Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

I would do anything I possibly can to have Support Connection noticed by all. They have been the greatest support and friends that I can imagine during the hardest times of my life and even during the good times of my life.
I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer 4 years ago in November. I went
through surgery, chemo and radiation. After all was done, life supposedly would go back to normal. Well for everyone else around me, except me. I felt I was falling in to a deep dark hole that nobody quite understood. I really didn't know where to turn. The wonderful people at the cancer center at NWH suggested I contact the Support Connection. It was such a hard phone call to make but once I spoke to the first person I felt that phone call was absolutely the best decision of my life. The counselors and everybody at support connection have just been fantastic. Understanding empathetic and Knowledgeable about anything that I needed to know. I have attended support group for about 3 years now and I have no intention of ever stopping. These people have become my friends and my lifeline to some degree of sanity in a crazy world. I have done some volunteer work for them and it is such a good feeling to give back to a group that I have the deepest love and respect for.
In closing, support connection has saved me and made me feel that I was not alone in my feelings. These people understand and have lived what we are going through or have gone through. I have had other medical problems since breast cancer and they have been supportive to me about all of that also. It is just so nice to have people to talk to that don't judge you and understand why you feel the way that you do. Unless you have had a cancer diagnosis, you cannot truly understand what somebody is going through. Even your doctors are not always supportive or understanding. But I can always count on the people at support connection to help me through the bad times and the good. I love the support connection and hope they will always be there to help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything that I would change except possibly getting the organization noticed enough that they received some outside funding so they can continue to expand and help more people like me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have had the great honor of sitting with the wonderful women from Support Connection to fully understand the scope of their organization and how they help their community. These women are true heroes. They are the warmest, most caring, and open individuals. I am very thankful to have an organization like the Support Connection in my community, providing key services to patients struggling with breast and ovarian cancer. Many continued thanks for the tough, tough work you women do!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013

more

October 24, 2013

I have personally witnessed the fantastic job this organization does on a daily basis for over 8 years

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be sure they have enough funding to insure the continuance of the programs and services they offer

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I was diagnosed at age 38 and felt lost and hopeless. The first time I called, the woman who answered the phone introduced herself and said she was a survivor. I immediately felt calmer and more hopeful. They answered all my questions and also told me what questions to ask the doctor. Shortly after a Young Woman's Support Group was formed and these women and the peer counselors (also survivors) became a lifeline. We became close in a way that to this day, no one can surpass. Every time I walk in now, years later, I am greeted warmly, with hugs and kisses. Support Connection is a unique organization that I don't know what I would have done if they didn't exist.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I've had the pleasure of working with this organization for many years now and have enjoyed getting to know the staff. Everyone has a connection to breast and/or ovarian cancer and this is what makes the staff so good at what they do - providing services and programs to women with breast and ovarian cancer as well as their families and friends.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

My Name is Crystal Schwer, I am the Founding Director of The Kathleen F Marks Memorial Foundation, we are a local non-profit serving cancer patients in financial need as well as funding cancer research in areas most in need of the funds. We have been established 2 years and The WONDERFUL women at support connection have been kind enough to assist me with many questions I had, guiding me to make our foundation successful, I have attended quite a few Support Connection fundraisers, and they have attended a few of ours as well, they are an extremely helpful, knowledgeable and caring group that i am happy to continue to support and look forward to working with soon!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

I still remember those first days after receiving my breast cancer diagnosis. Support Connection was recommended to me by my oncologist's office. My first phone call was met with such kindness and understanding and this has continued through the thirteen years I have been in remission. The women who work at SC give their all to help us cope with the many overwhelming aspects of BC treatment and then provide wonderful therapeutic follow-up through the years. My absolute favorite is Gentle Yoga which has taught me the calming techniques of breath work combined with yoga asanas. Support Connection is such an incredible community service and I am so thankful that it is there for all who need it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

Great organization & so important to the community. A group of compassionate, understanding women that help to comfort and support those going through very tough times in life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Amazing organization doing great things for wonderful people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not much I would change. They are right on point.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Never have I met a more dedicated, caring group of workers. They treat me with the same respect, care and tenderness that they show each and every survivor. As a survivor myself, I always recommend Support Connection to the women who could more certainly benefit by utilizing their services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

magically make more money available to them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers