Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Survival International works to to educate the public and employ campaigns that protect the lands and traditions of the most vulnerable peoples on our planet. Through educational outreach, dialogue, and global cooperation, Survival International has achieved "real" results and continues to fight for those who have little resources to fight for themselves. What intrigues me most about Survival International and their aims is the intersection between human and environmental rights. The land which tribal people inhabit is not just a resource to capitalized on. For them it is a home, in all senses of the word - a territory rich with tradition, religion, language, and ancestral knowledge that hangs in a fragile balance of the ever-industrializing world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Survival International is one of the few non-profits that understand indigenous people don't need to be "saved", they aren't in need of "development" or "modernizing" or any other term that is a euphemism for being colonized and exploited. Indigenous peoples need to be left alone and decide their own futures, and this organization fights to ensure that basic human right is upheld. The situation of indigenous peoples is very unique and usually unaddressed by other service work. Survival has the respect to treat indigenous peoples as equals, and gives them an international platform to tell their stories and share their opinions, not those of the governments oppressing them or the "experts" on them. Without Survival Internationals efforts to change the public opinion and stereotyping of tribal peoples, I believe many tribes would already have been massacred. When in university I held a fundraiser that was used to assist a project Survival International had to raise funds for court cases in Brazil, to protect Amazonian Indian land and Uncontacted Indians. I brought in Andean musicians to play a benefit show, and was proud to help out. This was when Survival had yet to establish an office in the US. Now that we're blessed to have an office in California, I hope to do even more work to support the efforts of this fine organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The language, culture and identity of these indigenous groups is a precious resource that needs to be protected and preserved. Survival International does a great job of identifying these at-risk populations and showing through their excellent website how people can act to try to make a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Survival International is an important voice for the members of tribal communities who have become more and more vulnerable to abuse and exploitation by outsiders. Survival International’s work to protect and preserve the identity, lands, and traditional ways of life of tribal peoples includes educating us of their rights as a people and to the resources found on their lands and territories on which they depend for their economic, spiritual, cultural, and physical well-being. After showing Survival International’s film on uncontacted tribes to my 6th grade class, I was so proud to discover that my students realized our duty to safeguard the integrity of the members of tribal peoples. My students asked me to thank everyone at Survival International for your outstanding work! Thank you!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Survival International plays such a major role in advocating for an issue that is largely unrepresented in mainstream discussions. The organization takes a highly ethical stance on who they will and will not accept funding from and in allowing access to all of their materials to any interested parties. The work that they do should not go unnoticed. We need more compassionate and committed individuals like the employees of Survival International.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Survival International is a bold and unique international tribal rights organization. Though they've been around for decades, their US office seems to be pretty new and I'm excited for the future of Survival International USA. I love their website and social media outreach. They do a fantastic job at engaging and promoting important issues around the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Survival International USA is an important non-profit with a unique mission. The organization shines a light on the plight of indigenous populations and advocates for their rights. They are excellent advocates and activists. I wish there were more people and organizations committed to this cause.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Survival International USA website is loaded with great photos and information about indigenous tribes. So poignant. These tribes have little chance of preserving their lands and not being taken advantage of by corporations interested in the natural resources. I wish more countries would sign the International Law to protect the native lands. I'm glad to be informed and see that this non-profit has engaged in on the indigenous people's behalf. Dawn

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

The tribal peoples of the world are among the most voiceless, and Survival is their conduit to the rest of the world. As an educator and a human rights activist, I am moved by their stories and stimulated to act to prevent their disappearance from our planet. It offers a wealth of information and resources. Survival helps to educate the rest of the world about these dignified and extraordinary peoples; indeed, we have much to learn from them. Survivor helps us do just that. Mary Jo Kwiatek

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Survival sheds light on the problems facing tribal peoples in a way that no other organization does. They give a voice to an extremely under-represented group of people. It is overall an amazing organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers