Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
12.27273345
Write A Review
March 14, 2013

more

March 14, 2013

Interesting how crack addicts and pill poppers can raise money for the troops coming home, I was at a local Wal-Mart to buy some shoes for my daughter. upon walking in I noticed a a rough looking female maybe in her late thirties early forties talking real low stating if I could help donate something for care packages for homeless troops, I replied "sure,when I come back out with some change" so after some shopping I was exiting the store began to approach the half-ass table display I witnessed the lady placing something in her mouth, I thought ok maybe it's meds when I finally reached the table I asked, " so how is your day?, how does SUPPORT OUR TROOPS FOUNDATION help, carepackages she stated $5 donation will go towards a one for the troops," I said that's great I will like to do a little more let me go back in and withdraw some cash, being a parent of a CORPSMAN I come back out the lady seemed spacey not intouched with reality eyes. rolling around half open, suspicious I would say I asked if she is ok she mumbled some quiet words I'm fine giggling afterwards, after realizing going with my gut instincts I did donate nothing added up. If I'm wrong and maybe the lady had a medical condition I apologize.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2012

more

August 20, 2012

IF SEEING IS BELIEVING, THEN GO TO THIS LINK AND CHECK FOR YOURSELF: http://www.sos.state.md.us/charity/searchcharity.aspx TYPE IN SUPPORT OUR TROOPS FOUNDATION SCROLL DOWN AND YOU WILL SEE THEIR TOTAL EXPENSES AND COST, NOW I KNOW PERSONALLY WHEN I WORKED FOR UNITED WAY THEY HAVE BAD NUMBERS!!! THE SPOT WHERE IT STATES USE OF PAID FUNDRAISERS SOTF PUTS NO BULLSHIT, HOW COME THE NUMBERS DONT MAKE SENSE FOR A GOOD OLE HONEST CHARITY????OUR FIGHTING MEN AND WOMEN WILL BE SICKENED IF THEY KNOW A ORGANIZATION SUCH AS THIS ONE IS USING THEIR SACRIFICE TO MAKE MONEY, HELL I EVEN LEFT UNITED WAY AFTER FINDING OUT HOW MUCH OUR BOARD WAS MAKING OFF SADNESS OF OTHERS IN POVERTY.. RESEARCH AND YOU SHALL SEE THEY ASK FOR CASH DONT GIVE, IF YOU WANT TO GIVE, THEN HAND IT DIRECTLY TO A SOLDIER,MARINE,AIRMEN,SAILOR ETC.. p.s. LETS JUST SAY A CERTAIN FOUNDATION WILL NO LONGER HUSTLE PATRONS AT A NATIONAL EVENT WE THE PEOPLE CAN NOT STAND BY AND LET ORGANIZATIONS TAKE ADVANTAGE OF GOOD CITIZENS

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This group is still out there stealing peoples money. Please help shut them down. Look at the truth... 93% to the fund raisers????????Support Our Troops Foundation, Inc.
John Beckner,P.O. Box 9287 7329 Holabird Avenue, Suite 4,Dundalk,MD 21222 (Baltimore County) Phone (443)
722-6772
Disclaimer - This organization is in compliance with the Maryland Solicitations Act.
Income Expenses
Charitable Contributions: $25,508.00 Charitable Program: $13,615.00
Total Income: $25,508.00 Management & General Expenses: $23,698.00
Fund Raising Expenses: $0.00
Total: Fundraising & Mgt Expenses: $23,698.00(93%)
Percentage denotes amount of money spent on management and fund-raising for reporting year. Financial figures were obtained from organization’s IRS 990 report.
Year Represented: 2010 Uses a Paid Fundraiser: No
Purpose: To provide care packages, may include but are not limited to clothing, food, soap, shampoo, razor blades, and blankets. We will contact vet hospitals to arrange standdowns.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are Those people in this world who come along and touch the lives of others for the better. I just truly need to say THANK YOU S.O.T.F. the fact that not only did you help me in my time of need, but you made me feel like I wasnt begging or receiving a hand out. You guys really conduct yourself with pride, dignity, and respect!!! THE LORD WALKS WITH ANGELS LIKE YOU!!!! AMEN!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 15, 2012

more

May 15, 2012

This is a wonderful group of caring individuals who have touched an old vets life. They gave me food a place to sleep and even helped with a job placement program, I cant speak for anyone else But my expierence was truly life changing. Thank You Support Our Troops, God Bless America!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 17, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 17, 2012

Do your homework before you donate to this group. They raise thousands of dollars a year pay their staff memvers and only donate about thirty care packages a year. Do the math for your self who is truely wining sure aint the troops who put their bodies on the line for freedom! And organisations like this, prey on these heros to fill pockets. I protect liberty

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 24, 2011

more

December 24, 2011

please be advised to all whom contribute to this organization!!!! if you follow the money you shall see it end up in the pockets of some of their staff members...................... felony charges wow scam watcher. thats good input if it were to be true

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 16, 2011

more

December 16, 2011

I worked with many of non profits in the past and have never worked with one as willing to help any soldier ( vet) with a problem if they were able too. As you know it is very hard to find some one self less enough to give countless hours to something with no payment but self satifaction. Its has been a long road and iam sure its going to get longer but I stand behind my soldiers(vets) and when I cant I will stand in front of them. SO remember Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of all who threaten it!~!!!! SUPPORT OUR TROOPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 15, 2011

more

December 15, 2011

I TOO GAVE A DONATION AT A BIKE SHOW AND WAS WITH THE WOMAN WHO SAW THIS GROUP AT HOOTERS, AND THEY WERE LAUGHING ABOUT HOW MUCH MONEY THEY SCAMMED. THE ONLY MISTAKE IS THE NAME IT WASNT SUPPORT OUR TROOPS, IT WAS AID OUR VETERANS FROM ESSEX MARYLAND!! THE MISTAKE WAS MADE BEACUSE BOTH GROUPS ATTENDED THE EVENT AND BOTH GROUPS HAD FLAGS THAT READ "SUPPORT OUR TROOPS" BUT THE SUPPORT OUR TROOPS FOUNDATION HAD ACTUALLY RETIRED VETS, THE "AID OUR VETERANS" GROUPS DIRECTOR OF CHARITABLE GIVING SUZETTE STEELE HAS SEVERAL FELONY THEFT CHARGES, INCLUDING CHECK FRAUD ALONG WITH THE PRESIDENT OF AOV THEY BOTH HAVE SEVERAL FELONY THEFT CHARGES. UNFORTUNATLY ACCORDING TO THE SECRETARY OF STATE ITS NOT ILLEGAL TO SIT ON THE BOARD OF A NON-PROFIT WITH SUCH CHARGES, HOWEVER THE "SUPPORT OUR TROOPS ORGANIZATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS HAS NO CRIMINAL RECORDS AT ALL AND FROM WHAT I SAW THEY CONDUCTED THEMSELFES IN A PROFESSIONAL MANNER, ITS UNFORTUNATE THAT THE CONFUSION WAS MADE HOPE PREVIOS COMMENTS DID NOT HURT THE SUPPORT OUR TROOPS GROUP SORRY FOR THE CONFUSION, WATCH OUT FOR THE AID OUR VETERANS SCAMMERS!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 29, 2011

more

November 29, 2011

I FORE WARN ANYONE WHOM GIVES TO THIS ORGANIZATION THEY ARE VERY SHADY AND UN WILLING TO PROVIDE INFORMATION ON THIER ORGANIZATION SUCH AS WHERE THE MONEY GOES? WHY THEY HAVE SELF PROCLAIMED DRUG ADDICTS AS PART OF THEIR "VOLUNTEER" STAFF. I AM AN FEMALE EMPLOYEE OF A PROMOTIONAL COMPANY ADVANSTARr OPERATIONS MANAGER TO BE EXACT. WHILE WALKING AROUND CHECKING ON EXHIBTORS AT A NATIONAL MOTORCYCLE EVENT SAN MATEO CA. I APPROACHED SUPPPORT OUR TROOPS FOUNDATION'S BOOTH ONLY TO BE UNCOMFORTABLY TOUCHED BY ONE OF THEIR VOLUNTEERS BY THE NAME "DON" HE WAS ACTING LIKE A RUDE ARROGNANT MALE CHAUVINIST INDIVIDUAL, I MADE A COMPLAINT REPORT TO MY HIGHER UPS HOPEFULLY THIS ISSUE IS ADDRESSED SOON.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

SAN MATEO CALIFORNIA 11/19/2011

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

SEARCH FOR BETTER VOLUNTEERS

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers