Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
668 Reviews
1.303892345
| 1 ... 3 4 5...34 |
Write A Review
February 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I know so many people who like myself gave time sweat and money to this organization in the belief that they wanted to help all women beat breast cancer. Now I find out that they are choosing not to fund one of the most accessible screening facilities for those in need. This is not responsible stewardship of the public trust. This is reprehensible and abusive to those whose hard work and generosity were offered based on your previous operating standards. We will find other organizations to support. Shame on you and your board of directors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Susan G. Komen has shown their political ties, putting religion and politics before the health of women. Having lost close friends and family to breast cancer, I've obviously been a huge supporter of SGK in the past. While I am thankful that the decision against Planned Parenthood has been reversed, I fear it may simply be lip service in an effort to stop the massive outcry against SGK. Furthermore, those responsible for the decision against Planned Parenthood still sit on the board of Susan G Komen. Without major change within the organization, their image is permanently tainted. My donations and time will be redirected to Planned Parenthood and other, ethical organizations (Doctor's Without Borders, etc).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My friend, a pro-life advocate, walked 60 miles in Seattle and raised $2500 for this charity. I now hear that you contribute money to Planned Parenthood. What in the world does that have to do with breast cancer? I can no longer donate with my conscience intact and I am sure my friend will not walk again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

This should say "past donor." Even though you reversed your decision, I will NEVER, EVER support your organization. You've shown your true colors. I'm 26, so I would have a lot of years of contributions ahead of me too. My hard-earned cash is going to Planned Parenthood. They are actually THERE for women when we need them the most, and without judgement too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

There are no politics in breast cancer. Because several close friends have died from breast cancer, I gave money to the SGK Foundation through friends doing the walk for a cure. However, I am dismayed to learn that they are politically motivated in their grants. I ask that Karen Handel, a politician who doesn't seem able to change her hat, step down from her position with Komen. Sue Bishop

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Letting petty politics get in the way of helping women is not something that a responsible charity should allow. I'll no longer be supporting their walks for the cure. I'd rather give my money to an organization that puts women's health above politics.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Never again will Komen get donations from me. And all those pink ribbon products, forget it, if there is an alternative product, that is what I will buy. Yes, you reversed your politically motivated decision, but I want to support an organization that serves women, regardless of what the politicians say or do. Planned Parenthood gets all of my donations from now on.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Frankly, it doesn't matter what the politics of sbk are. The point is that there should not be any politics period in an organzation like this. First they cave in to the right wing crazies then two days later to the left wing reactionaries. If you are in favor of pph then give them your money directly. If not, then give to another organzation - anyone but sbk. They can no longer be trustedt to manage my donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The organization clearly does not have clear goals or strong leaders. The fact that they pulled funding from Planned Parenthood, an organization that provides lifesaving healthcare to women in poor and under-served communities, was a politically driven decision. It showed that they lack conviction in what was supposed to be their core mission of saving women's lives. Now, they have changed their decision, again due to political and media pressure. This was the right thing to do, but it again shows that the organization is being poorly managed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have heard of mission drift, but this is mission hijacking! I think the market for pink baubles is saturated and my money will go to more focused organizations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers