Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
670 Reviews
1.302992345
| 1 ... 19 20 21 | Next
Write A Review
March 30, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 30, 2011
9 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately a lot of people are buying into the press being generated by SGK in regards to their trademarking. As someone who is a part of an organization that has been affected by their "cease and desist" letters for having the words "a cure" in their slogan, I can attest that SGK is in fact man handling smaller organizations and costing them quite a bit of money. While they may not have gone to court over this - because the smaller organizations cannot afford the legal fees and would rather put their money to use in finding a cure - they have threatened these other organizations.

I know many breast cancer survivors who are also against SGK and their actions.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the fact that another group had to completely rebrand their organization to avoid potential lawsuits by SGK for trying to find a cure for their own disease!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make them smaller and remind them of what the mission of this foundation initially was set up for.

January 31, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 31, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

Dylan -

I will say it again. There are several breast cancer research foundations who put over 70% of your donations towards research.

If you can tell me of a way that is not research that will allow us all to find a cure, please enlighten us all.

Komen foundation puts
only 20.22% of revenue into "Research For A Cure"

A foundation that has re-aligned every aspect of their business to portrait that they are "For the cure" should put a LOT more than 20.22% of your donation into the only way we will ever find a cure, don't you think?

They spend more money on "other expenses" like office supplies and new leather chairs for fancy offices than they do on Research - that in itself is sickening for a foundation who claims their mission is so unique and so critical that they have to sue other foundations for using the phrase "for the cure".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Only 20.22% of your donation is spent on Research.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Reduce the $15,000,000++ payroll, eliminate the $5,000,000++ travel expense.

January 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

There are a lot of negative press out there against Susan G. Komen. For my breast cancer fighting advocates, and possible future donors out there, I want to provide some facts about the Susan G. Komen organization as provided by 3rd party non-profit charity site, Charity Navigator. This comes on the heels of the news that SGK is spending fundraising money on lawsuits to defend their trademark, "For the cure" and the color pink. At first, I was appalled at the thought that SGK was spending my hard earned fundraising money on preventing other charities from using their phrase (we're assuming these are legitimate charities of course). I really just want to provide some facts and a couple of articles that were shared to me.

1) Charity Navigator site for SGK
http://www.charitynavigator.org/index.cfm?bay=search.summary&orgid=4509
Without registering for an account you can at least see the current year's analysis. They receive a 4-star rating. The highest CN assigns. I signed up for a free account with CN and that 4-star rating goes back as far as I am able to see with their site which is to 2007. If you're considering donating to another charity, look them up first.

2) http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748703700904575390950178142586.html?mod=WSJ_WSJ_US_News_6

A noteworthy snippet follows:

"Other charities say they must aggressively pursue look-alikes because brand confusion costs them sizable donations. A pair of charities dedicated to helping injured veterans has been locked in a three-year court battle over $2.2 million in donations to the website woundedwarriors.org.
Wounded Warriors Inc., an Omaha charity, owned the site. But the Wounded Warrior Project of Jacksonville, Fla., a larger group, contends that scores of its supporters donated money to the site thinking it was going to the Florida charity. In court filings, the Wounded Warrior Project says celebrity endorsements for its group created publicity that prompted donors to mistakenly contribute to the other charity's website."

If you subscribe to that school of thought, is Komen really wasting that money? I ask for the sake of debate.

3) http://www.statesmanjournal.com/article/20110107/COLUMN0101/101070339/1066/COLUMN

Post your comments. You don't have to agree, but don't jump to conclusion before you have all the facts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've met people that have been provided mammograms at the expense of the Susan G. Komen organization. That mammogram found breast cancer, and had it not been for the money we raise, they would likely be on their death bed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the awareness that men can get breast cancer too. While the chances are much less, not many men realize they are at risk too.

December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 4, 2010

This organization provides excellent cover for the real question, which is, "Why do women GET breast cancer?". With sympathy for those who have gotten it, I must say that this question has largely bee... more

December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Breast cancer is a well documented symptom that will never be "cured" by an organization passing through the absolute legal minimum of dollars required, 20%, to be called a non-profit. I mostly feel for the great people in this organization who are misled. In just the past year, it has become known that lack of vitamin D, determined by a serum test, is a better marker for breast cancer than a mammogram. An uncomfortable parallel here might be the person who hits their thumb with a hammer, and then looks for a cure for a broken thumb...they get one star because your system won't allow a negative rating.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2010
4 people found this review helpful

This organization provides excellent cover for the real question, which is, "Why do women GET breast cancer?". With sympathy for those who have gotten it, I must say that this question has largely been answered; the mammary glands are especially susceptible repositories for all those ingredients on that package of 'food' that you can't pronouce, and don't exist in nature. Add to this the removal of one of your greatest defenses against breast cancer, Vitamin D (which we are now discovering), or more generally speaking, a healthy diet. What Susan's sister, bless her heart, is doing amounts to asking the foxes for help to determine why all the chickens are dying. Read "The Metabolic Typing Diet".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

virtually every publication i pick up recently. However, when i go to find out how many women with a diagnosis of breast cancer were or are vitamin D(etc) deficient, all the people that Susan's sister are funding for 'help' get really quiet..?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to stop this ersatz 'search for a cure' to something that is largely self-inflicted, and help educate the women at risk.

| 1 ... 19 20 21 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers