Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
670 Reviews
1.302992345
| 1 2 3...67 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Top directors make too much money. What right did they have to support Planned Parenthood thus abortion with donations to BREAST CANCER

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

Let's get some things straight everyone. We live in a capitalistic society and everything is driven by money. EVERYTHING. We have been hearing about cancer charities and the donations they need for decades. I remember hearing about these organizations in college, 30 YEARS AGO, and people are still dying of cancer. The only 2 remedies, in general? Chemo & radiation, just like always. Or are they??? Do your research. There are many potential cures going by the wayside, such as Vitamin B17, the Gerson Therapy, and most notably, the FDA's number one enemy, The Burzynski Clinic in Texas. Meanwhile, the cancer donation industry thrives, while people continue to die, holding out all hope for that miracle that never comes. Instead of living out the rest of your life in distress, save your money from the SGK and spend it on remedies that have remarkable background and documentation. Otherwise, die wearing those worthless pink ribbons. It's your choice. Thankfully, they did manage to make one good decision and that was to stop funding for the country's house of murder, planned parenthood. Sorry ladies, but if you want to kill your baby, DIY and quit demanding that the govt provide your murder service. Anyone stupid enough to want to kill the unborn needs to be exterminated by the govt, not helped.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 18, 2012
14 people found this review helpful

Here's what this charity claims:
"Mission

Nancy G. Brinker promised her dying sister, Susan G. Komen, she would do everything in her power to end breast cancer forever. In 1982, that promise became Susan G. Komen for the Cure and launched the global breast cancer movement. ..."
Here is what (not including her expenses such as travel, mileage, lodging, etc.) the founder and CEO gets paid each year to "do everything in her power to end breast cancer forever." Compensation of Leaders (FYE 03/2011)

Compensation Paid to Nancy Brinkler, Founder/ CEO $417,171
.12% of Expenses
Source- CharityNavigator.com Also, when my dear friend, who is uninsured, was diagnosed with breast cancer in June 2012, she approached SGK for the Cure for any kind of support- financial or otherwise, they could offer and she was turned away.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

You got to love how $15 million of a $20 million dollar TV advertising budget (Form 990 FY 2010-2011 Part IX Line 12) & $5.5 million of a $7.3 million dollar Event Production budget (Line 24d) is classified as a 'Program Expense'. If you were to move these line items from a program to a fundraising expense (because events and the advertising to get people to do those events are...if I'm not mistaken...fundraising, right?) that moves a total of $20.5 million that, in my opinion, have been classified incorrectly. In FY 2010-2011 charity navigator lists the following percentages for each dollar that comes in: 75% programs, 7.6% admin, and 17.2% fundraising. I propose that these numbers should be updated to reflect what is actually being done: 70.4% programs, 7.6% admin, and 22.4% fundraising. I'm steering clear of all other topics but for all the people who leave comments scolding the people who are upset about how this organization operates...here are some actual facts based on their own tax information.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 5, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

more

August 5, 2012
10 people found this review helpful

Does anyone remember the perfume this "non-profit" came out with? The plan was to give a percentage of proceeds to Komen after 1 million on sales. At sales of $900,000.00 the perfume was taken off the market because of a toxic chemical. Still not my biggest complaint. Why does a county in Georgia raise more money for Komen and still not have any resources for breast cancer patients? The marketing is brilliant as it plays on people's emotions and implies that their donations will actually find a cure. The money goes towards more marketing and making sure women get mammograms; not to the research of what causes breast cancer. Why not research thermal mammography? It is the new way to detect cancer cells without radiation. It would be nice to see this foundation LIVE UP TO IT"S PROMISE!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

August 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 1, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I would give this a NO-Star rarting of possible! I tried to put an honest personal experience I've had with Lomen, and it was rejected as Spam. I guess this is your way of dealing with criticism of your pet charities! They are not honest, and money donated is diverted to totally unconnected entities, who have no relationship with breast cancer.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I came to this site to leave a positive comment and I can't believe how people are so ignorant and let their feelings and political believes trash such a wonderful organization. I know this subject is old news now, but what I think is, 1. Susan G. Komen was not using a political agenda, but following rules. 2. I have nothing against PP and have always supported all the great things they have done for low income families, but I do not think they have the RIGHT to demand money, wether these are grants or donations from ANYONE. IF Susan G. Komen stoped this grant, then PP should have gone to someone else, and not act like a little cry baby an tell on them. Very immature on their part! I am a young breast cancer survivor, and will continue my support to Susan G. Komen.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

To Lynn A (May 11, 2012) - Research grants are considered a "Program Expense" and make up most of the 82.5% metric. FYI, the local affiliates are separate non-profits. Meaning they fund grants for services in their communities (which may include PP) and send approx 25% to National to fund the large research grants. It's a shame that National strayed into politics - I hope they have learned their lesson - and, I hope the affiliates will be able to get back to business. I will continue to support Komen.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 21, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 21, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I watched Ambassador Nancy Brinker on Andrea Mitchell Reports a few months ago when she was called to answer for her charity's shameful actions. I have contributed to Komen through fundraising efforts in the past but will do so no longer after watching Ambassador Brinker's terrible defense of what was a political agenda. Brinker should be ashamed for the resulting fallout which has cost money needed for breast cancer research and treatment, but I agree with many others when I say I can not and will not entrust my money with an organization willing to sidestep their mission to use their money toward a political agenda. Last I checked, cancer affects democrats and republicans equally. Ambassador Nancy Brinker is no ambassador for breast cancer awareness and progress. She is nothing more than using the memory of her sister to raise money for political theater. The millions who have supported Komen in the past, including myself, have been swindled by Brinker, and the reactions seen in the last few months have confirmed that Brinker's agenda hurts the fight to end breast cancer. Komen for the Cure's legal actions against other breast cancer charities is also shameful, and I will point out to anyone who wishes to use pink and the pink ribbon to show breast cancer awareness that they are the symbols of a terrible charity. Give to other charities. Komen should lose it's non-profit status for supporting a political agenda.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I received an email from my sister asking for donations to this charity. I do remember hearing about it before, in fact I even gave one year. There is only one thing that bothers me about all these posts. They all keep talking about women who have gotten thuis cancer. She did mention one thing that I didn't see in all these reviews. She said "THAT'S RIGHT, MEN GET BREAST CANCER TOO." i NOTICED THAT BECAUSE i GOT BREAST CANCER, TOO AND i AM HER BROITHER. I probably will give, just muklling over the amount. I was diagnosed with it before she was, she is already cured and doesn't need that chemo, that I am still getting. Already this year I am on my third different chemo drug. Fun it is not.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers