Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
1234.333335
Write A Review
March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

The Sunflower Initiative (TSI) offers the Harriet Fitzgerald Scholarship to young women who matriculate at a woman's college. In this way, it seeks to support the existence of the choice of a woman's college into the future. As a volunteer who reads dozens and dozens of applications culled from the hundreds we receive each year, I can attest to the deep desire of so many young women to receive a woman's college education. i only wish we could award more than one new scholarship annually.

TSI welcomes contributions from anyone who supports this mission. In going about its fundraising, it strives to be scrupulous in honoring the wishes of anyone who does or does not want to be contacted by the organization. Contact information is located at www.thesunflowerinitiative.com. We encourage anyone who has interests or concerns to contact us directly.
March 19, 2014

more

March 19, 2014

As the graduate of a women's college and a woman concerned with the dwindling number of women's colleges in this country, I was thrilled to learn of the Sunflower Initiative. In addition to making annual donations to my alma mater, I now make yearly donations to the Sunflower Initiative as well. TSI promotes the value of a single-sex education and offers a yearly scholarship to help a deserving young woman attend the women's college of her choosing. As a woman, there is nothing more rewarding than supporting other women; this is why I support the Sunflower Initiative.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 17, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
March 17, 2014

This fine organization provides scholarships to deserving young women who want to attend a woman's college. By doing so, The Sunflower Initiative honors the legacy of Randolph-Macon Woman's College and the alumnae and faculty of the college. As an alumna of R-MWC, I endorse this organization and its efforts to support young women and the women's colleges they attend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 17, 2014

more

March 17, 2014

This is an excellent nonprofit, one that honors the distinguished legacy of Randolph-Macon Woman's College by awarding sizable scholarships to young women who want to attend women's colleges. I am a donor and will continue to donate. There is nothing shady about this 501(3)c at all; so far it has awarded more than thirty thousand dollars in scholarship aid.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 17, 2014

more

March 17, 2014

I serve on the board of directors of The Sunflower Initiative (TSI) which raises money to award scholarships for women attending women's colleges. As of March 2014, TSI has awarded two young women $30,000 worth of scholarships and is preparing to award another $10,000 scholarship for academic year 2014-15. We solicit people who believe in a woman's college education; our database is composed of names received in various ways, but all of our email communications allow for a person to opt out of further communications and we act promptly when we receive opt-out requests which are few in number.
November 8, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
November 8, 2012

This organization appears to have received my contact information through shady means. I haven't contacted the organization, or established a relationship with it, yet they are soliciting me despite details from the e-mail server's own privacy policy. Here's what the privacy policy states:

Why did you receive a mailing from us?

Our email marketing is permission based. If you received a mailing from us, our records indicate that (a) you have expressly shared this address for the purpose of receiving information in the future ("opt-in"), or (b) you have registered or purchased or otherwise have an existing relationship with us. We respect your time and attention by controlling the frequency of our mailings.

If you believe you have received unwanted, unsolicited email sent via this system or purporting to be sent via this system, please forward a copy of that email with your comments to abuse@constantcontact.com for review.

Please be careful when donating to this organization, as they appear to lack scruples when soliciting donors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers