Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.949155
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
April 16, 2014

more

April 16, 2014

My name is Harry and I met Judy back in 2001 after reading a newspaper article about her sanctuary,being impressed with the story I called and asked if I could volunteer some time.That's how it started but what a life changing day that was since then and a real education along the way.I have learned about animals and the caring for them on many different levels.Feeding and dietary food prep,cleaning and sanitation,medical issues and care,enclosure construction and habitat.There's also the little facts I've learned about the animals like existing numbers and endangered in the wilds,genus species names ect.With Judy I have done educational shows at schools and colleges to raise awareness about the ecology and recycling to make a better planet for all living things on this planet.We are big into animal rights and saving/rescue of any animal that needs help. There's so much to learn and Judy has decades of knowledge and experience and she loves to teach.I plan on being apart of S.O.S. as long as I can still be useful.I'm smarter now then back in 2001 but there's always something to learn and experience and Judy is just right for life trip.Thanks Judy,really thanks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I've found out about this organization through my university when I was looking to complete my internship. I can't say enough thanks to the people who helped me to be part of this organization. The amount of love and care the animals get at the sanctuary is incredible. Every day helping there is rewarding and fulfilling.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

One of my favorite places. So Much hard work and effort goes into this sanctuary to care for these beautiful animals. They are all very well cared for. Their fundraisers are always fun and entertaining, and i just love watching the beauty in these animals, It inspires me to help big cats and animals in general. a true blessing to have so close to my home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more

August 29, 2013

We were treated to a personal one on one up close encounter with many different animals. Very caring home and very loved. Judy is friendly and welcoming.
Thanks SOS for being there

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 15, 2010

In the United States, greedy, uncaring people breed exotic wild animals for profit, selling them to people who have no idea of what they are getting into. Generally, these wild animals outgrow the re... more

August 29, 2013

I said it in 2010 and it still apples. "In the United States, greedy, uncaring people breed exotic wild animals for profit, selling them to people who have no idea of what they are getting into. Generally, these wild animals outgrow the resources of their owners or become too hard to handle, and they become disposable, a sad fate for an animal simply exhibiting the wildness of their species and doing what is quite natural to them. SOS provides a spacious, quiet, natural home for these animals with habitat ammenities each species would find in the wild. Here, they can live out their lives peacefully with food and care provided by qualified volunteers and veterinarians. In addition, Judy and her volunteers conduct important educational outreach programs in an effort to eradicate the use and abuse of wild animals."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This is an extremely well-run organization, and they continue to make improvements in their public education program which is so important in this world of a deteriorating environment and increased wildlife exploitation. I have no changes to make, but volunteers and donations are welcome!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2010

In the United States, greedy, uncaring people breed exotic wild animals for profit, selling them to people who have no idea of what they are getting into. Generally, these wild animals outgrow the resources of their owners or become too hard to handle, and they become disposable, a sad fate for an animal simply exhibiting the wildness of their species and doing what is quite natural to them. SOS provides a spacious, quiet, natural home for these animals with habitat ammenities each species would find in the wild. Here, they can live out their lives peacefully with food and care provided by qualified volunteers and veterinarians. In addition, Judy and her volunteers conduct important educational outreach programs in an effort to eradicate the use and abuse of wild animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the peace and serenity of the entire sanctuary. The habitat provided for the animals is what they would experience in the wild, and they are relaxed and happy.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

extremely professional, dedicated, knowledgeable, and caring. They truely love all the animals.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

buy more land, hire people to work and rely less on volunteers, and take in more wildlife needing permanent homes.

Ways to make it better...

I had more money to donate!

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

funding as with all non-profit organizations doing work with wildlife. Too often, wildlife are at the bottom of the ladder in the charitable minds of people as most have had no experience with them.

One thing I'd also say is that...

I am impressed with this organization. It provides necessary sanctuary to exploited wildlife, and until there comes a day when this exploitation is eliminated, this organization will be an invaluable asset to society.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I was invited to a very different birthday party in January. The birthday was for Little Girl a 22 year old cougar and Princess Rajah a 20 year old tiger, little did I know that this party would change my life. That day I was excited to see all the wonderful animals Judy has rescued and wanted nothing more but to help, so I left my information. When I got home I couldn't wait to go back, so I went that Saturday, then twice a week and at one point everyday. I have been part of some very exciting projecst like building Savana's the lionesses safety lock out and helping put together the cabin. I lived in Spring Hill for many years and had no idea I was so close to such a great place. All I do now is tell people about SOS, strangers, friends, and family. I always knew the importance of helping the animals and the environment, but I now feel a need to share that knowledge with others of all ages, because there is a great bond between animals and humans. We are here at SOS to teach others about nature, the animals and the balance.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing I would like to see is more volunteers, with all the animals come lots of projects big and small that need more hands. We have a lot of great helpers but could always use more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

SOS is the first animal sanctuary I visited and I think it is a great place to bring your family and to come and volunteer, I had no idea what it takes to take care of all the wonderful cats and animals. Judy has each ones needs and health as her top priority and everyone that comes becomes attached to each one in their own way. Weather it be Princess for her poise, Rajah for his playfulness, Natalia for her love of water, Shoshana for her attention, etc i could go on all day. If you like helping animals or would like to see some really cool ones, this is the place to be. I am not a nature person but the peace of being out here makes one.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

I started volunteering at Survival Outreach sanctuary. My reasons were I already Knew the owner from 1998 and I know how much she loves all her animals and knows a lot animal husbandry of the animals that are here. I was so impressed when I came here for the first time. First of all, she didn't cut down all the trees and when we built cages they were around the trees. It looks beautiful and keeps it cooler. Also, trees are all over the Sanctuary. Next she rescues animals as a true sanctuary does. Her animals get the right diet and supplements, enrichment and we spend time with all the animals. Also, the enclosures are large so that the animals can run around in them and play. Judy Watson, the owner is always working hard with or without volunteers. There is always a lot of work to be done! She is completely dedicated to the animals at Survival Outreach Sanctuary. The Sanctuary has tours which you would love on every Saturday at 11:00 am. The price is a donation and you give what you can.
The animals at the Sanctuary are relaxed and happy!!!! They know from the owner and volunteers that they are loved very much. The animals are well taken care of. They lead stress free lives.
When the owner takes in an animal that animal will be taken care of for the rest of his or her's life. This includes the animals already here. They are home for the rest of their lives.

written Mary Ann Reed, a volunteer















































Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no Changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 27, 2013

more

August 27, 2013

I've volunteered at SOS several times now and I'm excited to get back. I'm really amazed at the level of care and the endless amount of hard work that goes into maintaining the sanctuary. The SOS staff does it all out of love. All of the animals have great areas in which they live. In each environment the cats have a place to jump up, a ball to play with, and water to play in. SOS is a great place to have an up close and personal Experience with a big cat, while maintaining a natural separation. SOS does not put money before the sanctity of the cats. That is a sign of a true animal lover.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Send the goats to charm school

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013

more

July 19, 2013

I came to Survival Outreach Sanctuary in November 2012. My son Jared, who is 13 was in need of volunteer hours to fulfill a reqirement as a member of the National Junior Honor Society. What I found was that volunteer opportunites are limited for children under 16 and he really wanted to give his time to animals.
I reached out to Judy Watson at SOS and was overjoyed when she said that children were not only welcomed but encouraged to volunteer! From our very first day at orientation we both knew we found the right place and we have been there ever since!!
The animals in Judy's care are loved beyond measure as is reflected in their care and enrichment. They always come first and you can see they are happy and healthy. SOS is staffed entirely of volunteers, and 100% of donations go toward animal care.
I can tell you that we have worked harder than we ever have in our lives, sweat more than I care to admitt, and put in some really long hours. But when the day is done and you sit down and hear Jayla (cougar) calling out with her distinctave voice or see Rajah (tiger) lounging on his back you know it is all worth it!


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers