Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.955885
Write A Review
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

My girlfriend and I were visiting from New York City and had the opportunity to stay at Survival Outreach Sanctuary. We stayed in their beautiful cozy and intimate cabin located on the premises. We absolutely loved it! The cabin is well furnished and has a wildlife theme to it, which we thought was cute. For anyone looking to stay in a nice and intimate cabin while looking to get closer to the wilderness all while seeing numerous wild animals up close, I highly recommend this place! There is nothing like waking up to the growls of the numerous tigers and lions that are located on the premises. Needless to say, the experience was surreal and truly amazing. Being from New York and having only been to the Bronx Zoo I found my experience at the sanctuary to be much more fulfilling than the Zoo. The ability to see the animals up close without all the crowds and to see them being fed was probably the best part of the whole experience. It was also truly amazing to see the amount of care and level of importance that is provided for these animals on a daily basis. Each animal has their own large comfortable enclosure and is properly cared for everyday. Judy, the owner, and all her volunteers all work tirelessly to give all the animals the proper care they deserve. No animal goes unfed or uncared for. It is truly amazing the level of passion and care that is provided by everyone, especially by Judy. It is easily noticeable that she really loves and cares about all the animals. We really wish we could have stayed longer at the sanctuary but we are really looking forward to visiting again in the future!
August 23, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2012

My friend Judy has devoted her life to the wonderful creatures at her sanctury. She has headed out many times to rescue an unloved or abandoned wild animal. The animals are surrounded by a beautiful w... more

August 23, 2014

I have visited many times and volunteered at Survival Outreach Sanctuary for the past three months and can't stop raving about it. Judy Watson, the owner, has devoted her life to these animals and their care. Each animal has their own clean enclosure with a natural setting of trees, and grass. Medicine and veterinary care is provided if an animal has a health problem. In addition to her duties at the sanctuary, Judy has conducted classes for young children, teaching about the importance of the environment, and the respect for all living creatures. Having known Judy for over fifty years, I can attest to her integrity and her devotion to her animals. I would highly recommend this sanctuary for all ages.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none are needed

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2012

My friend Judy has devoted her life to the wonderful creatures at her sanctury. She has headed out many times to rescue an unloved or abandoned wild animal. The animals are surrounded by a beautiful wooded area and receive a daily dose of love and care. The volunteers at the sanctuary are the witnesses to the many acts of kindness performed by Judy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

Great educational facility. The animals are so healthy and loved. This was a great day spent learning about all the exotic and native wildlife. I would highly recommend this to everyone!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

This sanctuary is truly amazing. Every animal is well taken care of and happy. The enclosures are huge and the animals have all the entertainment and space to remain as active as possible. Judy, the director of the sanctuary, has a true passion for protecting and helping wildlife in any way she can. She makes sure to maintain the enclosures with adequate shade and the enclosures are cleaned out on a daily basis. Judy has a special bond with each and every animal at the sanctuary, and she would do anything and everything for each and every one of the animals. I've been given the amazing opportunity to intern at Survival Outreach Sanctuary and I must say it has been extremely fulfilling . It is so relieving to have found and work with an honest organization that strictly operates for the well being of the animals and not for money and greed. I encourage everyone that can visit to come and see this beautiful sanctuary with their own eyes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I began volunteering here after hearing about the sanctuary through my university. I was initially blown away by not only the animals, but the sanctuary itself. Tucked back in the woods off a small dirt road, this sanctuary has a beautiful natural setting with the enclosures for these animals integrated into the native foliage. It did not take much time to see that the animals here are provided for with great care. Judy is truly passionate in ensuring not only their health but also the general happiness and wellbeing of the animals. After talking to Judy and hearing the stories on the various animals I decided to do a summer internship here. I have enjoyed every moment of my time at this facility and recommend it to anyone who has an interest in animals. This place truly is one of a kind!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

I found out about Survival Outreach through my university. When I had the opportunity for a paid internship against this one I decided to stay here instead. From the moment I met Judy and she began to tell me the history of the animals and all of the stories that came with it I knew I wanted to be a part of this program. Now that I am here, I feel like I have learned more than I have in all my years of school. There is always something to work on, and not because it's lacking, but rather because Judy mantains the property up to date and takes the preventative measures necessary to keep the animals safe and happy. As the program director Judy is very knowledgable and has great teaching skills. She has allowed us the opportunity to partake in the daily activities of the animals, answers our questions, and guides us in the right direction. As far as the sanctuary itself, I have nothing but good things to say. The animal enclosures are always clean, they are large with lots of room for movement, and Judy has maintained a very natural environment for them. I am very thankful for the opportunity and I hope I can continue to be a part of these animals lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

I am an intern working at the sanctuary through the University of South Florida. I'm thankful for the opportunity to work here through the university as I likely never would have gotten the chance to otherwise. I love working here with Judy and the rest of the volunteers. The animals are great and well taken care of. The facility is great for the cats and is well kept. Its a fun work experience and is a great place to stop by if you're looking for a bit of education on big cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 19, 2014

more

June 19, 2014

I'm glad so my university gave me the chance to volunteer in this organization. As an animal lover and hopefully future veterinarian in this place I'm learning so much about the animals here. Judy the one who is in charge of this place, is so caring and loves all her animals. I've never met people before whom have the same love to animals as me until I came to volunteer at this place. I'm very glad I'm doing this and I'm sure I will continue on doing it even after my internship period is done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 27, 2013

I started volunteering at Survival Outreach sanctuary. My reasons were I already Knew the owner from 1998 and I know how much she loves all her animals and knows a lot animal husbandry of the animals ... more

May 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is the best sanctuary I have volunteered at. I have never been at a sanctuary where the animals are so well taken care of and given so much love and respect. They live in large habitats not just cages. They each have there own toys for enrichment. The health and welfare of the animals comes first. Judy Watson, the founder is an amazing woman who has devoted her life to the rescue and care of exotic and domestic animals but also to educating adults and children about the animals and conservation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 27, 2013

I started volunteering at Survival Outreach sanctuary. My reasons were I already Knew the owner from 1998 and I know how much she loves all her animals and knows a lot animal husbandry of the animals that are here. I was so impressed when I came here for the first time. First of all, she didn't cut down all the trees and when we built cages they were around the trees. It looks beautiful and keeps it cooler. Also, trees are all over the Sanctuary. Next she rescues animals as a true sanctuary does. Her animals get the right diet and supplements, enrichment and we spend time with all the animals. Also, the enclosures are large so that the animals can run around in them and play. Judy Watson, the owner is always working hard with or without volunteers. There is always a lot of work to be done! She is completely dedicated to the animals at Survival Outreach Sanctuary. The Sanctuary has tours which you would love on every Saturday at 11:00 am. The price is a donation and you give what you can.
The animals at the Sanctuary are relaxed and happy!!!! They know from the owner and volunteers that they are loved very much. The animals are well taken care of. They lead stress free lives.
When the owner takes in an animal that animal will be taken care of for the rest of his or her's life. This includes the animals already here. They are home for the rest of their lives.

written Mary Ann Reed, a volunteer















































Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no Changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Harry and I met Judy back in 2001 after reading a newspaper article about her sanctuary,being impressed with the story I called and asked if I could volunteer some time.That's how it started but what a life changing day that was since then and a real education along the way.I have learned about animals and the caring for them on many different levels.Feeding and dietary food prep,cleaning and sanitation,medical issues and care,enclosure construction and habitat.There's also the little facts I've learned about the animals like existing numbers and endangered in the wilds,genus species names ect.With Judy I have done educational shows at schools and colleges to raise awareness about the ecology and recycling to make a better planet for all living things on this planet.We are big into animal rights and saving/rescue of any animal that needs help. There's so much to learn and Judy has decades of knowledge and experience and she loves to teach.I plan on being apart of S.O.S. as long as I can still be useful.I'm smarter now then back in 2001 but there's always something to learn and experience and Judy is just right for life trip.Thanks Judy,really thanks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers