Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

Survival International is a stellar movement! Through the resources on their website and helpful, direct interaction I have been able to write a worthwhile article, which was accepted and published online by Youth-Leader.com. Youth-Leader is another great organization dedicated to positive news.

My first article was about at-risk tribes in general. Survival's webpage is loaded with wonderful imagery and in depth organization. They have been protecting tribal people's for decades and the wealth of their experience is made quite accessible. For example, before I turned in my essay I made a direct connection to a wonderful staff person at Survival. The person reviewed my article and gave me sincere encouragement as well as some helpful tips.

Now I am creating a second article on the Awa tribe in the Brazilian Amazon and again the website and staff have been most helpful and encouraging.

The dire need for protection to the Awa and other tribal people's is being highlighted by the great work Survival International does.

Thank you to Survival International!

Sincerely,

Yannis Breit-Hofberg
yebh301@gmail.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes at the current time are necessary in my opinion, but I have total faith that Survival will adapt responsibly with the evolution of our world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Survival International works to to educate the public and employ campaigns that protect the lands and traditions of the most vulnerable peoples on our planet. Through educational outreach, dialogue, and global cooperation, Survival International has achieved "real" results and continues to fight for those who have little resources to fight for themselves. What intrigues me most about Survival International and their aims is the intersection between human and environmental rights. The land which tribal people inhabit is not just a resource to capitalized on. For them it is a home, in all senses of the word - a territory rich with tradition, religion, language, and ancestral knowledge that hangs in a fragile balance of the ever-industrializing world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Survival International is one of the few non-profits that understand indigenous people don't need to be "saved", they aren't in need of "development" or "modernizing" or any other term that is a euphemism for being colonized and exploited. Indigenous peoples need to be left alone and decide their own futures, and this organization fights to ensure that basic human right is upheld. The situation of indigenous peoples is very unique and usually unaddressed by other service work. Survival has the respect to treat indigenous peoples as equals, and gives them an international platform to tell their stories and share their opinions, not those of the governments oppressing them or the "experts" on them. Without Survival Internationals efforts to change the public opinion and stereotyping of tribal peoples, I believe many tribes would already have been massacred. When in university I held a fundraiser that was used to assist a project Survival International had to raise funds for court cases in Brazil, to protect Amazonian Indian land and Uncontacted Indians. I brought in Andean musicians to play a benefit show, and was proud to help out. This was when Survival had yet to establish an office in the US. Now that we're blessed to have an office in California, I hope to do even more work to support the efforts of this fine organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

SURVIVAL IS A GREAT ORGANIZATION THAT DOES WORK THAT'S MORE IMPORTANT THAN MANY PEOPLE REALIZE. UNTIL I TOOK A CLASS STUDYING THE ISSUES SURROUNDING NATURAL RESOURCE EXTRACTION AND THE RIGHTS OF INDIGENOUS PEOPLES, I DID NOT KNOW THE EXTENT TO WHICH TRIBAL PEOPLES WERE LOSING THEIR LAND AND THEIR RIGHTS. I BECAME AWARE OF THE HUMAN RIGHTS VIOLATIONS THAT TRIBAL PEOPLES WORLDWIDE FACE, AND THE UNIQUE CULTURES AND TRADITIONS TAHT ARE LOST WHEN TRIBES ARE KICKED OF THEIR LAND OR LOSE THEIR LIVELIHOODS.
THE PEOPLE I'VE MET THROUGH SURVIVAL ARE DEDICATED TO THE CAUSE, AND THE ORGANIZATION HAS BUILT MUTUALLY RESPECTFUL RELATIONSHIPS WITH THE COMMUNITIES IT WORKS WITH. SURVIVAL IS COMMITTED TO ITS MISSION AND WORKS AS LONG AS IT TAKES TO ACHIEVE RESULTS IN THEIR CAMPAIGNS. I LIKE THAT SURVIVAL CAMPAIGNS FOR THE TRIBES THAT NEED THE MOST HELP AND SUPPORT AND FACE IMMEDIATE THREATS. I ALSO LOVE THAT THEY USE NEW AND CREATIVE WAYS TO CAMPAIGN THROUGH ONLINE MEDIA WORLDWIDE AND WITHIN THEIR LOCAL COMMUNITIES. SURVIVAL IS VERY OPEN AND TRANSPARENT AND WORKS TO HELP COMMUNITY MEMBERS GET INVOLVED IN THE CAMPAIGNS THEY ARE MOST PASSIONATE ABOUT.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

Survival is a wonderful organization that seeks to protect the lives and livelihoods of tribal people around the world. I love Survival because of their transparency and their commitment to their goals. As stated on survivalinternational.org, some of their campaigns take decades. Survival's sensitivity towards language and representation are far ahead of other organizations doing comparable work. Internally, it is a very cohesive organization where the employees truly believe in their work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes. We have good goals and are working towards them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

After becoming a religious studies major in university, I started developing a strong interest in the traditions and cultures of native and ancient peoples the world over. And after years of research and study in cultural anthropology and the ways and spiritual beliefs of native and ancient peoples from around the globe I have become convinced that these peoples and their way of life are the only link we have to a truly balanced and harmonic state of being. One that brings us into a healthy equilibrium with the surrounding environment, within ourselves, and with the collective whole of humanity. Survival International is one of the few organizations around that takes it upon themselves to make sure we do not lose this ever more tenuous connection. They help, assist, and defend cultures and peoples, who in today's modern world have virtually no voice of their own. And they do so in a manner that is highly efficient, organized, and effective. I am incredibly thankful for everything that they do, and will without a doubt be a life time supporter of their efforts. They are doing a great service to not only the peoples, tribes, and communities they aim to directly support and sustain through their efforts but to the whole of humanity.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Working hard to protect those unable to protect themselves, Survival International is a fantastic organisation that endeavours to defend the dignity and the livelihoods of indigenous people around the world. Choosing to maintain their integrity by the refusal of donations from corporations and governments, Survival relies on the goodwill of the public and the hard work of its staff to ensure what may be the very survival of various tribes and communities. Working with Survival this summer in their San Francisco office was a great experience, giving me an insight into the realities of sharing Survival's message as well as managing the reactions of various journalists and networks across the US. It was also great to work in an environment where people truly cared for the cause and where you feel like your work really made a difference in some way. If you're looking for an opportunity to work with an organisation that makes a real difference, challenges you and really makes you feel welcome, then look no further.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

The language, culture and identity of these indigenous groups is a precious resource that needs to be protected and preserved. Survival International does a great job of identifying these at-risk populations and showing through their excellent website how people can act to try to make a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

I worked for Survival International USA for three years and can say with certainty that you won't find a leaner non-profit out there. Despite operating on a small budget, Survival has an extraordinary impact on the lives of tribal peoples everywhere, bringing their struggles to worldwide attention and advocating for their human rights to remain on their ancestral lands and live as they choose to. Perhaps the greatest testament of all to Survival's positive work comes from a tribal leader himself: Davi Yanomami of Brazil's Yanomami people has said that without Survival, his people, quite simply, would no longer exist.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Appreciate Survival International USA's ability to contribute to the indigenous people of countries meaningful to me, that are a part of my heritage, like Sweden and Canada. Americans devastated their indigenous tribal culture. It's the least we can do to help those that still exist in these modern times. Sincerely, Elaine Anderson

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers