Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
670 Reviews
1.302992345
Write A Review
February 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Well you must decide what sorts of organizations you wish to get in bed with. By your recent decision to re-up with Planned Parenthood, you've decided to get in bed with perhaps the most execrable, disgusting, wicked organization on the planet, one that killed nearly 400,000 unborn children last year. You've taken my last donation to your organization. Good luck with that.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a long-term supporter of your organization, out of respect for the bravery my grandmother showed in confronting and overcoming breast cancer. She remained positive and believed in her ability to overcome this horrible disease, just like countless other breast cancer survivors -- but also like those who fought the good fight only to courageously lose it. What you have done is a dishonor to each and every one of these individuals. You allowed an important mission to be railroaded by what appears to be one person's political agenda. In doing that, you politicized and compromised your mission. Until I see evidence of better judgment, sound business practices, and a sincere commitment to eradicating breast cancer, I can no longer support you. This was not a decision I made lightly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012

more

February 10, 2012

i am very disappointed that they would put politics ahead of breast health. I no longer believe that I can support this organization's LT strategic goals.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 9, 2012

more

February 9, 2012

Cowards. You made a proper decision to stop supporting abortion proponents, then you caved to the pressure they and their bloody boosters put on you. You compromised your principles, either initially or subsequently. In either case, no money ever again from me.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 8, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 8, 2012

I have been a donor and supporter of Koman for at least 8 years. I had believed that support of patients, survivors and research was done with fact based information and support services being more important than Koman or ideology. Not So. Koman has hired top managers who have more concern for their religious believes and political views than they do for womens health. These people were not hired blindly! Komen is using my donations to pay these people, so I will not again donate to Koman unless it purges itself of all top leadership and refocuses on supporting women and not some religious / political power grab. I can no longer know for sure how my dollars are spent. I will give elsewhere. peace - jimr

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Family and friends with breast cancer ongoing

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clear out all top managers and make the founder a spokesperson with no management duties.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What would you tell others about this organization?

Watch out for a religious takeover that will treat women as second class beings.

February 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

so now sbk is on a witch hunt to purge republican leaning employees. Will you people never learn? Stay out of politics!!! Forcing an employee to resign for their politics is just as bad as denying pp for politics. This organization has become a sham for big business and politicians. And why do they not rebut anything here? For the same reason that they have shut down all criticism on their own message boards. I am so angry for being dupped by this organization for years - my head could explode.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 7, 2012

more

February 7, 2012

Well after all of the recent events have shown a bright spot light on them I will never...and I mean never buy a pink ribbon anything...nor will I give or walk ever again...I can't believe what they have been doing...I feel ripped off and I want my donation back...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the board members.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

3 day walk

Why did you make your donation at this time?

it was the right thing to do

What would you tell others about this organization?

To never donate to them again.

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I will no longer support Susan G. Komen. The decision to not fund Planned Parenthood because it was under investigation has been shown to be politically motivated. For example, there are other organizations that Susan G. Komen continues to fund yet are currently under investigation (e.g., Yale University, Penn State, Harvard). If Susan G. Komen really did not want to fund organizations that are under investigation then they would not fund these other organizations as well. I will find another breast cancer non-profit to support. I don't care that Susan G. Komen reversed its decision to block funding to Planned Parenthood. I no longer trust the people running the organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I will never donate to SGK again. Political agenda, misuse of funds to sue smaller non-profits over the use of the term "the cure". REALLY? That's where the money goes to, to sue other charities to 'protect the brand'?! Despicable. They should have their non-profit status pulled for that! And Nancy Brinker making $417,171 per year (the next top five execs pull in over $200k each!). Time to pull the lid off this scam organization. I'll give my money to better charities (American Cancer Society for example)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

In light of recent events (2012), it is time for Charity Navigator to take a hard look at the actions of this reprehensible organization. The Komen Foundation is not working in service of its mission, rather, it has politicized and capitalized upon the suffering of women and their families. The actions of the leadership (particularly the Vice President) have endangered the organization, potentially putting it at risk of losing its 501(c)3 designation. Furthermore, Komen's fundraising strategy of marketing any and all products with a pink ribbon (pink handgun anyone?) has put them in bed with companies who produce items known to cause cancer-- Komen's Pink Ribbon perfume contains chemicals knowns to cause cancer. They have exerted significant influence in limiting public access to information on the cuases, and cures for cancer. This organization has spent a significant part of its budget and staff time taking legal action against any other organization that dare use the term "For the Cure" in their marketing. NONE of these actions speak of an organization worth one dollar of your hard earned money. Give local, and pass on donating to this corporation masquerading as a charity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers