Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I would do anything I possibly can to have Support Connection noticed by all. They have been the greatest support and friends that I can imagine during the hardest times of my life and even during the good times of my life.
I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer 4 years ago in November. I went
through surgery, chemo and radiation. After all was done, life supposedly would go back to normal. Well for everyone else around me, except me. I felt I was falling in to a deep dark hole that nobody quite understood. I really didn't know where to turn. The wonderful people at the cancer center at NWH suggested I contact the Support Connection. It was such a hard phone call to make but once I spoke to the first person I felt that phone call was absolutely the best decision of my life. The counselors and everybody at support connection have just been fantastic. Understanding empathetic and Knowledgeable about anything that I needed to know. I have attended support group for about 3 years now and I have no intention of ever stopping. These people have become my friends and my lifeline to some degree of sanity in a crazy world. I have done some volunteer work for them and it is such a good feeling to give back to a group that I have the deepest love and respect for.
In closing, support connection has saved me and made me feel that I was not alone in my feelings. These people understand and have lived what we are going through or have gone through. I have had other medical problems since breast cancer and they have been supportive to me about all of that also. It is just so nice to have people to talk to that don't judge you and understand why you feel the way that you do. Unless you have had a cancer diagnosis, you cannot truly understand what somebody is going through. Even your doctors are not always supportive or understanding. But I can always count on the people at support connection to help me through the bad times and the good. I love the support connection and hope they will always be there to help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that I would change except possibly getting the organization noticed enough that they received some outside funding so they can continue to expand and help more people like me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I was diagnosed at age 38 and felt lost and hopeless. The first time I called, the woman who answered the phone introduced herself and said she was a survivor. I immediately felt calmer and more hopeful. They answered all my questions and also told me what questions to ask the doctor. Shortly after a Young Woman's Support Group was formed and these women and the peer counselors (also survivors) became a lifeline. We became close in a way that to this day, no one can surpass. Every time I walk in now, years later, I am greeted warmly, with hugs and kisses. Support Connection is a unique organization that I don't know what I would have done if they didn't exist.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I still remember those first days after receiving my breast cancer diagnosis. Support Connection was recommended to me by my oncologist's office. My first phone call was met with such kindness and understanding and this has continued through the thirteen years I have been in remission. The women who work at SC give their all to help us cope with the many overwhelming aspects of BC treatment and then provide wonderful therapeutic follow-up through the years. My absolute favorite is Gentle Yoga which has taught me the calming techniques of breath work combined with yoga asanas. Support Connection is such an incredible community service and I am so thankful that it is there for all who need it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 14, 2013

The ladies at Support Connection are some of the most wonderful women I know. They make you feel as you are the most important person on the planet and are there to get you through what is most like... more

October 4, 2013

When you get that diagnosis life changes and you don't know what to do and where to turn. Well, if you are lucky like me you call Support Connection and talk to a peer counselor. Who understands your fears, you confusion, your blabbering, and helps you regroup and move forward with a better understanding of where you are heading and what you need to do. They are some of the most wonderful women I have ever met and do what they do because they care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a cure for cancer so they could all stay home and enjoy the day instead of dealing with everyday. Short of that I would find them more space to do the wonderful work they do. They would never complain and they make it work wonderfully for clients but they are doubled up on offices and hold meetings in other location, which is good, but if they could have more space so that they could do even more and better I think they would like that.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013

The ladies at Support Connection are some of the most wonderful women I know. They make you feel as you are the most important person on the planet and are there to get you through what is most likely the worst time in your life. Thank you ladies for all you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

Support Connection help me get through a bi lateral mastectomy & chemo. Before I called Support Connection I could not even say the words " I have breast cancer " but after talking to one of the peer counselor for one hour the day before my surgery I was not only able to say the words I have breast cancer but I was able to face my mastectomy with out fear and I knew what to expect. No one could tell you about the severe pain you will be in but she did not sugar coat it she did say there will be pain and drains , and I love her for being very honest with me. Because she is a survivor also made me fell comfortable talking with her .
I feel like I formed a relationship with her and Support Connection that will last a life time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes why spoil a good thing !!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 6, 2012

One of the first phone calls I made after being diagnosed with Ovarian Cancer in 2010 was to Support Connection. I was connected immediately to a counselor who listened to and helped calm my fears. ... more

September 4, 2013

Support Connection has been there for me through the years . First as I dealt with my moms diagnosis with Ovarian cancer and then for me when I received the same diagnosis . Help is always just a phone call away!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2012

One of the first phone calls I made after being diagnosed with Ovarian Cancer in 2010 was to Support Connection. I was connected immediately to a counselor who listened to and helped calm my fears. Two days after my conversation with her I received an envelope in the mail filled with all kinds of information . I have taken advantage of many of the services Support Connection offers from Support Groups, to various seminars . It's a great feeling knowing that someone to talk to is only a phone call away ....and these services are always free !

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 16, 2011

What a caring wonderful group of people that donate their time to help those of us that need it . I thought " chemo-brain" was just one of those things you hear about until I went to the " chemo-brain" discussion and realized there were many just like me . Also attended the Lymphedema Clinic and went home with lots of great information. Thanks Support Connection ! I look forward to more valuable programs !

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

going to meetings and discussions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

educate more on the signs and symptoms of Ovarian Cancer

March 22, 2013

more

March 22, 2013

Support connection was the first support group that I went to when I was diagnosed with breast cancer at the young age of 31. Their staff and support groups were are still are beyond incredible. I have become a big supporter of this organization over the years and know that it has helped many others, including a family member of mine who was diagnosed with ovarian cancer last year. I highly recommend their support to anyone who is or has gone through breast or ovarian cancer. It is a wonderful place to go to when you need. I appreciate all that they have done for me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 14, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2010

When I was first diagnosed with breast cancer, my first call was to my doctor, my second to Support Connection. The Peer Counselors there helped me through the whole process from diagnosis to masteco... more

February 14, 2013

Support connection has been there for me since 2007 when I was first diagnosed with breast cancer. I don't know how I would have managed without the wonderful staff who helped me through a second cancer that same year. They are still with me now that my cancer has returned. When I am feeling down or afraid, they know just what to say so that I can make it through another day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2010

When I was first diagnosed with breast cancer, my first call was to my doctor, my second to Support Connection. The Peer Counselors there helped me through the whole process from diagnosis to mastecomy, to chemo, to radiation and recovery. They were comforting since they had also been through cancer and knew what I was going through. They could give me advice, an ear when I needed to talk, and cheers when I finished treatment. The ladies have become an important part of my life and I now volunteer there. I would recommend Support Connection to any person going through breast or ovarian cancer as well as their caregivers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

A number of women I know have contacted this organization and been helped by them. I don't know how I would have made it through the cancer treatment without their support and encouragement.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The people I have met at Support Connection have been very caring and supportive. I have been able to laugh, cry and vent my frustrations throughout my cancer treatment. I always knew when I called that I would reach a knowledgeable,person.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The peer counselors were wonderful people who knew what it was like to go through the treatments and the changes it would make in my life. The organization has become very important to me even 2 years after treatment is over.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Spread the word to more women that help is available. There would be more programs in a more wide-spread area so that women from outside Northern Westchester and Putnam could benefit.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 15, 2013

more

January 15, 2013

Out of the blue, smack dab in the middle of a healthy, fun, full life as a wife, mother of 2 young boys and a respected employee in the medical field, came my diagnosis- "Breast Cancer". I was thrown into a whirlwind of unimaginable fear. How could this be happening to me? Perfect blood work on a recent physical exam, I worked out, ate healthy, felt great, perfect mammograms for 10+ years, have no family history and no signs or symptoms whatsoever! There was no lump. I found out the hard way that cancer does not discriminate. I have had 2 surgeries, 11 chemos, to date, and will be undergoing 6 weeks of radiation. An acquaintance from my neighborhood, a Support Connection facilitator, literally took me by the hand and introduced me to "Group". The same morning, she drove me to get my head buzzed. I cannot thank her or Support Connection enough! These women are for real and are a God send! Being survivors themselves, they are compassionate, caring, knowledgeable, friendly, and down to earth. Whether over the phone or at a meeting, I've talked to counselors that are unbelievably accommodating. They have made me realize that I will get through this, just like they did. I have learned so much about the disease and about myself since last August, when I started attending monthly meetings. To be able to talk about anything, without having to worry about upsetting anyone, is so refreshing. To have other women talk about their experience, that are currently undergoing treatment, like myself, is awesome. Hats off to Support Connection!! ( Even if I'm still bald).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2013

more

January 15, 2013

When I was diagnosed with a rare uterine cancer, a friend of mine referred me to Support Connection. I am eternally grateful to her, because I don't know where I'd be without them. At 31, it was nearly impossible for me to find anyone who shared my condition, and hard enough to find people my age who have experienced cancer at all. Support Connection gives me the community support that I need to stay strong and positive, and the opportunity to pay it forward. With them, I have enjoyed dragon boat racing on the Hudson River, received an immensely powerful support network, and I'm looking forward to some upcoming programs on meditation and nutrition! Support Connection is such a valuable part of my health and healing, physically and emotionally, and I honestly don't know what I'd do without them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers