Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
October 6, 2014

more

October 6, 2014

Volunteering at Surrey means I have both interesting challenges such as extracting data from a data base or building racks with my husband for the beautiful new building in Devon and a chance to interact with other volunteers, the supportive staff and the members as I serve lunch or greet people in the lobby. Lots of people volunteer for a specific job that’s good for them but I like doing different things.
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

Surrey Services provides a full set of services to enable senior citizens to stay in their homes with dignity and continue to contribute to the community. Services include: transportation, health-care, home-care, maintenance home maintenance services, and a full set of activities. The lunch program which promotes social interaction is excellent. The chef prepares excellent meals and they are a real bargain for $3.00. It is not necessary to be a member to attend the lunch program. Lunch is served on Monday thru Thursday and 2 Fridays each month. Surrey has just moved to a new facility in Devon with an exercise facility that accepts Silver Sneakers. The exercise equipment has been selected specifically for senior citizens. The Surrey staff and the volunteers are very friendly and always welcome new members and volunteers.
December 6, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 6, 2013

This fantastic community-based organization helped 7,500 seniors just last year. As a long-time volunteer, I have watched this organization grow from a front row seat—and now as a board member too, I can attest to the professionalism and compassion of the staff and the entire board of directors. It is one of the best run non-profits with which I have been associated. They have over 1,000 volunteers plus a staff of professionals, so they get the job done effectively and efficiently and make every dollar count. Last year Surrey provided 23,000 rides, 33,000 home-delivered meals, and 78,000 hours of home-based services such as home care. And at their five centers, they provide exercise, social and educational programs all year long—meeting our seniors’ needs so they can stay in their own homes and live life! I’m sold on Surrey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the news about this non-profit model to more communities so they can replicate it, using our 30 years of experience to help more seniors stay independent and living in their own homes--which is where they really want to be.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2011

more

January 10, 2011

The Main Line Antiques Show is a Benefit for Surrey Services for Seniors. The show provides significant funds for Surrey and expands goodwill and awareness in the community. Distinguished art and antiques dealers offer for sale beautiful objects for the seasoned and new collector. Visitors to the show experience how art and antiques will enrich their homes and lives and learn the stories these objects tell about previous owners and times. The loan exhibit and lecture program "Visiting the Main Line - Railroad Ties" places the show in our home towns along the Main Line. Surrey helps older adults stay in their homes and stay connected with the community.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

reaching out beyond their member constituency to new audiences

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

engage the membership of Surrey more actively in the Antiques Show and engage the Antiques Show audience more actively in Surrey

January 7, 2011

more

January 7, 2011

Surrey Services has sponsored The Main Line Antiques Show since it began, bringing 30+ antiques dealers to our community. The show based on the Main Line features lectures and an exhibit about different issues related to The Main Line. This year the theme was The Main Line Railroad, allowing visitors to discover the history of the main line how it developed and stories about the Railroad and how it impacted the development of our community.

The Main Line Antiques Show located at The Radnor Valley Country Club in Villanova raises significant funds for Surrey Services for Seniors whilst at the same time bringing beautiful antiques and art works into our community by these 30+ dealers from up and down the East Coast.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering to help seniors clean up their yards, clean homes, and seeing the everyday involvement of seniors in our community in the different programs Surrey runs, such as Choir, Computer classes, lunch, yoga and fitness classes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would want Surrey to cover a wider area to help more people age in place.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

lead activities or teach a class, provide transportation or shopping services for a member, perform clerical work, offer companionship and services such as daily phone call check in or reading for visually impaired, light gardening or minor home repair Volunteer