Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
670 Reviews
1.302992345
| 1 ... 32 33 34 | Next
Write A Review
February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

It is absolutely despicable to see such an important charity as Komen putting someone in charge who is furthering the right-wing agenda at women's expense. Cutting funding to such an important group as Planned Parenthood because of far right ideology is utterly appalling and will be devastating to all women in this country. Women who cannot afford out-of-control spiraling health care premiums rely on Planned Parenthood. I will not give a dime to Komen until they publicly acknowledge their mistake and change their policy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Apparently the Susan G. Komen Foundation believes that Planned Parenthood patients don't deserve a cure.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

If I could give zero stars, I would. I will never again donate, never walk again in another event, and I will spread the word that Komen caved to right-wing politics in its refusal to fund Planned Parenthood's work with breast cancer screenings. As a breast cancer survivor myself, I know the importance of screenings, and I also know that many young women I teach rely on Planned Parenthood for these important services. Shame on you, all of you, for this clearly political stance. I've defended the practices and organization of Susan G. Komen in the past, but never again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 2, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/12/07/komen-foundation-charities-cure_n_793176.html

I am refusing to walk in their Race for the Cure in Denver today because of this. I cannot support this "charity" if they are going to bully others in such a way. My friends and family who have either
died from or are surviving breast cancer deserve better.
March 15, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 15, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

Susan K. Komen for the Cure denies that there is any connection between ingestion of BPA and breast cancer, or any other deleterious effect. Please research BPA: if you do, you will find that it is an endocrine disruptor, classified as a xenoestrogen which acts like estrogen on susceptible tissues, such as breast cells; also on developing brain and nervous systems in fetuses, infants and children, because BPA is used to line baby bottles, sippy cups, and similar products. It is also used in the production of disposable water bottles; used to line metal food cans (especially dangerous in the case of acidic food such as tomatoes and sauces which contain tomatoes, because the acidic food leaches more BPA out of the lining and into the food). The Komen organization takes the line of the chemical industry's mouthpiece to say that there is no evidence of a connection. Canada has declared BPA a toxic chemical; many European countries ban its use in baby bottles and similar products. Komen's position is entirely based on marketing, not science. I will never give them another nickel!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Haven't needed it, thank heaven.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Force a very large increase in the percentage of funds it spends on cancer research---is 80% too much? (They now spend just a little over 20%.) Cut the $15,000,000/year payroll and the overlarge salaries of its executives. Require absolute transparency in their grants and awards as well as "overhead" spending.

January 4, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2011
5 people found this review helpful

This organization is currently busy suing other charities who are also interested in finding a cure for breast cancer over the words "for a cure". They seem to feel they have a trademark on those words in that order and have spent millions in legal actions to persuade other entities to cease using the phrase, just pathetic. Don't send them a dime.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I walked and raised $2735.00 for this organization. What a waste of my time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut it down

| 1 ... 32 33 34 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers