Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
December 21, 2013

more

December 21, 2013

I am a survivor of stage 4 breast cancer. I am alive today due to research funded by Komen. I chose to get involved after understanding what they actually do in the community and at the national level. They are the largest funder of breast cancer research outside of the federal government. Literally every research break through in treatment and diagnostics, including BRACA testing was done with Komen money. The reason the survival rate for early diagnosis of breast cancer moving from 75% to 97% in 25 years is due to the focus and determination of Komen and its volunteers.

The negative review about financials is not based in fact. I strongly suggest that anyone donating to a not for profit do their research. Please go to charity navigator which posts unbiased facts on charities including financial analysis of expenses to spend. You will see that Komen restricts expense spending to 12% for all of their affiliates so that we can grant the most amount of money possible at the local and national level. 75% of all funds raised by the local affiliates stay in the community for grants. 25% of funds raised go to support national research. These are facts and they are dictated by the charters of each affiliate and the national organization supported by financial statements.

Regarding the planned parenthood effect. Yes for 48 hours Komen national made a decision to stop funding not just planned parenthood but 5 other not for profits which were under federal investigation for misappropriation of funds. Komen doesn't want to be caught granting to a group who is found to misuse funds. After the strong backlash from affiliates, including a joint push from the 6 California affiliates the decision was reversed. This is actually a situation where the people spoke and the organization listened. What the motivation is really isn't the point here, the point is that the grant money continues and planned parenthood made over $3M in additional grants within 2 weeks of this event. So everyone wins here. There is no evil conspiracy and there is no bad player in this. We are all trying to support women and their breast health. Anyone supporting an end to breast cancer is doing wonderful work and should be supported.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start talking about what Komen does for women's health and stop talking about planned parenthood. This is a non issue that is over and was over almost 2 years ago. Get over it and move on!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 24, 2012

more

August 24, 2012

Horrible and rude leadership. I cannot view their most recent 990s, as the latest one shown in from 1997, but they are now in league with the American Book Drive, which has numerous collection bins set up in parking lots and shopping malls throughout California as well as offering home pick-ups of books, DVDs and CDs. The value of the items donated, which are sold on Amazon is probably well over a million dollars a year, from which only some thousands of dollars actually go to program services. Furthermore, they have been doing this in L.A. without the required police commission permit. And, more likely than not, the excessive fundraising expense for the small return probably does not appear on their IRS returns. Not only the high cost versus the low yield a poor charitable practice, that the fundraiser expense is probably not revealed makes for deceptive "transparency." When someone donates books or DVDs or CDs to them, they are under the impression that most of the revenue from their sale goes towards the cause. This is far from the case.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 2, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

This is an organization that has been taken over right-wing radicals who are pursuing political and religious ends over the primary goal of helping save lives of women. This decay of leadership has shown in their politically motivated decision to not fund Planned Parenthood or Cancer research based on any type of stem cell (even pre-existing lines) research. The decay in leadership is manifesting itself in their financials as well. most of the money you donate is not going to support people but rather for internal expenses and use. Don't donate to them. Donate directly to organizations that are working directly in research or care of cancer victims

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I'm appalled that you have refused to fund Planned Parenthood. Planned Parenthood was the only place I could go for screening for many years as a single mother. My daughters used Planned Parenthood when they were in college and no longer qualified for my healthcare benefits. Any future contributions will be to Planned Parenthood, not this Foundation. If I could have selected less than one star for the overall rating, I would have.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers