Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Survival International is a stellar movement! Through the resources on their website and helpful, direct interaction I have been able to write a worthwhile article, which was accepted and published online by Youth-Leader.com. Youth-Leader is another great organization dedicated to positive news.

My first article was about at-risk tribes in general. Survival's webpage is loaded with wonderful imagery and in depth organization. They have been protecting tribal people's for decades and the wealth of their experience is made quite accessible. For example, before I turned in my essay I made a direct connection to a wonderful staff person at Survival. The person reviewed my article and gave me sincere encouragement as well as some helpful tips.

Now I am creating a second article on the Awa tribe in the Brazilian Amazon and again the website and staff have been most helpful and encouraging.

The dire need for protection to the Awa and other tribal people's is being highlighted by the great work Survival International does.

Thank you to Survival International!

Sincerely,

Yannis Breit-Hofberg
yebh301@gmail.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes at the current time are necessary in my opinion, but I have total faith that Survival will adapt responsibly with the evolution of our world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

SURVIVAL IS A GREAT ORGANIZATION THAT DOES WORK THAT'S MORE IMPORTANT THAN MANY PEOPLE REALIZE. UNTIL I TOOK A CLASS STUDYING THE ISSUES SURROUNDING NATURAL RESOURCE EXTRACTION AND THE RIGHTS OF INDIGENOUS PEOPLES, I DID NOT KNOW THE EXTENT TO WHICH TRIBAL PEOPLES WERE LOSING THEIR LAND AND THEIR RIGHTS. I BECAME AWARE OF THE HUMAN RIGHTS VIOLATIONS THAT TRIBAL PEOPLES WORLDWIDE FACE, AND THE UNIQUE CULTURES AND TRADITIONS TAHT ARE LOST WHEN TRIBES ARE KICKED OF THEIR LAND OR LOSE THEIR LIVELIHOODS.
THE PEOPLE I'VE MET THROUGH SURVIVAL ARE DEDICATED TO THE CAUSE, AND THE ORGANIZATION HAS BUILT MUTUALLY RESPECTFUL RELATIONSHIPS WITH THE COMMUNITIES IT WORKS WITH. SURVIVAL IS COMMITTED TO ITS MISSION AND WORKS AS LONG AS IT TAKES TO ACHIEVE RESULTS IN THEIR CAMPAIGNS. I LIKE THAT SURVIVAL CAMPAIGNS FOR THE TRIBES THAT NEED THE MOST HELP AND SUPPORT AND FACE IMMEDIATE THREATS. I ALSO LOVE THAT THEY USE NEW AND CREATIVE WAYS TO CAMPAIGN THROUGH ONLINE MEDIA WORLDWIDE AND WITHIN THEIR LOCAL COMMUNITIES. SURVIVAL IS VERY OPEN AND TRANSPARENT AND WORKS TO HELP COMMUNITY MEMBERS GET INVOLVED IN THE CAMPAIGNS THEY ARE MOST PASSIONATE ABOUT.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Survival is a wonderful organization that seeks to protect the lives and livelihoods of tribal people around the world. I love Survival because of their transparency and their commitment to their goals. As stated on survivalinternational.org, some of their campaigns take decades. Survival's sensitivity towards language and representation are far ahead of other organizations doing comparable work. Internally, it is a very cohesive organization where the employees truly believe in their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes. We have good goals and are working towards them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Working hard to protect those unable to protect themselves, Survival International is a fantastic organisation that endeavours to defend the dignity and the livelihoods of indigenous people around the world. Choosing to maintain their integrity by the refusal of donations from corporations and governments, Survival relies on the goodwill of the public and the hard work of its staff to ensure what may be the very survival of various tribes and communities. Working with Survival this summer in their San Francisco office was a great experience, giving me an insight into the realities of sharing Survival's message as well as managing the reactions of various journalists and networks across the US. It was also great to work in an environment where people truly cared for the cause and where you feel like your work really made a difference in some way. If you're looking for an opportunity to work with an organisation that makes a real difference, challenges you and really makes you feel welcome, then look no further.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers