Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
670 Reviews
1.302992345
Write A Review
February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Wish there was a choice of former donor! Here's what Komen needs to do to win back my support: CLEAN HOUSE by getting rid of staff who care more about politics than women's health: EMPOWER health advocates & professionals by hiring more senior leadership from that background; BACK OFF other crazy political decisions like stem cell research ban. It's sad that they have so betrayed their own mission.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

You lost my money because of your politicizing health concerns.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I will never donate to this foundation again. I cannot believe so little money is actually used to fund cancer research. With this foundation pretty much everywhere you turn in the United States, there should already have been a cure. But, 16 people in the foundation are paid almost 4 million dollars a year. 4 MILLION DOLLARS FOR 16 PEOPLE. Disgusting.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being a fundraiser.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I thought my money would go towards actual research, but it's unlikely that it did.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Yes: not to donate.

February 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Given recent events MUCH more scrutiny needs to go into assessing where SGK is putting their money and who is benefiting. The fact that they oppose stem cell research and their recent attempt to defund Planned Parenthood has made it VERY CLEAR that they are operating from a political agenda--the hiring of V.P. Karen Handel is confirmation of that. Politics has no place in research or providing heath care services so SGK will never receive donations from me again. They have shown their true colors and it's not "Pretty in Pink"...it's partisan politics.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I have walked in the Susan G Komen 3-Day in San Diego and supported a team of walkers for the last three years. I will never give to this organization again. 1. They require an exorbitant amount ($2300!) for event participation and afterward have a history of holding donations and making it hard for walkers to meet fundraising deadlines. It happened to me personally in 2009. 2. The organization which purports to be about a cure should spend more than 20% supporting research. 3. A credible national non-profit would not be wasting money on frivolous lawsuits suing small non-profits for their use of the phrase 'for the cure'. 4. Finally, their decisions to cease funding stem cell research and Planned Parenthood's' breast screenings for low income women seals the deal for me. Even though they later reversed the decision to fund PP they are not committed to funding the exams in the future and it seems like they are more about politics than women. Cancer is not about left or right, both breasts get it just the same. They are not about a cure, and as such, they do not deserve my money.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

No more donations to KOMEN ever. Particularly galling was reading that they're opposing ALL STEM CELL research and have pulled funding from various research centers for same...which clearly informs us that they could not possibly be interested in "finding a cure" for much of anything. Along with their 81% "overhead"...they belong in the dumpster along with Ari, Handel, Karl and the rest of these political Opportunists.. and good riddence...Health care is too critical to further politicize --take PROFIT out of humane quality health care for all.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

The recent events offer a good lesson in the need to check out charities (especially large ones) and not just accept their PR statement and past history. Changes can be made quickly, and sometimes not even made public. Henceforth I shall always check out the spending of charities, especially administrative costs and political focus. And despite the potential course reversal to support Planned Parenthood, I will now make my woman's health donations to smaller local charities. This one is too big to be properly accountable.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 4, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Since Komen's political agenda has come to light, I have not only removed them from my favorites charities here, but I will NEVER donate to them again. Politics has NO place in women's health issues. By their actions of defunding Planned Parenthood and then giving us some lame answer(lie) as to why they reversed their decision, they have violated a trust with their supporters that as far as I am concerned, can never be repaired, I will continue to support the National Breast Cancer Foundation and the Breast Cancer Site. Shame on Karen Handel, Ari Fleischer and especially Nancy Brinker for pulling partisan politics into their "mission" to find a cure for breast cancer. And it's not just me as as a supporter who feels this way, friends of mine who have had breast cancer were angry and hurt by their shameful, hypocritical and ignorant behavior. The damage has been done by and to this one lauded organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am disturbed and disgusted to see an organization turning something so basic, so necessary, so fundamental as health into a political and profitable pawn. It's bad enough that Nancy Brinker admits is a Republican donor and ambassador, but to hire and pay politicians and Republican strategists like Karen Handel and Bush former press secretary Ari Fleischer to help guide their policy on de-funding Planned Parenthood and thus de-funding breast cancer screenings... I am disturbed and disgusted that the Susan G. Komen for the Cure foundation has the gall to call themselves a partisan "non-profit" - while raking in lavish salaries and lifestyles, and paying political strategists. I will NEVER support any event, product, or time for the Komen foundation ever again. Board members that fly around in first class, hold lavish parties, get plastic surgery with their salaries, taking money away from research. For shame, Nancy Brinker. You have sold your sister out for a personal profit. I will never buy anything that bears the Komen foundation's name on it. I support breast cancer research and will donate elsewhere. But I'm left to wonder why with as much power and wealth the Komen foundation has, that a cure has yet to be found. Perhaps it is because it will put Brinker out of a job, and put an end to her half a million a year salary (plus benefits).

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Komen is a political right-wing front masquerading as a charity

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers