Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
668 Reviews
1.303892345
| 1 ... 63 64 65...67 |
Write A Review
February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I was a donor; I no longer will be one. The dollars I would've donated to SGK will now go directly to Planned Parenthood. The politicization of women's healthcare in this country is appalling, and now that SGK is participating in it means that I will no longer have any dealings with SGK. Planned Parenthood provides valuable services to low-income women and families, and for SGK to pull their funding is short-sighted and proves that SGK's focus is not about preventing or curing breast cancer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

It is absolutely despicable to see such an important charity as Komen putting someone in charge who is furthering the right-wing agenda at women's expense. Cutting funding to such an important group as Planned Parenthood because of far right ideology is utterly appalling and will be devastating to all women in this country. Women who cannot afford out-of-control spiraling health care premiums rely on Planned Parenthood. I will not give a dime to Komen until they publicly acknowledge their mistake and change their policy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Apparently the Susan G. Komen Foundation believes that Planned Parenthood patients don't deserve a cure.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

If I could give zero stars, I would. I will never again donate, never walk again in another event, and I will spread the word that Komen caved to right-wing politics in its refusal to fund Planned Parenthood's work with breast cancer screenings. As a breast cancer survivor myself, I know the importance of screenings, and I also know that many young women I teach rely on Planned Parenthood for these important services. Shame on you, all of you, for this clearly political stance. I've defended the practices and organization of Susan G. Komen in the past, but never again.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 1, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Until This charity reverses the decision to cut support of Planned Parenthood, I will not donate a DIME. My donations will go to Planned Parenthood instead.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Komen will regret its decision to pull funding for breast cancer screenings that save the lives of women. As a breast cancer survivor I will do everything in my power along with my sisterhood of bc survivors to make sure that not a penny more goes their way. There are plenty of great organizations that do excellent work promoting breast cancer awareness and research. For the record, the CEO of Komen makes over $400,000+ per year. No real non-profit needs to pay that much when there are many ways to better spend that money. Pink rip-off.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 31, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I'm done with the Komen Foundation. The fact they have cut off funding of breast exams in Planned Parenthood facilities shows a disregard for women. No more money, not even pocket change. I'll now donate to Planned Parenthood.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 31, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

I have participated in seven Susan B. Komen Breast Cancer 3-Day Walks, walking 420 miles and raising over $20K. Now that it's cutting off funds to Planned Parenthood -- funds used for vital breast exams for low-income women who have few other options for gynecological care --I am finished with this organization. Caving in to political pressure by anti-choice groups contradicts the Komen's Foundation alleged mission statement. My money and time will go to Planned Parenthood and other organizations truly looking out for women's interests rather than those of political organizations, religious organizations and pharmaceutical companies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 31, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 31, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

This charity is politically motivated and has discontinued funding to Planned Parenthood which was dedicated funding for breast cancer screening thus putting politics above women's health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Remove Karen Handel.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

NPR's report on their un-funding of Planned Parenthood.

December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 4, 2010

This organization provides excellent cover for the real question, which is, "Why do women GET breast cancer?". With sympathy for those who have gotten it, I must say that this question has largely bee... more

December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Breast cancer is a well documented symptom that will never be "cured" by an organization passing through the absolute legal minimum of dollars required, 20%, to be called a non-profit. I mostly feel for the great people in this organization who are misled. In just the past year, it has become known that lack of vitamin D, determined by a serum test, is a better marker for breast cancer than a mammogram. An uncomfortable parallel here might be the person who hits their thumb with a hammer, and then looks for a cure for a broken thumb...they get one star because your system won't allow a negative rating.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 4, 2010
4 people found this review helpful

This organization provides excellent cover for the real question, which is, "Why do women GET breast cancer?". With sympathy for those who have gotten it, I must say that this question has largely been answered; the mammary glands are especially susceptible repositories for all those ingredients on that package of 'food' that you can't pronouce, and don't exist in nature. Add to this the removal of one of your greatest defenses against breast cancer, Vitamin D (which we are now discovering), or more generally speaking, a healthy diet. What Susan's sister, bless her heart, is doing amounts to asking the foxes for help to determine why all the chickens are dying. Read "The Metabolic Typing Diet".

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

virtually every publication i pick up recently. However, when i go to find out how many women with a diagnosis of breast cancer were or are vitamin D(etc) deficient, all the people that Susan's sister are funding for 'help' get really quiet..?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to stop this ersatz 'search for a cure' to something that is largely self-inflicted, and help educate the women at risk.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers