Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.166675
Write A Review
February 20, 2013

more

February 20, 2013

Our 3 children have all participated in many plays with STAR, dating back to 1999. They all have loved every performance and excitedly return each year. It is well worth the cost which is much less than other camps at which we have looked. The all volunteer parents that run the organization are truly remarkable and clearly trying their best.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My 3 children started participating with STAR when the shows were held at Relay Town Hall -a small intimate venue. I was impressed with the volunteers and those who dedicated their time and energy to the workshops. Because of the positive and uplifting people we came back and became more involved. My children loved having the opportunity to perform in a welcoming, no pressure atmosphere. Their all volunteer Board of Directors encouraged new members and held yearly open elections. I thus decided to help and stepped up to serve on their Board. So much goes on behind the scenes before workshops begin and the opportunity to serve has broadened my own understanding of theater productions. If you are looking to drop your kids and run the other way then this may not be "it" for you. If you are looking for an organization that offers opportunities for creative growth, personal development and leadership opportunities for children, young adults as well as the young at heart in the community then STAR is definitely worth checking out! http://www.starltd.org

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

My daughter has been involved with STAR shows since 2011. I, personally, have been doing theatre for over 25 years at various companies around the world. Rarely have I seen a theatre group give so much of themselves during productions! The staff at STAR go above and beyond every summer. They put on amazing shows with the youth of Catonsville, Arbutus, and Relay. Last summer (2012), we had a power outage due to a storm that hit our area. Other theatre companies would have cancelled my daughter's production, but not STAR! They brought in generators and the show went on!! Not only do they put on a great show, but the organization as a whole (board of directors, volunteers, parents of actors) are a fun group to be part of. You will enjoy your summers with STAR!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

A true gem in the rough. The group deals with kids 4-18 starting them with the basic skills of being on stage in front of an audience and memorizing lines all the way up to being a part of a full length musical with a live pit, multiple part harmonies, and full tech. The group offers kids and young adults the chance to not only star in a musical performance, but the chance to direct, music direct, choreograph, stage manage, perform in the pit, and much more. STAR has worked with other non-profits over the years, including Santa Claus Anonymous, and supports the Patient's Entertainment Fund at Spring Grove Hospital. Each camp is designed to fit the needs of the child's age, with the younger camps being during the day and only a week or two long, to the old camp rehearsing weeknights over the entire summer. I have worked with this group the past 7 years and hope to continue. Many of the kids that participate go on to major in the Arts at college and/or work for STAR. Keep an eye out for STAR performing in the annual Catonsville 4th of July Parade!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Sorry, not a fan. Three daughters participated in three different shows here over a two-year period. We found the volunteers to be disorganized and sometimes rude, with obvious cliques that favored insiders. And, unlike most theater companies, it was a pay-to-play system. We've moved on to more welcoming theater companies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

STAR provides summer theater workshops for children, ages 6-18. My daughter has participated for many years and loves it. We are an all volunteer board and also have many parent volunteers to help with running the workshops. It's great to work with a group of dedicated volunteers and see the kids have fun and put on a terrific show.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers