stove. This stove used only 1/3 of the wood previously used and eliminated the smoke from their home which contributed to poor health.
They continue to do wonderful things in an area that needs their help and instruction.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope they can help farmers in additional countries.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SHI is my favorite charity. I heard about them about 10 years ago at a presentation given by Florence Reed the founder. SHe was a Peace Core worker in Panama originally, working with farmers to better their lives and crops. Now SHI works with farmers in 4 countries in Central America, teaching them to grow their crops in a more sustainable way, ie no more slash and burn, use natural fertilizers. The families they work with increase their annual income significantly and they are so appreciate of the help. Also the land is being used in a sustainable way.. I have gone to Belize with them on a Smaller World trip to see the work they do, and volunteered while there and also met many of the families that are helped by SHI. One person's dream and efforts can make a difference in many lives and this happened when Florence Reed started SHI.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Carole Wagner and I have been a supporter of SHI for close to 10 years. I have personally seen the good work they are doing in Belize as I went on a trip with them to volunteer and meet the families I had helped through donations. SHI was working with poor local farmers to change the way they grow crops, without fertilizer and no longer practicing slash and burn methods.The families had increased their annual income and were able to send their children to school, in addition to growing additional fruits and vegetables for their own consumption. The trip was most rewarding, and the families were appreciative of all we did to help them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2014

more

July 8, 2014

My wife and I have been on 7 trips to Central America as an "agricultural missionary" with Sustainable Harvest. We have visited farmers in all four of the SHI countries and have always been impressed with the high quality work done by SHI local staff in each country. Although other residents of these very poor communities try to migrate north for a better life, we have never met a family from the SHI program who needed to leave their country to survive. They have learned how to grow nutritious cash crops.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand the program exponentially. The methodology is excellent and the use of local agrarian extension workers makes the effort local.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 11, 2013

SHI is one honest organization working with farmers to improve their living conditions while restoring forests, teaching and implementing sustainable agriculture. The organization is so well directed ... more

July 7, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Still a wonderful organization and getting better every year. The level of commitment of everyone involved is unparalleled. Overhead is low, the funds are strategically spent, the results show. Audits are performed to ensure that the money goes where it is supposed to: the participant families. Thank you, SHI, for giving me hope!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow it so more communities and countries can benefit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

SHI is one honest organization working with farmers to improve their living conditions while restoring forests, teaching and implementing sustainable agriculture. The organization is so well directed that I donate time and money to it. The passion of everyone involved -from the founder to the chair of the board, the executive director, the country directors, volunteers and families is so great that it inspires me not only at the professional but at the personal level.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2014

more


3 previous reviews - show all
September 8, 2013

I visited some of SHI's Panamanian farms this past January and what I saw and heard was beyond what I'd imagined and very inspiring. One farmer, Demitrio Martinez, decided to farm because of bad expe... more

July 7, 2014

I finished a three-year board term with Sustainable Harvest International (SHI) in June 2014. I was honored to be invited to join their board and enjoyed my experience immensely. SHI's staff and board are passionate about the work they do and it is making a life-changing positive impact to the families they serve in Central America and to the biodiversity and health of our planet by saving our tropical forests and raising people out of poverty.

I'm continuing to volunteer for and donate to SHI because of the results they produce and I see the potential and possibilities for their work model to aid other countries and people. I hope you'll join me in supporting them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SHI knows its vision and the actions it needs to take to get there. They're doing that by improving their technical infrastructure and adding to their staffing when it makes business sense to do so. They need to continue doing what they are doing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I visited some of SHI's Panamanian farms this past January and what I saw and heard was beyond what I'd imagined and very inspiring. One farmer, Demitrio Martinez, decided to farm because of bad experiences working in commercial rice fields. The first year he rented the land and started immediately with SHI-Panama. Eventually his father bought the land for him. Because of his experience with the chemicals in the commercial rice fields, he was quite willing to work with sustainable, organic methods. This was hard work since it meant working steep slopes with very abused soil and lots of insects and hauling buckets of water up from a small stream during the dry season.

His number one income-producing crops are greens -- which he calls mustard greens and many other kinds of vegetables as well. He and his farm have been such a success that it is now a demonstration farm, with many other improvements including a fish pond and rice paddy.

SHI's board was there to tour the farm and to attend a graduation ceremony for Demetrio and 35 other families. It was wonderful to see so many women and men with their families graduating and we had a special ceremony, lunch and musical entertainment to top it off.

It was a remarkable day and a remarkable testament to the mission of SHI - providing farming families in Central America with the training and tools to preserve our planet's tropical forests while overcoming poverty. SHI is making our world a better place for all of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand its outreach to make more people aware of what its doing and how they can help.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2012

My name is Joy Urban and I and my husband, Steve, have been supporting SHI for 12 years. I have been a board member for less than a year. We support SHI because their work benefits all of us by teaching poor farmers to raise crops in sustainable ways it restore our planet's forests and lifts people out of proverty. We have seen SHI's work grow and evolve to meet the needs of more families in Central America. When families finish working with SHI they continue to use what they have learned and to share it with their neighbors. The SHI model is very empowering, impactful and innovative. We're proud of the work they do and are glad to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been supporting SHI for 12 years. The work they do is making a difference in people's lives by improving their nutrition and income and it also reverses the trend of deforestation. We share their passion for improving our planet and people and we know our contributions to them are well spent.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

I have been inspired by the vision, goals and work of Sustainable Harvest International ever since hearing its founder and executive director, Florence Reed, speak at the annual National Peace Corps Association conference in 2012 in Minneapolis. That afternoon Flo was awarded the Sargent Shriver award for creating a successful paradigm that has been used repeatedly for assisting subsistence farmers and their neighbors to improve crop yields and diversify harvests, using earth-friendly, community-friendly, and sustainable methods. At this time Sustainable Harvest is looking into extending its efforts from the countries of Belize, Panama, Nicaragua and Honduras in Central America to other continents. I am excited to have the opportunity to play some part in realizing this vision.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Assist it in extending its vision worldwide

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

I have been involved in not for profit organizations as a staff member and board member for over 40 years. Much of my work over the past 25 years has been in the international field, primarily in Africa, Asia, and Europe. I became aware of SHI through a contact with Flo Reed, SHI's founder. The more I researched the work that they are doing in four Central American countries, the more convinced I became that this was an organization worth supporting with my donations. As I became more knowledgeable about what SHI was able to accomplish, my commitment to SHI became even stronger and I agreed to serve on its board. SHI has a great leadership group in the US that works together in support of the programs in Central America. I have visited SHI programs in Panama and Belize and will be visiting SHI programs in Honduras in February 2015. I have seen firsthand how the SHI programs are transforming farming in these communities. It has virtually eliminated the slash and burn method of farming. It has created a far more diverse and healthier diet for the families. The crops are rotated and are grown using organic methods. It is a real win for preserving the rain forests, a win for the families in eating a far healthier diet, and finally a win producing food that can be sold at local markets, which also helps the financial position of the families.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was the Associate Director of the Peace Corps when SHI Founder Flo Reed was a Volunteer in Panama. She went on to do some amazing things. She has assembled a terrific board and staff that is dedicated to working up to five years with individual families, bringing them knowledge of how to transition from the terribly destructive 'slash and burn' farming to sustainable practices. This is essential for the conservation of forests, wildlife and water. It is also critical to the wellbeing of rural communities. SHI maintains low overhead, making sure that gifts and grants result in program field results in Belize, Panama, Honduras and Nicaragua. Thanks SHI for making the world a better place for all of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help it work in even more areas of the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My favorite non-profit organization! I love the concept of providing sustainable agricultural education to the people in Latin America. Having read a bit about tropical sciences including agriculture issues, I truly appreciate the mission of Sustainable Harvest International. As a donor I like how well they keep me continuously informed with the progress they make.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers