Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
671 Reviews
1.3072345
Write A Review
May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I received an email from my sister asking for donations to this charity. I do remember hearing about it before, in fact I even gave one year. There is only one thing that bothers me about all these posts. They all keep talking about women who have gotten thuis cancer. She did mention one thing that I didn't see in all these reviews. She said "THAT'S RIGHT, MEN GET BREAST CANCER TOO." i NOTICED THAT BECAUSE i GOT BREAST CANCER, TOO AND i AM HER BROITHER. I probably will give, just muklling over the amount. I was diagnosed with it before she was, she is already cured and doesn't need that chemo, that I am still getting. Already this year I am on my third different chemo drug. Fun it is not.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 11, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 11, 2012
13 people found this review helpful

With all of the money this foundation raises each year, we should be well on the way to finding a cure for breast cancer. We aren't! Does the public realize their only goal with science is to "energize them"? Do they realize that the founder and CEO makes $417000 a year? If you look at their annual expenses NOTHING is going towards research! I think a lot of people have been duped by this organization. Shame on you Susan G Komen Foundation!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

April 13, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 13, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

This organizations participation in defund planned parenthood was appalling. I do not know a better way to say you are against women's rights.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 25, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

It is amazing how many people are upset that the Komen foundation gave money to Planned Parenthood. Does it not matter that planned parenthood administers a large percentage of mammograms to people that can not afford to go anywhere else? Does it not matter that the reason for Komens donation was because of this statistic? Does anyone wonder what may happen to the women that will not get the mammograms that they need for early detection because of such idiocy. Shouldn't these women's health be more important than the construed reasoning of a bunch of abortion activists. Look at the bigger picture people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

March 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

This organization uses paid spokespeople. I can not see sending my dollars to people to speak out about cancer . You either do this because you believe or don't do it at all.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 23, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

An organization that is supposed to exemplify and celebrate life should not be giving money to the largest purveyor of death via abortion, Planned Parenthood. I am sure Komen could have given an equal or greater amount to some worthy organization that does the same few screenings that Planned Parenthood performs but does not murder babies. I did not know Komen gave money to Planned Parenthood prior to the recent flip-flop, but now that I do know, Komen will no longer be receiving my support. I am sure I can find another cancer foundation that does not give money to murderers. Some who read this may disagree, but if any of you who are parents and have seen the ultrasounds of your children prior to their being born can look me in the eye and say that unborn babies are not deserving of the same protections as others, I will call you a liar. God is watching.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Never donate to this charity. My mother suffered for years with cancer and we did our best to get help of any kind. However the administration is fat and happy with their 6 figure+ incomes and so are the pharmaceutical companies. Look at the numbers! How far do you think the money that actually made it into medical research industry went last year? A month of equipment leasing and perhaps some towards facilities? If you feel you must donate, do so for educating people about the dangers of fast food and processed food. A good diet reduces cancer risks... period. Why not help prevent instead of lining the pockets of those causing the problem and those profiting from the aftermath. Our country is suffering and the farmers that were growing healthy foods are losing their homes and land to the factory farms for corporations. Entire forests and native tribes have been destroyed or displaced for the McFood type industry. The conditions are so horrible they can't even raise the livestock in this country. The garbage and waste generated in production and sales of said food OUTWEIGHS THE "FOOD" PRODUCT 4 to 1! Put down you cell phones and think people. Look around at all the kids in today's society. Something must be done.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Close it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Expensive commercials and hype.

February 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As I always done in the past, I have donated to Kid's in distress, The Susan B Komen Foundation, because in the past they always have done a excellent job providing the the people that need the care the most. I will still give to Kid's in Distress, but from now on, the Susan B Komen, will not give another dime of my Money, when they let politic or their own personal view play a role to what they are going to do with the money that is donated to their charity, especially when you donate and you know what causes you are donating to, and then they change it in midstream. Guess what, they money coming in will stop, just like mine will. And the money some of the people are making in the organization, is ridiculous, I will choose my charities more wisely in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the CEO,and all the Cronies that have their own agenda in mind, or because of political reasons

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

It's one of the leading causes of death in women, and I have a few friends diagnosed with this disease

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I Didn't, last one I made was through United Way, but that will never happen AGAIN

What would you tell others about this organization?

Yes, tell them to stay away from this organization, and if they want to donate, send it to Planned Parenthood.

February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I will never again give them money. They refuse to acknowledge the overwhelming medical research that proves the link between breast cancer and abortion. They continue to allow planned parenthood federation (PPF) to use them as a smoke screen to misinform people into thinking PPF does mammograms and breast screenings when they are primarily a billion dollar abortion industry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

$60M in admin and fund raising out of $300M seems very top heavy to me. The bigger the more cloudy where the money goes. How about some details on where all the $600M has gone? How are we doing on the cure? The cause is solid, not sure about the agency.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers