Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
668 Reviews
1.303892345
| 1 2 3...21 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 25, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

It is amazing how many people are upset that the Komen foundation gave money to Planned Parenthood. Does it not matter that planned parenthood administers a large percentage of mammograms to people that can not afford to go anywhere else? Does it not matter that the reason for Komens donation was because of this statistic? Does anyone wonder what may happen to the women that will not get the mammograms that they need for early detection because of such idiocy. Shouldn't these women's health be more important than the construed reasoning of a bunch of abortion activists. Look at the bigger picture people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

This organization uses paid spokespeople. I can not see sending my dollars to people to speak out about cancer . You either do this because you believe or don't do it at all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Never donate to this charity. My mother suffered for years with cancer and we did our best to get help of any kind. However the administration is fat and happy with their 6 figure+ incomes and so are the pharmaceutical companies. Look at the numbers! How far do you think the money that actually made it into medical research industry went last year? A month of equipment leasing and perhaps some towards facilities? If you feel you must donate, do so for educating people about the dangers of fast food and processed food. A good diet reduces cancer risks... period. Why not help prevent instead of lining the pockets of those causing the problem and those profiting from the aftermath. Our country is suffering and the farmers that were growing healthy foods are losing their homes and land to the factory farms for corporations. Entire forests and native tribes have been destroyed or displaced for the McFood type industry. The conditions are so horrible they can't even raise the livestock in this country. The garbage and waste generated in production and sales of said food OUTWEIGHS THE "FOOD" PRODUCT 4 to 1! Put down you cell phones and think people. Look around at all the kids in today's society. Something must be done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Expensive commercials and hype.

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
February 22, 2012

Without Komens grants my sister would no longer be here. I doubt that the people writing these reviews have ever had BC. more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Susan G Komen has saved my sisters life. I will ALWAYS support them.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Without Komens grants my sister would no longer be here. I doubt that the people writing these reviews have ever had BC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

$60M in admin and fund raising out of $300M seems very top heavy to me. The bigger the more cloudy where the money goes. How about some details on where all the $600M has gone? How are we doing on the cure? The cause is solid, not sure about the agency.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 13, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Strange that the Charity Navigator rating also indicates that Ms. Brinker is not compensated as CEO, yet a recent report (2/13/12) from The Daily Beast states she earns $ 400K plus there are questionable expense reimbursements from 2007 - 2009 of over $ 133K for speech writing expenses, certain travel and office costs during a time that she was a "federal employee" serving as Chief of Protocol at the State Department. According to this report , "At the Komen foundation, as the chief executive officer and founder, Brinker is approved for first-class travel, according to the foundation’s tax records. . . Says one former employee: “How many mammograms could you buy for those first-class tickets?”

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012

more

February 10, 2012

Sad to see you fall to the pressure of left-wing extremists!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

"29 out ot 38 worldwide epidemiological studies show an increased
risk of breat cancer of approximately 30% among women who have had an abortion"
In 1986, government scientists wrote a letter to the British journal Lancet and acknowledged that abortion is a cause of breast cancer. They
wrote, "Induced abortion before first term pregnancy increases the risk of breast cancer." (Lancet, 2/22/86, p. 436)
As of 2006, eight medical organizations recognize that abortion raises a woman's risk for breast cancer, independently of the risk of delaying the birth of a first child (a secondary effect that all experts already acknowledge). Please answer this: Why would the largest fundraiser for a Breast Cancer cure fund the largest provider of abortions - one of the most significant causes of the same disease they are seeking to cure?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

cease funding Planned Parenthood.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When you donate money to any organization, you trust that the organization will impose certain criteria in deciding how those funds will be used and that the organization will also ensure that those funds are only used appropriately. It appears that Komen's criteria for granting funds is that the grantee may not be under investigation. Rules like this exist within organizations in order to force fiduciary duty and not allow subjective bias and/or emotions (or politics) to cloud decision making. The management of Komen reports to a board of directors, and as such, must act in accordance with its policies and procedures, which is exactly what they did. So the issue, therefore, is that the criteria needed to be changed to allow more case-by-case discernment. This case perhaps should've involved more examination by the management and board to determine if the "investigation" criteria was met in its intended form, but nevertheless, the criteria was there to protect Komen and its donors from misuse of funds, scandal, PR disasters, etc, and that sounds rather responsible to me - not political. I do not have anything against Planned Parenthood, but I do not believe that Komen acted politically either. Instead I believe that they acted according to rules designed to protect donor funds and advance the mission. Komen does a lot of wonderful things and is the number one promoter of women's breast health in this country. I think it's shameful to allow political media to cloud out the accomplishments of such a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

81% overhead cost and political shenanigans including Planned Parenthood debacle, intimidating smaller charities who share common goals with litigious threats, and shilling endorsements to the worst companies in america make Komen For The Cure a terrible waste of donations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers