Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
670 Reviews
1.302992345
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
January 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have struggled with some of the things that have come out of Komen National but encourage people to look locally. The local affiliate, Komen Suncoast Race for the Cure, is a way for you to ensure your donations(75%) stay local to work locally. The funds help support screening and educational programs in the local 6 counties. The "Races," held in St. Petersburg and Polk County, are successful because of wonderful volunteers who donate their time in the search for a cure. The St. Pete Race is on - please don't let nationals decision to stop the 3-day Race for the Cure stop you from supporting our local efforts to find a cure for breast cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do a better job of educating everyone on how funds are used and how critical they are to local programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The National Office let many people down with the Planned Parenthood debacle but the local affiliates throughout the country who have done nothing wrong are taking the majority of the heat. Programs that help our local citizens are now unfunded. I am a proud volunteer and donor of the Maryland Affiliate of Susan G Komen and I salute the dedicated staff and volunteers who continue to spread the word about early detection and treatment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

To Lynn A (May 11, 2012) - Research grants are considered a "Program Expense" and make up most of the 82.5% metric. FYI, the local affiliates are separate non-profits. Meaning they fund grants for services in their communities (which may include PP) and send approx 25% to National to fund the large research grants. It's a shame that National strayed into politics - I hope they have learned their lesson - and, I hope the affiliates will be able to get back to business. I will continue to support Komen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 9, 2012

more

February 9, 2012

After playing politics recently, you've lost me as any kind of volunteer or donor. My money is going where it can do direct good: Planned Parenthood.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 8, 2012

no more volunteering for Komen! You now are exposed as a right-wing front!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am withdrawing my participation in the 2012 Boston 3Day and all future support for Komen unless Komen is able to reaffirm it's apolitical commitment to women's healthcare. This would require the immediate termination of Karen Handel and all other members of the Komen board whose extremist political agendas threaten to derail the 30 years of tremendous, politics-free good that Komen has done. Planned Parenthood is, was, and will continue to be the best way for ANY women without health insurance in this country to access reproductive healthcare, including breast cancer prevention and treatment. The overwhelming majority of Komen supporters are Planned Parenthood supporters. If you do not ACTIVELY support Planned Parenthood going forward, we will not support you. You have forced this upon yourselves. We have made it very clear to you where we stand on this issue. Now you have to choose. Will you stand with your base and the amazing brand they have helped you build for 30 years, or will you side with a political extremist who had thrown you, and us, under the bus to advance her political career. Your choice.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am so very disappointed in how the foundation has stepped into politics like this. The goal should be to help people fight breast cancer. Planned Parenthood spends 14.5% of it's money on cancer screening and prevention, 3% on abortion. This used to be a non-profit with a stellar reputation. The way it handled the whole mess---with two different stories about why they were cutting funding--- shows a lack of transparency. If you want to be political organization, be honest about it. If you want to save lives, then leave the politics out of it. But don't assume your donors are stupid. We are not. (And many of us won't be donors again, either)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 5, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Is Komen using your donations wisely? Ask the local mom-n-pop charities who have been contacted (i.e. threatened) by Komen's lawyers over use of "the cure." Do a Google search for "Susan G. Komen Foundation Elbows Out Charities Over Use Of The Word 'Cure'" Koman has lost its way and has become a corporation more concerned about branding and protecting its "market share." Donate your money to smaller local organizations and you'll get a better bang of for your buck!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 4, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Having been involved in many of the October Breast Cancer Awareness events, I feel both used and betrayed by the recent actions of SGK to defund Planned Parenthood. And even more appalled that there is no posts on this web site.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
February 4, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Will not volunteer again - this organization cares more about Christian demagoguery than ensuring broad availability of breast cancer screenings. Let's walk to raise awareness of *that* !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers