Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
670 Reviews
1.302992345
Write A Review
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I plan to wash my hands of this charity. They court large corporations for donations. Fine - they have a lot of money. But when those corporations are directly involved in the production of waste water and pollutants to water sources that contain cancer-causing chemicals, then the game is over. (Baker Huges/pink fracking drill bit debacle). I am done with this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the decision makers at the top. There are many of worthy volunteers who work for this group. I bet they have a some great ideas toh elp.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 11, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

No longer donating to this organization that has lost its way. Check out the latest huff post article about their aggressive attacks on small nonprofits who are use the trademarked (are you kidding me?!) phrase "for the cure" in their names. Because Cupcakes for the Cure is going to do so much to harm the Komen brand. I think they're doing a mighty fine job of that themselves.
January 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have struggled with some of the things that have come out of Komen National but encourage people to look locally. The local affiliate, Komen Suncoast Race for the Cure, is a way for you to ensure your donations(75%) stay local to work locally. The funds help support screening and educational programs in the local 6 counties. The "Races," held in St. Petersburg and Polk County, are successful because of wonderful volunteers who donate their time in the search for a cure. The St. Pete Race is on - please don't let nationals decision to stop the 3-day Race for the Cure stop you from supporting our local efforts to find a cure for breast cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do a better job of educating everyone on how funds are used and how critical they are to local programs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 10, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 10, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

I am concerned that Susan G Komen for the Cure may have started out with good intentions, but has become a money maker that has lost it's focus.
1. Is there now more focus on selling products and events than actual interest in breast cancer causes and issues?
2. Why do many on the top
members of Komen earn so much money?
3. In 2011 Nancy G Brinker earned over $600,000....why?
4. Is there a connection with Fundraising for a Cause and anyone at Komen?
5. Why are volunteers expected to raise money for free, pay for product and events, while the directors and board of Komen make massive amounts of money?

It seems almost sacrilegious to question this company(and their "mission"), but I am concerned about some of these usually unspoken and unquestioned ideas. What do you think?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them identify what they are doing for the focus on causes of breast cancer. Lower salaries for top members of the company.....if the really "care" about breast cancer! Identify potential conflicts between them and "for" profit companies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 7, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

more

August 7, 2013
12 people found this review helpful

I have been studying Komen for years, and I consider them a bogus charity for a number of reasons. To begin with, they aren't looking for a cure. They have ties to the pharmaceutical industry, and are helping promote toxic chemotherapy instead of looking for a real cure and giving the public the information they truly need to deal with this terrible disease. They suppress information about real cures. They also suppress the information that induced abortion is a major risk factor for breast cancer, and that it can cause triple negative breast cancer, the hardest form to treat, because it doesn't respond to any of the three common treatments. This usually strikes before the woman is 40, and 1/4 of the victims lose their lives to breast cancer. Komen also pushes mammograms, which can cause or trigger breast cancer because of trauma to the breast and repeated exposure to radiation. They won't promote thermograms, which are far more reliable, and catch a problem years sooner. Finally, they donated to Planned Parenthood, which actually does hundreds of thousands of abortions a year, putting women at risk for triple negative breast cancer. Supposedly this is so PP can do screening with mammograms, but one of the leadership of PP has admitted that none of the PP affiliates even OWNS mammogram machinery; they just refer women elsewhere. They don't do mammograms. When an outcry about donations to PP was raised, Komen said they would no longer contribute, but then succumbed to extortion and said they would donate once more. And if all this weren't bad enough, PP clinics are being shut down by local health departments for having unsafe practices, and shoddy, filthy facilities, and Komen donates to them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

compel them to share all we know about how to prevent and treat breast cancer safely, including telling people that having adequate Vitamin D3 in their blood helps prevent breast cancer, that people should get thermograms, not mammograms, that abortion is a major risk factor for breast cancer, one which is completely avoidable. I would look into the apparently obscene salaries of top officials and adjust them to a reasonable level. Bottom line: I would stop LYING and cut ties to big pharma.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 10, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

more

April 10, 2013
10 people found this review helpful

They bought a lot of copyrights for every permutation of [BLANK] FOR THE CURE. Not money well spent. They are a pretty useless organization. They spend less than 15% of income on actual research related activities and a lot on overhead, advertising, and dinner parties for very rich people. You are a fool if you donate to this organization. Do yourself a favor and donate elsewhere.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 15, 2013
11 people found this review helpful

Sorry people, but when the raw numbers come out, Susan G Komen spends about 18-20% of its revenue on research. I believe that by now, unless you have been under a rock or in a cave, we are all educated that humans can get breast cancer and that we need to check ourselves and get screenings. I think we need to push the foundation to actually try to find a cure now and not just inform. With the flood of pink, the 3 Day runs roughly every month, if not 3-4 times a month, and all the "hype," it is time to find the cure. I realize that if they spent more on research and found some sort of "cure" that all those jobs that are being paid for would go away, but life's hard that way. Let's get our act together and actually find a cure, not just talk or run about it. Who knows, maybe a cure was found, but the capital is soooooo great that it might have been lost/destroyed due to the massive amount of captial this foundation gets. Alzheimer's gets less capital and have made more strides in finding cures/causes than this foundation. Don't be a sheep, be the hearder!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
February 22, 2012

Without Komens grants my sister would no longer be here. I doubt that the people writing these reviews have ever had BC. more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Susan G Komen has saved my sisters life. I will ALWAYS support them.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Without Komens grants my sister would no longer be here. I doubt that the people writing these reviews have ever had BC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 29, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

Since this organization gives money to an organization that has nothing to do with breast cancer research, screening, or treatment I will make my donations to an organization that does those things. Giving money to Planned Parenthood, which has no facilities anywhere to screen for or treat breast cancer, financial support by Susan G, Komen Cancer Foundation makes money collect by them a fraud.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The National Office let many people down with the Planned Parenthood debacle but the local affiliates throughout the country who have done nothing wrong are taking the majority of the heat. Programs that help our local citizens are now unfunded. I am a proud volunteer and donor of the Maryland Affiliate of Susan G Komen and I salute the dedicated staff and volunteers who continue to spread the word about early detection and treatment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers