Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
668 Reviews
1.303892345
Previous | 1 2 3...21 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 10, 2013
9 people found this review helpful

I am concerned that Susan G Komen for the Cure may have started out with good intentions, but has become a money maker that has lost it's focus.
1. Is there now more focus on selling products and events than actual interest in breast cancer causes and issues?
2. Why do many on the top
members of Komen earn so much money?
3. In 2011 Nancy G Brinker earned over $600,000....why?
4. Is there a connection with Fundraising for a Cause and anyone at Komen?
5. Why are volunteers expected to raise money for free, pay for product and events, while the directors and board of Komen make massive amounts of money?

It seems almost sacrilegious to question this company(and their "mission"), but I am concerned about some of these usually unspoken and unquestioned ideas. What do you think?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them identify what they are doing for the focus on causes of breast cancer. Lower salaries for top members of the company.....if the really "care" about breast cancer! Identify potential conflicts between them and "for" profit companies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I have been studying Komen for years, and I consider them a bogus charity for a number of reasons. To begin with, they aren't looking for a cure. They have ties to the pharmaceutical industry, and are helping promote toxic chemotherapy instead of looking for a real cure and giving the public the information they truly need to deal with this terrible disease. They suppress information about real cures. They also suppress the information that induced abortion is a major risk factor for breast cancer, and that it can cause triple negative breast cancer, the hardest form to treat, because it doesn't respond to any of the three common treatments. This usually strikes before the woman is 40, and 1/4 of the victims lose their lives to breast cancer. Komen also pushes mammograms, which can cause or trigger breast cancer because of trauma to the breast and repeated exposure to radiation. They won't promote thermograms, which are far more reliable, and catch a problem years sooner. Finally, they donated to Planned Parenthood, which actually does hundreds of thousands of abortions a year, putting women at risk for triple negative breast cancer. Supposedly this is so PP can do screening with mammograms, but one of the leadership of PP has admitted that none of the PP affiliates even OWNS mammogram machinery; they just refer women elsewhere. They don't do mammograms. When an outcry about donations to PP was raised, Komen said they would no longer contribute, but then succumbed to extortion and said they would donate once more. And if all this weren't bad enough, PP clinics are being shut down by local health departments for having unsafe practices, and shoddy, filthy facilities, and Komen donates to them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

compel them to share all we know about how to prevent and treat breast cancer safely, including telling people that having adequate Vitamin D3 in their blood helps prevent breast cancer, that people should get thermograms, not mammograms, that abortion is a major risk factor for breast cancer, one which is completely avoidable. I would look into the apparently obscene salaries of top officials and adjust them to a reasonable level. Bottom line: I would stop LYING and cut ties to big pharma.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 15, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 15, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

Sorry people, but when the raw numbers come out, Susan G Komen spends about 18-20% of its revenue on research. I believe that by now, unless you have been under a rock or in a cave, we are all educated that humans can get breast cancer and that we need to check ourselves and get screenings. I think we need to push the foundation to actually try to find a cure now and not just inform. With the flood of pink, the 3 Day runs roughly every month, if not 3-4 times a month, and all the "hype," it is time to find the cure. I realize that if they spent more on research and found some sort of "cure" that all those jobs that are being paid for would go away, but life's hard that way. Let's get our act together and actually find a cure, not just talk or run about it. Who knows, maybe a cure was found, but the capital is soooooo great that it might have been lost/destroyed due to the massive amount of captial this foundation gets. Alzheimer's gets less capital and have made more strides in finding cures/causes than this foundation. Don't be a sheep, be the hearder!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 29, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 29, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

Since this organization gives money to an organization that has nothing to do with breast cancer research, screening, or treatment I will make my donations to an organization that does those things. Giving money to Planned Parenthood, which has no facilities anywhere to screen for or treat breast cancer, financial support by Susan G, Komen Cancer Foundation makes money collect by them a fraud.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Top directors make too much money. What right did they have to support Planned Parenthood thus abortion with donations to BREAST CANCER

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Let's get some things straight everyone. We live in a capitalistic society and everything is driven by money. EVERYTHING. We have been hearing about cancer charities and the donations they need for decades. I remember hearing about these organizations in college, 30 YEARS AGO, and people are still dying of cancer. The only 2 remedies, in general? Chemo & radiation, just like always. Or are they??? Do your research. There are many potential cures going by the wayside, such as Vitamin B17, the Gerson Therapy, and most notably, the FDA's number one enemy, The Burzynski Clinic in Texas. Meanwhile, the cancer donation industry thrives, while people continue to die, holding out all hope for that miracle that never comes. Instead of living out the rest of your life in distress, save your money from the SGK and spend it on remedies that have remarkable background and documentation. Otherwise, die wearing those worthless pink ribbons. It's your choice. Thankfully, they did manage to make one good decision and that was to stop funding for the country's house of murder, planned parenthood. Sorry ladies, but if you want to kill your baby, DIY and quit demanding that the govt provide your murder service. Anyone stupid enough to want to kill the unborn needs to be exterminated by the govt, not helped.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 18, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

Here's what this charity claims:
"Mission

Nancy G. Brinker promised her dying sister, Susan G. Komen, she would do everything in her power to end breast cancer forever. In 1982, that promise became Susan G. Komen for the Cure and launched the global breast cancer movement. ..."
Here is what (not including her expenses such as travel, mileage, lodging, etc.) the founder and CEO gets paid each year to "do everything in her power to end breast cancer forever." Compensation of Leaders (FYE 03/2011)

Compensation Paid to Nancy Brinkler, Founder/ CEO $417,171
.12% of Expenses
Source- CharityNavigator.com Also, when my dear friend, who is uninsured, was diagnosed with breast cancer in June 2012, she approached SGK for the Cure for any kind of support- financial or otherwise, they could offer and she was turned away.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I received an email from my sister asking for donations to this charity. I do remember hearing about it before, in fact I even gave one year. There is only one thing that bothers me about all these posts. They all keep talking about women who have gotten thuis cancer. She did mention one thing that I didn't see in all these reviews. She said "THAT'S RIGHT, MEN GET BREAST CANCER TOO." i NOTICED THAT BECAUSE i GOT BREAST CANCER, TOO AND i AM HER BROITHER. I probably will give, just muklling over the amount. I was diagnosed with it before she was, she is already cured and doesn't need that chemo, that I am still getting. Already this year I am on my third different chemo drug. Fun it is not.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 11, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 11, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

With all of the money this foundation raises each year, we should be well on the way to finding a cure for breast cancer. We aren't! Does the public realize their only goal with science is to "energize them"? Do they realize that the founder and CEO makes $417000 a year? If you look at their annual expenses NOTHING is going towards research! I think a lot of people have been duped by this organization. Shame on you Susan G Komen Foundation!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 13, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 13, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

This organizations participation in defund planned parenthood was appalling. I do not know a better way to say you are against women's rights.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...21 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers