Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
670 Reviews
1.302992345
| 1 2 3 4...21 |
Write A Review
February 4, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

The genie is out of the bottle-this "charity" ignores its own mission statement for political reasons. Not only have they defunded breast exams from Planned Parenthood, but they have also defunded research grants to esteemed organizations like Johns Hopkins because JH does stem cell research. What kind of charity hires a "senior policy advisor" who failed as a gubenatorial candidate, and whose platform was to defund Planned Parenthood? This is supposed to be about ending breast cancer, not a right wing politically driven agenda.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Extremely disappointing. They recently revoked funding from a women's health organization, Planned Parenthood, which would have paid for thousands of breast cancer screenings. This money was specifically earmarked for breast cancer support, NOT abortions, so revoking it does nothing but hurt women who could otherwise have been screened for cancer. The SGK Foundation is more interested in protecting their brand identity and getting money than in actually serving women's health.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 4, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

I used to love SGK. I did the Race, and also encouraged over 100 fellow employees to join me for each of five years. I've lost family and dear friends to breast cancer. I'm also a Republican, and a woman. And...one of the 1 out of 5 who were helped by Planned Parenthood, when I was young, single, uninsured, and making a small salary. Now I am none of those, and I can give my money where I choose. The past few days have been full of revelations about SGK, the least of which are the enormously bloated salaries, the whopping administrative expenses, the shockingly small amount actually spent on research, the disgusting partnership with KFC, the carcinogenic perfume, and...meddling in politics. They can lie all they want, but nobody is really so stupid as to believe them. Just read their internal memos, which are available on the Web. They deserve to lose their non-profit status immediately. They have clearly violated the terms of the IRS rules. How arrogant to think that they could get away with this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire Nancy Brinker, Karen Handel, and other political right-wingers on the board. Rehire Jennifer Luray and Mollie Williams. But, honestly, I don't think SGK can be saved, even after cleaning house. I think bcrf.org is MUCH more worthy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Horrible decision-making based around a political agenda, spearheaded by Brinker and Handel, both hell bent on causing as much damage to Planned Parenthood, affecting 20% of American women that PP serves. SGK foundation's recent actions prove they favor politics and militant political agendas of a few niche groups over the health and welfare of millions of women, who need medical and health assistance--often lifesaving.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Good idea to reverse your decision. Unfortunately, the right wing reactionaries on your board remain.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Well now that SBK has changed their mind. Largely because "Money Talks," bull S_ _ _ walks. Are you all going to change your mind and tell everyone how great that organization is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I have walked for Susan Koman, I have donated but I will not in the future. They lost their way when they allowed politics to cloud their mission. Our government has become dysfunctional due to right wing politics who have tried to "bully" their agenda. There is no place in healthcare for bullies!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

February 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Nancy Brinker, head of this racket, pays herself 450k a year, courtesy of your donations. She's a multi-millionaire now, thanks to the generosity of donors. But she's not selfish, she's been contributing many hundreds of thousands of dollars to the far-right - the RNC, George W. Bush, even Rick Santorum.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

Komen's good will was built over years and squandered overnight by right wing extremism. Nice work. And those responsible are STILL on the board?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2012

more

February 3, 2012

Fire Karen Handel. She hurts your ability to raise money for a good cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers