Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.955885
Write A Review
July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I came to SOS over two months ago with no expectations and no real knowledge of what the organization is all about. After months of working at the sanctuary it is clear to me now that this non-profit has a profound purpose. Judy adopts animals in need and provides them with a stable home for the entirety of their lives. Not only does she perform such a philanthropic task but she does it with the utmost care and sincere concern for the well being of each and every animal housed at SOS. Participating in Judy's efforts has provided me with a self fulfilling experience that I will always remember. I will continue to volunteer at SOS into the future. This nonprofit has my full support and personal recommendation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Survival Outreach Sanctuary is amazing, thrilled to have helped out for just a day! The animals are so loved, and well taken care of that you would never know at one point they were at deaths door. Judy changed all that, she was able to give these animals a life they deserve. It is clear they love her dearly for it. I thoroughly enjoyed my volunteer day, and hope to make it back there really soon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

SOS amazed me with the level of love and caring shown to all of the rescued animals. Judy is friendly, welcoming and appreciative and her devotion to the physical and mental well-being of the animals in her care is abundantly evident. So much work and supplies are needed on a daily basis. The animals are so lucky to have Judy as their advocate for escaping neglectful and abusive environments and coming to SOS to live in comfort. After my first day volunteering through my employer sponsored volunteer day, I was so impressed and moved by what I experienced, I came right back the next day. I hope to spend more time there to help such a wonderful group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been up to SOS. A few times. Everytime I go I am amazed at just how nice the people are that give thier time to care for those awesome animals. You can tell the animals love the people by the way they act when they walk by there "homes". I have donated my time to help when I can, I just wish it was more. Judy is an wonderfull lady and always has a smile on her face when she is talking about her children, I mean animals.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My name is James Jablon and I have been doing wildlife rehabilitation for almost 20 years. I have had the opportunity to visit and help at SOS many times over the years. Judy Watson, along with her volunteers, spend all their time caring for all the needs of the various animals in their care, while continuing to find ways to expand their "helping hands." The work they do is thankless, as the ones they help have no voices to speak with; but there seems to be no lack of communication between the animals and the staff. As they approach each other at a fence, you can hear the animals ,"Welcome" and the caretakers,"What can I do for you." I have been to many facilities that are run as a business, but SOS is run as a family. A financial burden is always present, as there is no income and help is always needed to ensure that these animals continue to get the care they deserve at SOS.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I have been involved with the Charity 'industry' for years now; that of which includes our military, breast cancer and others. Sadly, I refer the above word as 'industry' because that is well to often the case when dealing with the charity executives and others. However, there is one group who actually embraces their role as keepers of our earth and our environment.....That group is Survival Outreach Sanctuary. They are the most ethical group I have dealt with thus far and it has been a full and complete pleasure dealing with them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

My time as a volunteer at S.O.S has been one of the most heart warming experience's of my life.There is no animal to big or to small that is not met whith love and dedication.Judy has spent her life going above and beyond whith her commitment to thes animal's and whith the suport of thowe's whith a heart has big as her's she will continue to do so and there will always be a safe place for thes animal's to call home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

In the world we live in today, it is sad that animals need a place to call home. There are a great deal of shelters, rescues and so called sanctuarys attempting to provide quality of life for those under their care. I have a great deal of experience with those that unfortunately do this poorly and those that our truley accomplishing this. I have assissted in multiple relocations for exotic animals of all types and do a tremendous amount of dillgence and research prior to relocating any animal species. It is with great pride that I am able to say I am affiliated with Survival Outreach Sanctuary. Judy Watson, the fiesty one that runs the place, not only works to provide quality of life, but raises the bar to provide the best housing, diet, and enrichment. Those that work at or with this organization are really a group of over-achievers

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Ms Watson, director of SOS is a caring compassionate animal advocate for exotic large cats as well her other rescued animals. This is a wonderful charitable organization that utilizes contributions wisely for the betterment of rescued wild animals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

went to the sanctuary on a recommendation by a friend after visiting one in tampa, fl that i was disappointed in (very commercialized and i understand they feed live rabbits-which is disgusting & uncalledfor). i am so impressed by the care given, the way they are fed, the devotion shown by judy watson and the volunteers i met, the cleanliness and the animals themselves. i learned so much about the tigers and lion and other animals including a sulcata tortoise! very friendly but professional environment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers