Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
55 Reviews
1234.963645
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

This is an organization staffed with caring and knowledgeable people who have done so much to support our family and so many other families in San Francisco!
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

SFCD is absolutely vital to our family. It acts as a bridge between our world and the world we have to function in by providing recreational, social, educational, and support services that families like mine need to enhance the quality of life for our children. The annual Ice Skating event is tons of fun and we look forward to it each year! I've learned so much at the Resource Fairs and through a parent leadership training that prepared me to become a more effective advocate. The experience of being around people that care and can relate to your experience and want to provide support has been invaluable. Gratitude and respect for SFCD!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

The people in this organization are such caring, compassionate people, thoroughly involved in whatever way they can help families find resources for their own care of children with special needs!! An absolutely outstanding group. We know from personal family experience!
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

Following the terrifying realization that your sweet child is disabled, a chilling sense of being alone and different from all the other parents in your world hits you. How can I help my child? Often doctors and therapists don't know about services for or rights of a disabled child. Then you find SFCD. You are no longer alone and clueless.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I love the way SFCD cares about each and every child/adult/family that needs support around someone with a disability. i love their focus on love, support and education. There is no disability that gets more support than another. The range of disabilities supported is amazing. From the most mild to the most severe, every person who comed to SFCD with a need for support, referrals, or education is given the utmost care and respect.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

i have been both a client and a volunteer parent mentor for over 12 years. I can't imagine life without SFCD, I have learned so much and made a lot of friends and connections!

September 8, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 13, 2013

When you learn you are a parent of a child with a disability, everything changes. There are questions, concerns, fears, and stresses about all of the things you need to do to give your child the best ... more

September 8, 2014

Our daughter, Julia, is learning how to speak up for herself and advocate for everyone who needs a bit of understanding and support. Thanks to all of the help and support and knowledge we all gain from Support for Families, our kid is seeing the world as richer, bigger and more compassionate. Julia is a kid with cerbral palsy, but that is secondary to the amazing things she has gained from this "difference" and to the incredible way she uses all the gifts Support for Families has given her.
August 13, 2013

When you learn you are a parent of a child with a disability, everything changes. There are questions, concerns, fears, and stresses about all of the things you need to do to give your child the best possible opportunities in a world where nothing is familiar. Support for Families begins offering support and information the moment you contact them. It is a very difficult thing for most people to ask for help, but the staff and volunteers at Support for Families makes this easier, with a real understanding and compassion for parents thrust into a new world. With the parent, staff, and volunteer support, our family found great help, information, and skills to be the best advocates and champions for our daughter. We also have made some of the best friends we will ever know. Because of the many ways Support for Families has helped us, our new world is actually bigger, brighter, and more hopeful than we ever imagined. We would strongly encourage anyone with a question, concern or need about their child or loved one with a disability or special health care need to give them a call or an email!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

See that it gets far more funding in order to continue its remarkable work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

We have had the privilege of working with a resource person from Support for Families. The time and energy they put into working with teachers to develop strategies to support children with special needs
made a huge difference in the relationship between teacher and child and teacher and
parent. All the children in our school benefited from the professional development the teachers did with our resource person. Teachers felt empowered and positive when working with children that needed extra support.
We have continued to use the strategies as part of our practice and it has made a difference in the way teachers and children interact each day.
The teachers also learned how to use the Ages and Stages Screening Tool during an on site training. The group was small so the teachers received individualized training. The trainers were patient, bilingual, and eager to share their knowledge.
I highly recommend Support For Families of Children with Disabilities as a resource to answer questions, for training, support in learning about a disability and most of all a kind a place with professionals that care deeply about helping families and children with disabilites.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

I'm on the East Coast and there's no organization that comes close to SUPPORT FOR FAMILIES. I've told many friends looking for help to contact this amazing organization. They always been there, found connections where my friend's lived and never asked for anything in return.

That's why I
proudly support this fine organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

My son have been volunteering for support for families and really love it, it is a great way to give
back. Thanks for being present.\

nathalie.
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Interact with kids and families at one of our "Families Together" events. Help at our annual fundraising event. Gather a group and join us for one of our special projects during the year. Help out at our office... Just contact us to get involved! Volunteer