Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Write A Review
January 14, 2014

more

January 14, 2014

I have been volunteering with Sunwork for the past several weeks. After my first install, I couldn't wait to do another one. So far, I have volunteered in installing 5 systems and with every install, I learn something new.
This is a great organization with a wonderful team of people. Reuben is
an amazing individual who goes out of his way to help volunteers learn the ins and outs of solar installation. He is extremely patient and has a warm personality that creates a fun learning environment while maintaining the highest quality of work. What a great role model
When it comes to work ethic, Reuben has raised the bar so high that it is truly difficult for others to match the standards he has set.
If you have any interest in learning about solar system, I strongly recommend you consider volunteering for this nonprofit organization.
Thank you Reuben and the Sunwork team;

Hamid

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any changes for this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

Been turned down for Solar because your electric bills a $150 or below? Seek Reuben Veek; his plan at Sunwork is to brighten that frown by taking your order that’s below that border while letting the Sun labor in your favor! Mr. Veek’s sustainable business plan is just waiting to happen across your New Year’s resolve to save money, the planet, and the air we breathe. His prices are right and his workers are trained to take their time and do it right the first time. As a Solar Advocate for Sunworks I enjoyed sharing his nonprofit footprint because he cares about the future of the Solar Industry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

As a volunteer with SunWork, I have seen the role it plays in not only expanding the market for solar installations, but also in educating the public about the benefits of solar energy. Outtreach efforts such as public presentations, solar-home tours, and booths at relevant events have helped to promote a practical understanding of how solar can be an economic alternative in a wide range of situations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 21, 2012

more

November 21, 2012

Sunwork has contributed greatly to clean energy generation, training the green workforce, and spreading the word about improving energy efficiency as a prerequisite to installing solar PV. Staff and management are committed, educated, skilled, and passionate about the environment. Go Team!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I'm impressed with the concept of SunWork. Because they use trained volunteers (under the supervision of an experienced professional), the cost of installation for the low enery homeowner is dramatically reduced. Likely the lower price attracts homeowners who would not otherwise consider solar. Meanwhile volunteers get hands-on experience to prepare for future work in the field-- good for the trainee, good for this important industry.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

Before I was introduced to SunWork, I did solar workshops in the area. People would ask me if solar made sense with a low electric bill and at the time the answer was "it's a good choice for the environment, but economic payback is very long". However after I heard about SunWork and their nonprofit volunteer model that reduces the cost significantly, solar can have both an economic and environmental payback for people with small electric bills. I was so impressed that I joined the board. In addition, the volunteers learn valuable skills as well as contribute directly to reducing pollution and carbon emissions. Several volunteers have gone on to get jobs in the solar industry. And now SunWork is starting to help other nonprofits with solar installations so these nonprofits can reduce their energy costs as well as their environmental impact while delivering needed services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was very pleased with the system I received. The work was done well and it looks very professional. The permit was done and everything happened as it should have. I was coordinating putting a new roof on with the solar, so timing was a bit difficult, but ultimately, everything got done. I would definitely recommend Sunwork to anyone who might be installing solar

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I attended a Sunwork training class and was impressed with Reuben's gift for providing practical explanations of solar energy and installation techniques, while at the same time, being able to answer any question related to the science and technology of solar systems. After participating in two rooftop installations, with Rueben, I went on to work as a Field Applications Engineer for a solar company that installed 40MW of solar in New Jersey. I currently work for a company that helps solar plants with capacities >1MW connect to CAISO's network in California.
Not only is Rueben a gifted instructor, his commitment to quality is unequaled in my solar experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

SunWork's Operations Director, Reuben, is compassionate about solar, an excellent teacher and an effective leader. I have been through the training and have helped on at least 4 jobs. Some of SunWorks volunteers come from Classes at Skyline College. This includes me and at least 3 or 4 others who went on to employment in the Solar industry. SunWork fills a void in the Solar Industry as a non-profit that focuses on helping low energy users and other non-profits go solar while promoting; Environmental Health, (by producing power from the sun vs coal or other non-sustainable fuels), and Economic prosperity along with Social Equity, (by providing hands-on training to individuals looking for a career in the Solar Industry. Tell your friends about SunWork!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

SunWork is a stand-out nonprofit helping to expand the reach and impact of solar energy to homeowners and community centers that would otherwise be left in the dark. I have worked with SunWork for several months on a project to bring a solar energy system and energy savings to a great Redwood City, California nonprofit, their staff and Board have been great to work with every step of the way. First-hand experience has shown me that everyone in the organization cares deeply about their mission and the environment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers