Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
668 Reviews
1.303892345
Previous | 1 2 3...34 |
Write A Review
November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
February 22, 2012

Without Komens grants my sister would no longer be here. I doubt that the people writing these reviews have ever had BC. more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Susan G Komen has saved my sisters life. I will ALWAYS support them.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Without Komens grants my sister would no longer be here. I doubt that the people writing these reviews have ever had BC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Does anyone remember the perfume this "non-profit" came out with? The plan was to give a percentage of proceeds to Komen after 1 million on sales. At sales of $900,000.00 the perfume was taken off the market because of a toxic chemical. Still not my biggest complaint. Why does a county in Georgia raise more money for Komen and still not have any resources for breast cancer patients? The marketing is brilliant as it plays on people's emotions and implies that their donations will actually find a cure. The money goes towards more marketing and making sure women get mammograms; not to the research of what causes breast cancer. Why not research thermal mammography? It is the new way to detect cancer cells without radiation. It would be nice to see this foundation LIVE UP TO IT"S PROMISE!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

July 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I came to this site to leave a positive comment and I can't believe how people are so ignorant and let their feelings and political believes trash such a wonderful organization. I know this subject is old news now, but what I think is, 1. Susan G. Komen was not using a political agenda, but following rules. 2. I have nothing against PP and have always supported all the great things they have done for low income families, but I do not think they have the RIGHT to demand money, wether these are grants or donations from ANYONE. IF Susan G. Komen stoped this grant, then PP should have gone to someone else, and not act like a little cry baby an tell on them. Very immature on their part! I am a young breast cancer survivor, and will continue my support to Susan G. Komen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 21, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I watched Ambassador Nancy Brinker on Andrea Mitchell Reports a few months ago when she was called to answer for her charity's shameful actions. I have contributed to Komen through fundraising efforts in the past but will do so no longer after watching Ambassador Brinker's terrible defense of what was a political agenda. Brinker should be ashamed for the resulting fallout which has cost money needed for breast cancer research and treatment, but I agree with many others when I say I can not and will not entrust my money with an organization willing to sidestep their mission to use their money toward a political agenda. Last I checked, cancer affects democrats and republicans equally. Ambassador Nancy Brinker is no ambassador for breast cancer awareness and progress. She is nothing more than using the memory of her sister to raise money for political theater. The millions who have supported Komen in the past, including myself, have been swindled by Brinker, and the reactions seen in the last few months have confirmed that Brinker's agenda hurts the fight to end breast cancer. Komen for the Cure's legal actions against other breast cancer charities is also shameful, and I will point out to anyone who wishes to use pink and the pink ribbon to show breast cancer awareness that they are the symbols of a terrible charity. Give to other charities. Komen should lose it's non-profit status for supporting a political agenda.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

An organization that is supposed to exemplify and celebrate life should not be giving money to the largest purveyor of death via abortion, Planned Parenthood. I am sure Komen could have given an equal or greater amount to some worthy organization that does the same few screenings that Planned Parenthood performs but does not murder babies. I did not know Komen gave money to Planned Parenthood prior to the recent flip-flop, but now that I do know, Komen will no longer be receiving my support. I am sure I can find another cancer foundation that does not give money to murderers. Some who read this may disagree, but if any of you who are parents and have seen the ultrasounds of your children prior to their being born can look me in the eye and say that unborn babies are not deserving of the same protections as others, I will call you a liar. God is watching.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As I always done in the past, I have donated to Kid's in distress, The Susan B Komen Foundation, because in the past they always have done a excellent job providing the the people that need the care the most. I will still give to Kid's in Distress, but from now on, the Susan B Komen, will not give another dime of my Money, when they let politic or their own personal view play a role to what they are going to do with the money that is donated to their charity, especially when you donate and you know what causes you are donating to, and then they change it in midstream. Guess what, they money coming in will stop, just like mine will. And the money some of the people are making in the organization, is ridiculous, I will choose my charities more wisely in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the CEO,and all the Cronies that have their own agenda in mind, or because of political reasons

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

It's one of the leading causes of death in women, and I have a few friends diagnosed with this disease

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I Didn't, last one I made was through United Way, but that will never happen AGAIN

What would you tell others about this organization?

Yes, tell them to stay away from this organization, and if they want to donate, send it to Planned Parenthood.

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I will never again give them money. They refuse to acknowledge the overwhelming medical research that proves the link between breast cancer and abortion. They continue to allow planned parenthood federation (PPF) to use them as a smoke screen to misinform people into thinking PPF does mammograms and breast screenings when they are primarily a billion dollar abortion industry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Wow, tough spot you are in. You've manage to anger both womens' reproductive rights advocates, as well as the nutbars that think they can tell another human being what to do with her body. The resignation of Nancy Brinker is the only way to salvage this thing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Well you must decide what sorts of organizations you wish to get in bed with. By your recent decision to re-up with Planned Parenthood, you've decided to get in bed with perhaps the most execrable, disgusting, wicked organization on the planet, one that killed nearly 400,000 unborn children last year. You've taken my last donation to your organization. Good luck with that.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a long-term supporter of your organization, out of respect for the bravery my grandmother showed in confronting and overcoming breast cancer. She remained positive and believed in her ability to overcome this horrible disease, just like countless other breast cancer survivors -- but also like those who fought the good fight only to courageously lose it. What you have done is a dishonor to each and every one of these individuals. You allowed an important mission to be railroaded by what appears to be one person's political agenda. In doing that, you politicized and compromised your mission. Until I see evidence of better judgment, sound business practices, and a sincere commitment to eradicating breast cancer, I can no longer support you. This was not a decision I made lightly.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers