Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
668 Reviews
1.303892345
| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review
February 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I'm a nurse and I work in cancer treatment. You can say it's not political all you want, but that doesn't make it true. It makes you a liar on top of everything else. Republican gubernatorial candidate who promises to defund Planned Parenthood joins your team. Planned Parenthood is subsequently defunded. People may die because of your decision. I'm done with with cash donations, I'm done with the walks.
February 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 2, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Once again an organization's national leadership with their personalized agenda trash the efforts of local staff and volunteers. I am now unsubscripted from Susan G. Komen. I pick and choose my activities to work with and I am sure I can find others who better support woman in their efforts to battle breast cancer.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The decision to bring a right wing political agenda into the Foundation's funding allocations brings shame on the the entire Komen organization. In my 30+ years in working with major NGOs, I have never seen such heavy-handed politically motivated actions. This should call into question anyone's thinking about giving any more money to the Foundation or participating in any of their activities. Their very unusual action to defund Planned Parenthood inspired me to look at their Form 990. I was shocked to see how much of the contributions go to salaries, benefits, and operating expenses and how little goes to research or service provision. Looks like a great place to work and have a good life, but it does not effectively utilize the money it is given for the purposes of the mission. I am recommending to all of my associates and friends to avoid the Komen Foundation going forward.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Completely remove political influence from decision making. Base funding decisions on science, not politics.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

So...only women with health insurance and/or money deserve cancer screenings? Way to show you are "pro-life". My annual contribution to Komen's RFTC is going to Planned Parenthood from now on.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

What a shameful, politically motivated move by Susan G Komen to cut off funding to Planned Parenthood. As a PhD with a specialty in Oncology, I know the importance of early detection. Women go where they feel comfortable and where they know they get good quality care. For many women, that place is Planned Parenthood. With this action, SGK ensures that many women will be diagnosed when it's too late to do anything. I will no longer donate any money to SGK nor participate in any of it's activities. My money will go to organizations actually interested in the health of women and not making political statements.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

As a health care provider for low income women, I find the action of the Komen Foundation to remove grant funding from Planned Parenthood despicable and politically motivated. Planned Parenthood centers care for low income women at greatest risk for late detection of cancers. Planned Parenthood needs your donations- Komen does not.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2011
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 29, 2011
11 people found this review helpful

As a scientist myself I've taken the time to look into the research the Komen foundation funds and nearly all of it goes to the interest of pharmaceutical companies. The continue to help companies fund research to patent new chemotheraputic drugs while ignoring any serious competition such as the Burzynski clinic. At the same time the CEO owns stock in pharmaceutical companies she's giving grants to, and these companies always get to patent the drug the Komen foundation helps them research. If the Komen foundation cared about curing cancer they wouldn't let for profit companies keep patents.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

volunteering

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

End the organization, it's too corrupt.

October 4, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 4, 2011
8 people found this review helpful

I dont understand why this charity received such a high rating here, especially for its financials.

This charity puts itself out there as being "for the cure" yet such a minuscule amount of their expenditures is towards the very research that they claim to be built around that they
should receive a 1 star rating here.

Looking at their financial reports, their overhead costs are high and they spend most of their money on education and screening. While those are certainly worthy things, they are not "for the cure".

This charity is not sufficiently transparent with it's donors about how the money is spent. If you were to ask a dozen participants in a "Race for the Cure" event, why they were participating, few would point to funding education programs. They'd point to funding research, which is no longer a priority for this charity.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reviewing their financial reports as well as volunteering at Komen an event.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Eliminate the focus on marketing. Enough with guilting people, especially cancer survivors and their families into buying the soap powder in the pink box is shameful. Reduce overhead expenses. Rely more on volunteers and internships & redirect those funds saved into targeted grants to studies that are truly working "for the cure". I'd turn over education activities to the American Cancer Society. Put that money into research where it belongs. They are far better at it and its in their charter.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

What is unique about this organization?

strong marketing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 28, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 28, 2011
10 people found this review helpful

Shocked!! Organization took in $135 Million in 2010, provided grants for research, education & screening of $74 Million and a paltry $10,000 (yes, only ten thousand dollars) in grants to individuals in the USA. The remaining millions were used to pay contractors (other expenses line items) and employees (many in the high 6 figure income bracket). Shameful, absolutely shameful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Komen's refusal to help women in need by limiting grants to individuals to a paltry 0.0074% of fundraising revenues taken in.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bulk research dollars to 3-5 research centers (reduce amt by half & fund 3-5 research centers only/ongoing) increase grants to individuals w/ the $ saved in research grants cont education/screening line items limit salaries to more reasonable levels

December 8, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
2 previous reviews - show all
November 14, 2010

Would you continue to donate if you knew Komen only puts 20% of your money into research for the cure? I hope not. Find an organization where your money is actually spent on finding a cure. more

December 8, 2010
2 people found this review helpful

Pauline -

Many of the people "involved" with Komen have no idea how the money is actually spent. Sure, you're told certain things. Sure, it feels good to work for a big non-profit. But if you actually READ their 990 forms, it will sicken you.

They give $1,000$ to random people
without even having their full name, address, etc. They will label it as "education". But my aunt calls asking for assistance, and is told "we don't give directly to the public". This sickened her and my whole family.

They have over $15,000,000.00 in payroll expense. That sickens me even more. Sure, Komen was founded for great reasons, for great goals. But now it's just a big greed machine, and it's sickening.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being denied in time of need. Constantly given conflicting information from their staff that makes it too difficult for the average person to undercover the "correct", the "true", and the "accurate" policies, expenditures, and financial history of the company.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Force the foundation to educate their donors about how the money is actually spent. Create a new financial policy that allows donors to give money only to the sector of expense that they choose to - ie: 100% of their donation goes only to research.

November 14, 2010
6 people found this review helpful

Would you continue to donate if you knew Komen only puts 20% of your money into research for the cure? I hope not. Find an organization where your money is actually spent on finding a cure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

This foundation only puts 20% of your donation into research for the cure.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This foundation only puts 20% of your donation into research for the cure.

November 4, 2010

Komen gave their CEO a 72,518.00$ pay increase during a "national recession". In 2007 only 23.5% of proceeds was spent on research. In 2008 only 26.73% of proceeds was spent on research. In 2009 they dropped all the way down to 20.22% on research. Stay far away from this organization. You can find other npf's that will put a much greater percentage of their proceeds into actually researching and curing this disease.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Most people just want their t-shirt from the race, their picture from the race, or the pretty pink bow on the products they buy. It makes them "feel good" and they don't look into what is actually going on in Komen's financials.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Komen currently spends 22.58% on "expenses", salaries, telemarketing, professional advisors. They only spent 20.22% on researching the cure. When your national campaign is "For the cure" - you would expect that the biggest portion of your donation would be put into "the cure", and the only way to find a cure is to conduct research. Komen needs to get all board members together, create a projected budget which includes dropping the salaries of their officers and increasing the funds put into research.

| 1 1 2 3 | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers