Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
670 Reviews
1.302992345
Write A Review
February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am so disappointed in this organization's decision to stop participating with Planned Parenthood. They work every day across the country providing breast cancer screening and exams for women, at little or no cost to patients. You should be working to support women and our health, not to further your own political agenda.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I have donated many times to women running races for the cure, and have bought "pink" even when I preferred something else. No more. Their decision to de-fund breast cancer screening and mammograms for 770,000 women per year shows that they care more about politics than women's health.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am absolutely outraged that the Komen Foundation has withdrew its funding to Planned Parenthood and caved under pressures from right-wingers. Doing so is going to keeps hundreds of thousands of in-need women from receiving breast-health services. This move shows the true colors of the Komen Foundation and reminds me of the Madeline Albright quote: "There's a special place in hell for women who don't help other women." Just despicable, SGKF. Never again will this organization get one cent from me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

PP has not been convicted of anything. In fact, they have not formally been accused by our system of jurisprudence. Clearly this is politically motivated by right wing and Republican groups. My family has agreed that the millions donated to Komen over the years will be no more.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Apparently Susan B Komen is no longer dedicated to ending deaths from breast cancer. Now it says that only certain groups should be allowed to provide the screenings that save lives. I will not only refuse to contribute to this group in the future, but I will also make sure I avoid contributing indirectly by participating in any event that donates the sums raised to Susan B Komen. Breast cancer does not discriminate by religion. Neither should any group fighting it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Until this charity backs off its anti-choice stance and begins supporting Planned Parenthood -- which is about SO much more than birth control -- I will not donate, will not support, and will actively spread the information about their politically motivated actions to anyone who might be considering supporting them. I'm ashamed of them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately Susan G. Komen has become a right wing political machine. Politics should have been left out of the Planned Parenthood decision. I can no longer ethically support them .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

DO NOT DONATE TO THIS FOUNDATION...... I have been a big (

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

As a past donor, breast cancer survivor and participant in several Race for the Cure events, I have been increasingly concerned with the Komen pink ribbon on so many products that are counterproductive for preventing breast cancer (like non-organic yogurt with rGBH, hormones and other likely carcinogens). But I remained supportive mostly because of the support Komen has given for services to low-income women. NOW I read that Komen has pulled its funding for low-income women's screening away from Planned Parenthood! What a totally anti-women move! I am OUTRAGED, and I will never contribute to Komen again. My money will now go directly to Planned Parenthood.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was a donor; I no longer will be one. The dollars I would've donated to SGK will now go directly to Planned Parenthood. The politicization of women's healthcare in this country is appalling, and now that SGK is participating in it means that I will no longer have any dealings with SGK. Planned Parenthood provides valuable services to low-income women and families, and for SGK to pull their funding is short-sighted and proves that SGK's focus is not about preventing or curing breast cancer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers